• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"AMD Only" DDR2 from China for Use in Intel System?

Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
271 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
System Name Electra II
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.40 GHz (1.3 V)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X570-PRO (BIOS 3405)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 GiB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB (DDR4-3200 16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE PULSE RX 570 (4 GiB GDDR5; 1,284 MHz core / 1,750 MHz memory)
Storage 1 TiB Samsung 970 EVO Plus + 4 TB WD Red Pro
Display(s) Samsung U28R550Q + Dell 1908FP
Case Fractal Design Focus G (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio S1220A
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 750 W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Gigabyte GK-K7100
Software Windows 10 21H2 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z = 542/4,479 — R15 = 212/1,741 — R20 = 510/3,980 — PM 10 = 2,784/19,911 — GB 5 = 1,316/7,564
Has anyone had any luck with buying so-called "AMD only" DDR2 from China for use in an Intel system?

I can't find any DDR2 that is advertised compatible with Intel at all, so this appears to be the only option.

Ideally looking for 4 × 4 GiB DDR2-800. Basically nonexistent otherwise.

The board is an ASUS P5Q PRO.
 
Joined
May 6, 2019
Messages
50 (0.04/day)
Location
Alps (Bozen,Italia)
System Name Generic
Processor Ryzen5-5600
Motherboard B450 Pro VDH Plus
Cooling BeQuiet
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) WX2100
Storage NVME 500 GB 970 Evo Plus
Display(s) Eizo
Software Windows 7+Ubuntu22.04
intel Ram DDR2 very expensive, so i would say, no , not compatible.
(please prove wrong cause i am still interested in a 2x4GB buy of DDR2 for old Intel System)
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,716 (2.13/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Oh hell, I've run all kinds of different DDR2 in the P5Q that I have, without issues.

I'd say, if it's cheap enough, go for it.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
837 (0.24/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360/Stock
Memory 4x8GB Patriot PVS416G4440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) 6900XT/R7
Storage Seagate 530 4TB, WD SN850 2TB, Aorus 2TB, Corsair MP600 1TB / 960 Evo 1TB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 1000watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Could be a problem if dimms are dualsided when using all slots but havent used my Asus PQ5´s for a long time
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
204 (0.05/day)
It might only work with AMD memory controller. I have in my notes this now ancient blurb quoted from OCZ - which yea was for promoting some sticks WAY back but the important part is the address lines:

"
With 11 column address bit support by the AM2 memory controller, the number of addresses in each row or page can be as high as 2048 individual entries for a page size of 16kbit. Unlike modules based on standard 10-bit column address chips with an ?8k? page size, the new Titanium AM2 Special modules take advantage of the AM2 controller?s feature set and provide a single rank solution with 2GB density using ?16k? pages. This allows the controller to stay ?in page? twice as long compared to standard memory architectures, thereby achieving unparalleled performance.
"
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
410 (0.50/day)
System Name DaRig
Processor i9-7900X @4.3GHz (1.1v)
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling DeepCool Neptwin (1x 120mm TF fan)
Memory 2x16GB Corsair LPX 3600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 580 8G, repaired and modded.
Storage 32GB Optane (standalone for OS) + 2TB Seagate Skyhawk (2016) + 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Display(s) Samsung C24RG50FQI
Case InWin Alice
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek crap
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Redragon K539 brown switches
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
problem is that intel ram controllers wont properly work with high density sticks (4gb per stick). On the other side the amd cpus had their ram controllers tweaked for ddr2 & ddr3 (for example Phenom II X6 supports both ddr2 and ddr3), so these cheap "amd only" ddr2 sticks are primarily designed for those users who decided to put a II X6 (or a II X4 but that one is kinda irrelevant in 2022) on a ddr2 mobo and want to put usable amounts of ram into it (16gb in 4x4gb config for example).
As for any normal desktop intel motherboard (lets say P35 and lower), you are limited to 2gb per stick (4x2gb is ur max amount in that case). With 4gb sticks these mobos just wont post. For later P45 mobos it may be different tho, as those came with revised chipset and may actually run 4gb ddr2 sticks.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,430 (4.79/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
I believe single Rank DDR3 is AMD only, so I assume the same is true of DDR2
 

Attachments

  • P5Q-PRO-QVL.pdf
    190.9 KB · Views: 43
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
271 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
System Name Electra II
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.40 GHz (1.3 V)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X570-PRO (BIOS 3405)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 GiB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB (DDR4-3200 16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE PULSE RX 570 (4 GiB GDDR5; 1,284 MHz core / 1,750 MHz memory)
Storage 1 TiB Samsung 970 EVO Plus + 4 TB WD Red Pro
Display(s) Samsung U28R550Q + Dell 1908FP
Case Fractal Design Focus G (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio S1220A
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 750 W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Gigabyte GK-K7100
Software Windows 10 21H2 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z = 542/4,479 — R15 = 212/1,741 — R20 = 510/3,980 — PM 10 = 2,784/19,911 — GB 5 = 1,316/7,564
problem is that intel ram controllers wont properly work with high density sticks (4gb per stick). On the other side the amd cpus had their ram controllers tweaked for ddr2 & ddr3 (for example Phenom II X6 supports both ddr2 and ddr3), so these cheap "amd only" ddr2 sticks are primarily designed for those users who decided to put a II X6 (or a II X4 but that one is kinda irrelevant in 2022) on a ddr2 mobo and want to put usable amounts of ram into it (16gb in 4x4gb config for example).
As for any normal desktop intel motherboard (lets say P35 and lower), you are limited to 2gb per stick (4x2gb is ur max amount in that case). With 4gb sticks these mobos just wont post. For later P45 mobos it may be different tho, as those came with revised chipset and may actually run 4gb ddr2 sticks.

I suppose I should preface all of this by saying that the system isn't intended to be a daily machine. I'm wanting to grab some independent data from the LGA775 platform with the 20 CPUs I have for a project I'm working on. I have an AM4 system for daily use.

The P5Q PRO is a P45 board. There aren't too many stories on the 'net about posting with 16 GiB, but there are at least a handful. Of course, people aren't very specific enough on the modules and configurations used, so it's nigh on impossible to use them for reference.

I may instead opt to grab a DDR3 board since second-hand DDR2 sells for kidneys these days.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10,716 (2.13/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,430 (4.79/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
I would sell mine, but those DDR2 machines I have are still being used.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,194 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
I suppose I should preface all of this by saying that the system isn't intended to be a daily machine. I'm wanting to grab some independent data from the LGA775 platform with the 20 CPUs I have for a project I'm working on. I have an AM4 system for daily use.

The P5Q PRO is a P45 board. There aren't too many stories on the 'net about posting with 16 GiB, but there are at least a handful. Of course, people aren't very specific enough on the modules and configurations used, so it's nigh on impossible to use them for reference.

I may instead opt to grab a DDR3 board since second-hand DDR2 sells for kidneys these days.
Makes you wonder why Intel have the p45 based boards as having support for 16GB total eh? There's obviously got to be a way for 4GB DDR2 DIMMs to work on these boards.
I believe single Rank DDR3 is AMD only, so I assume the same is true of DDR2
Testing a 1st gen dual rank DDR3 system right now with AM3 socket board, after multiple tests already can confirm all is well, at least with 800 series chipsets.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,313 (0.25/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
I remember looking into this years ago, when all of those eBay listings had warnings for Intel users, that basically said don't even think about trying it and wasting our time and money. After researching it for a while and seeing things similar to what's been said in this thread, I decided I wouldn't bother.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,194 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
I remember looking into this years ago, when all of those eBay listings had warnings for Intel users, that basically said don't even think about trying it and wasting our time and money. After researching it for a while and seeing things similar to what's been said in this thread, I decided I wouldn't bother.
Sounds like a marketing campaign to get end users buying up 2Gb modules instead & like I posted above, why on earth would Intel design P45 boards to support 16GB total ram with 4 slots on ATX boards then?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,430 (4.79/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
I have a Q45 chipset PC and it can't handle single rank 4GB DIMMS
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
271 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
System Name Electra II
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.40 GHz (1.3 V)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X570-PRO (BIOS 3405)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 GiB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB (DDR4-3200 16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE PULSE RX 570 (4 GiB GDDR5; 1,284 MHz core / 1,750 MHz memory)
Storage 1 TiB Samsung 970 EVO Plus + 4 TB WD Red Pro
Display(s) Samsung U28R550Q + Dell 1908FP
Case Fractal Design Focus G (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio S1220A
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 750 W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Gigabyte GK-K7100
Software Windows 10 21H2 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z = 542/4,479 — R15 = 212/1,741 — R20 = 510/3,980 — PM 10 = 2,784/19,911 — GB 5 = 1,316/7,564
I would sell mine, but those DDR2 machines I have are still being used.

That is okay, thank you. :)


Makes you wonder why Intel have the p45 based boards as having support for 16GB total eh? There's obviously got to be a way for 4GB DDR2 DIMMs to work on these boards.

I agree. For what it's worth, there are ASUS and Gigabyte boards based on the P45 chipset which support 16 GiB of DDR3 as well, when Intel's official documentation states 8 GiB DDR3 or 16 GiB DDR2. And then the P5Q PRO supports 1,600 MT/s FSB natively, which again isn't officially a thing from Intel.

Grand Theft Auto V appears to stutter quite badly with 8 GiB, despite the minimum recommending only 4 GiB. This is with a Core2 Quad Q9505, RX 460, and the game installed on a Crucial MX500. I expected it to be passable, but it doesn't mirror what I see on YouTube. There are YouTube videos with a worse GPU and the next Quad down giving better frame rates. All with the same amount of RAM.


I remember looking into this years ago, when all of those eBay listings had warnings for Intel users, that basically said don't even think about trying it and wasting our time and money. After researching it for a while and seeing things similar to what's been said in this thread, I decided I wouldn't bother.

I'm starting to lean in that direction as well. Not only is it costly, but for it to ship from China, most likely chosen at random, and then have the hassle of shipping it back if it arrives faulty/dead... I don't know if I'd want the hassle versus just buying a DDR3 board.

In hindsight, I should have looked into this prior to picking this board, but it's not the end of the world. I knew SODIMM DDR2 was expensive as I was looking for a 4 GiB module for my laptop, but I thought perhaps the situation for desktop might have been a little better. 1 GiB and 2 GiB modules are cheap as chips.


I have a Q45 chipset PC and it can't handle single rank 4GB DIMMS

That is good to know. Thank you Shrek.
 

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,570 (2.43/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Gaming / HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / Intel Xeon X5675
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool h2o
Memory 32GB HyperX DDR4 / 24GB mixed DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti / Asus R9 290X Platinum
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB / 240GB of SSDs + 1.25TB
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080p / 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) DAC + Superlux HD668B / Corsair HS35 Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion 550W / Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB / IBM Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro ENG / Win 10 Pro ENG
Really???? Well crap, I should sell a bunch of the DDR2 that I have. :p
Let's be millionaires, I have also hella lot of DDR2 as well. :D
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,430 (4.79/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
On ebay DDR2 2GB is just over $4 each

I'd say that was reasonable.
 

Lenne

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
8,570 (2.43/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Gaming / HTPC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 / Intel Xeon X5675
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool h2o
Memory 32GB HyperX DDR4 / 24GB mixed DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti / Asus R9 290X Platinum
Storage ~2TB of SSDs + 2TB / 240GB of SSDs + 1.25TB
Display(s) 2x 24" 1080p / 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) DAC + Superlux HD668B / Corsair HS35 Carbon
Power Supply Fractal Ion 550W / Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard NOS C450 Mini Pro RGB / IBM Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro ENG / Win 10 Pro ENG
On ebay DDR2 2GB is just over $4 each

I'd say that was reasonable.
Yeah not bad. And IMO 8GB is fine for those platforms.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,308 (6.76/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Has anyone had any luck with buying so-called "AMD only" DDR2 from China for use in an Intel system?

I can't find any DDR2 that is advertised compatible with Intel at all, so this appears to be the only option.

Ideally looking for 4 × 4 GiB DDR2-800. Basically nonexistent otherwise.

The board is an ASUS P5Q PRO.
Go by the qvl of Asus support page.

We just recently dealt with this in another thread. AMD only is guaranteed to work in AMD but a major crapshoot on intel.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,194 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
I agree. For what it's worth, there are ASUS and Gigabyte boards based on the P45 chipset which support 16 GiB of DDR3 as well, when Intel's official documentation states 8 GiB DDR3 or 16 GiB DDR2. And then the P5Q PRO supports 1,600 MT/s FSB natively, which again isn't officially a thing from Intel.

Grand Theft Auto V appears to stutter quite badly with 8 GiB, despite the minimum recommending only 4 GiB. This is with a Core2 Quad Q9505, RX 460, and the game installed on a Crucial MX500. I expected it to be passable, but it doesn't mirror what I see on YouTube. There are YouTube videos with a worse GPU and the next Quad down giving better frame rates. All with the same amount of RAM.
Do you know what OS & version of it they are running it on in the video?, also what particular drivers they use?. All those details matter when comparing like this.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
62 (0.37/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
The only way to be certain is to try. You will likely need to run slower timings than they are rated for, if they are recognised by the motherboard at all.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,194 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
P5Q pro supports 16GB of DDR2, memory controller is in the P45 chipset. Go to page 9 of the motherboard manual, download from here.
The evidence of its support is clearly indicated in the motherboard manual.
I have the same board, but have never tried it with full 16GB of DDR2 as yet.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
271 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
System Name Electra II
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.40 GHz (1.3 V)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X570-PRO (BIOS 3405)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 GiB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB (DDR4-3200 16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE PULSE RX 570 (4 GiB GDDR5; 1,284 MHz core / 1,750 MHz memory)
Storage 1 TiB Samsung 970 EVO Plus + 4 TB WD Red Pro
Display(s) Samsung U28R550Q + Dell 1908FP
Case Fractal Design Focus G (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio S1220A
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 750 W
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Gigabyte GK-K7100
Software Windows 10 21H2 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z = 542/4,479 — R15 = 212/1,741 — R20 = 510/3,980 — PM 10 = 2,784/19,911 — GB 5 = 1,316/7,564
Do you know what OS & version of it they are running it on in the video?, also what particular drivers they use?. All those details matter when comparing like this.

Of course, but not many channels disclose this information.

So far, I've found:

  • Core2 Quad Q9550
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • 6 GiB DDR3 instead of 8 GiB DDR2
  • GDDR5 version of the GT 1030

  • Core2 Quad Q6600 and Q8400
  • Windows 10 Home
  • 4 GiB DDR2
  • GTX 950

No texture popping issues whatsoever.

I'm using the latest stable driver for both my RX 460 and RX 570, which is 22.5.1, but I also tried an older one (21.5.1) which was installed courtesy of Windows Update when I finished setting up Windows 10 21H2 on the machine. I replaced the driver using DDU, and the game is installed on a Crucial MX500, and not a hard drive like in some of these videos.


P5Q pro supports 16GB of DDR2, memory controller is in the P45 chipset. Go to page 9 of the motherboard manual, download from here.
The evidence of its support is clearly indicated in the motherboard manual.
I have the same board, but have never tried it with full 16GB of DDR2 as yet.

The issue wasn't whether it supported it, but rather the type of modules that it supports. The QVL list of course won't be exhaustive and there are only a few 4 GiB modules referenced in it that can be used for all four slots:
  • Samsung M378T5263AZ3-CF7 (chip: K4T2G084QA-HCF7);
  • Qimonda HYS64T 512020EU-2.5-A (chip: HYB18T2G800AF-2.5);
  • Aeneon AXT960UD20-25D (chip: ?).

4 GiB modules seem quite expensive these days, and so I was asking about all this so-called "AMD only" memory that you see on the likes of eBay and AliExpress (because it's basically all there is), and wondering whether it truly was incompatible with Intel. They don't claim why it's "AMD only," but a little digging online seems to suggest that Intel chipsets don't enjoy the higher density modules, suggesting that these might be specifically for AM2 processors.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
2,419 (0.68/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling OEZM HSK | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 6450 | Onboard
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Yeah that "ONLY" is just a trick. You can use DDR2 on any Intel/AMD system. The whole "ONLY" is too scare you
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,194 (0.36/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
Yeah that "ONLY" is just a trick. You can use DDR2 on any Intel/AMD system. The whole "ONLY" is too scare you
True, I've used non QVL ram on many systems here & all is working well. QVL listing is only what vendors can get their hands on at the time of official testing, other than that, its overhyped.
 
Top