• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Wanting to Time Launch of AM5 Platform with DDR5 Availability

Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
4,592 (1.43/day)
Why would it not bite AMD in the ass if when they release AM5 as DDR5 only and DDR5
Because they have DDR4 & AM4 for about 4 gens of users potentially upgrading to *3d Vcache processors. They don't really need to have DDR4 support on AM5, I'm also guessing with IF (revisions) it's best they go with DDR5 & leave the older slower tech for a "lesser" platform!
Do you have an Intel equivalent ~ oh wait they change sockets more frequently than I do socks :slap:
Make sense when you are going to criticize somebody, your whole post smells of crap.
Based on what exactly? You haven't presented any arguments yourself :rolleyes:

Just that this will be cheaper, that will be better so on & so forth ~ you haven't said anything (technical) supporting your arguments besides the pricing thing! And DDR5 availability is only going to increase, substantially in fact.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
794 (0.23/day)
System Name Potato PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Steel Legend
Cooling ID Cooling SE 224XT Basic
Memory 32GB Team Dark α DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI RX 6800 Gaming X Trio
Storage Kingston A2000 1TB + 8 TB WD Ultrastar DC HC320
Display(s) Mi Gaming Curved 3440x1440 144Hz
Case Cougar MG120-G
Audio Device(s) MPow Air Wireless + Redmi Sound Bar
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Mouse Logitech G304
Keyboard Logitech G613
Benchmark Scores Who need bench when everything already fast?
Maybe it's time to improve your value product stack, AMD ? I've eager to see some Athlon refresh and non X SKU's.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
5,730 (1.51/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GAMING GeForce RTX 3080 Trinity
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
Been itchin to upgrade my overclocked i7 3770k but at the same time I was kinda hoping I could skip DDR4 and go straight to DDR5.

Monitor is only 75hz and even if I got a new monitor it's not like I could pair a new CPU with a new GPU since there impossible to find.

Might just ride it out till the end of the year and see if AMD and Intels new chips line up with at least entry level DDR5
I'm in exact same boat. Still on 3770K with DDR3 and was hoping to go for the new Intel. However the prices are ridiculous here where I live, not to mention the availability. Moreover, the current DDR5 offering is pure garbage with low performance, over expensive junk.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
4,592 (1.43/day)
If you "need to" upgrade, right now is probably as good a time as any! DDR4 prices are near an all time low in India, just stock up on high density 3600MHz memory & call it a day :pimp:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,518 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Maybe it's time to improve your value product stack, AMD ? I've eager to see some Athlon refresh and non X SKU's.
Buy a 5800 on ebay

On another note, it makes sense to wait till DDR 5 parts are greatly available
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
1,210 (0.22/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage 960 EVO 500GB OS, 1TB SSD Steam & 2TB WD Blue SSD Storage
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Starts when push power button!!
Really??? I’d be more concerned with video card supply vs ddr5!! DDR5 is probably easier and cheaper to get than a decent video card.

who wants to pair a bleeding edge platform with a 6 year old video card???
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
10,057 (1.60/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Could you please link sources within the article? Thanks.
It's right there at the bottom of the article and if you don't know how source links in news articles at TPU works by now, then I can't help you.

It's quite unfortunate that Rembrandt will not release on AM4 at all. Oh well...

Anyway, they're saying now that it'll be DDR5 only but if the current situation continues I doubt they'll let the platform die on that hill. We don't even really know (or have a way to know) that the memory controller is DDR5 only, it would be smart for them to hedge their bets with a controller that supports both memory types so time will tell. Current plan is DDR5 but time will tell if that will be possible
Hence why I said it seems like AMD only supports DDR5, but yes, we simply don't know at this point.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2019
Messages
102 (0.12/day)
I'm in exact same boat. Still on 3770K with DDR3 and was hoping to go for the new Intel. However the prices are ridiculous here where I live, not to mention the availability. Moreover, the current DDR5 offering is pure garbage with low performance, over expensive junk.
Yeah going to wait it out. The main benefit of upgrading would be the potential ability to hit 144hz/fps but if there's zero graphics cards right now in stock that can hit that rate then it's kinda pointless

Really??? I’d be more concerned with video card supply vs ddr5!! DDR5 is probably easier and cheaper to get than a decent video card.

who wants to pair a bleeding edge platform with a 6 year old video card???
Great point and the main reason why i'm riding out till the next gen CPUs. Hopefully it times up better with GPU inventory
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,245 (0.51/day)
Location
Los Altos, CA
It's right there at the bottom of the article and if you don't know how source links in news articles at TPU works by now, then I can't help you.

Thanks for the helping of snark, appreciate that... My request was to do what other editors do and link within the article with hypertext. As the process to view the source from the forum is to go back to the main page and find the tiny 10pt greyscale font that's seemingly designed to be the least visible element on the page.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
52,499 (8.31/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Could you please link sources within the article? Thanks.
It's not visible in every view, but the sources are included at the bottom of the post

1641882068520.png


The 3D cache models make more sense now, give AM4 one more breath of life while they wait for DDR5 to become more available - and hopefully use that time so launch doesnt have BIOS/agesa issues
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
10,057 (1.60/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Thanks for the helping of snark, appreciate that... My request was to do what other editors do and link within the article with hypertext. As the process to view the source from the forum is to go back to the main page and find the tiny 10pt greyscale font that's seemingly designed to be the least visible element on the page.
If you don't like the way the site works, take it up with management.
 
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
1,245 (0.51/day)
Location
Los Altos, CA
It's not visible in every view, but the sources are included at the bottom of the post

View attachment 231970

The 3D cache models make more sense now, give AM4 one more breath of life while they wait for DDR5 to become more available - and hopefully use that time so launch doesnt have BIOS/agesa issues

You misunderstand what I am asking.

1641890274971.png


On the forum side there is no link to a source, not at the bottom nor within the body text of the article even in sections which directly refer to a source. Other articles include these:

1641890367186.png
1641890434097.png


I don't see how that's an offensive request considering the precedent set by the rest of the team.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
567 (0.41/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Memory 16Gb CL14 Ripjaws V @3666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD
Display(s) Korean Unbadged
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Crap!
If AMD only support DDR5, then I'm out. DDR5 is expensive and largely crap.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,145 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
To be fair. The DDR5 and so on keeps popping up and we all know it will take time to mature nonetheless. Why jump to it now? Just because it is available? It's been this way with every new mem release. It is not worth it for now. I think AMD should wait with the release and I'm sure, 3dVcache is the embodiment of that decision. In any case, if the DDR5 supply wont go up and the price go down, AMD might refresh the entire line-up for the AM4 with DDR4. At least, that's my guess. It's also a good opportunity for AMD to try the 3dvcashe a bit more, tweak it maybe and then move to a new platform.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
567 (0.41/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WiFi
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i
Memory 16Gb CL14 Ripjaws V @3666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX2070
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD
Display(s) Korean Unbadged
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Audio Device(s) O2 USB Headphone AMP
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Crap!
To be fair. The DDR5 and so on keeps popping up and we all know it will take time to mature nonetheless. Why jump to it now? Just because it is available? It's been this way with every new mem release. It is not worth it for now. I think AMD should wait with the release and I'm sure, 3dVcache is the embodiment of that decision. In any case, if the DDR5 supply wont go up and the price go down, AMD might refresh the entire line-up for the AM4 with DDR4. At least, that's my guess. It's also a good opportunity for AMD to try the 3dvcashe a bit more, tweak it maybe and then move to a new platform.
The only problem is that a down clocked 8 core gamer CPU is not what I, and I suspect, many others want. If they release a 16 core version, thats overclockable 300-500MHz, then I'm in. But AMD have made noises that a more-than-8-core 3D cache part is not going to happen.

DDR5 will be no better in 9 months time, maybe it will drop slightly in price, but it's still crap with no tangible perf gain for 3x the price, and it will stay that way for at least another year or two. Even if DDR5 was only an extra 25% higher cost than DDR4, i'd still take DDR4.

Intel have seen the issues convincing people to use DDR5, and AMD should do the same.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,145 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
The only problem is that a down clocked 8 core gamer CPU is not what I, and I suspect, many others want. If they release a 16 core version, thats overclockable 300-500MHz, then I'm in. But AMD have made noises that a more-than-8-core 3D cache part is not going to happen.
I'd keep assumptions to yourself. Not all is frequency. We don't know how the 3dVcache will impact performance. It is said mostly it will affect gaming and that is probably true but I'd still wait. maybe the 200-300Mhz lower wont affect performance as much as you proclaim it to affect.
DDR5 will be no better in 9 months time, maybe it will drop slightly in price, but it's still crap with no tangible perf gain for 3x the price, and it will stay that way for at least another year or two. Even if DDR5 was only an extra 25% higher cost than DDR4, i'd still take DDR4.
My bet is, it won't be much better than it is now.
Intel have seen the issues convincing people to use DDR5, and AMD should do the same.
I think AMD has taken better approach. Showing the problem and express concerns about the availability of the DDR5 to everyone. It's a fair game.
Intel has an approach of, it is better, buy it. If it is not in the market that's your problem.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
723 (2.01/day)
Location
Alaska USA
I think AMD has taken better approach. Showing the problem and express concerns about the availability of the DDR5 to everyone. It's a fair game.
Intel has an approach of, it is better, buy it. If it is not in the market that's your problem.
Too bad Intel doesn't offer a choice with Alder Lake such as DDR4 boards ... oh wait ...
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,145 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Too bad Intel doesn't offer a choice with Alder Lake such as DDR4 boards ... oh wait ...
Yeah and Intel didn't make so much fuss about the DDR5 support.... oh wait....
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,145 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Does Alder Lake offer a choice or not? It's a simple yes or no.
Does this thread is about Alder Lake? It's a simple yes or no.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,797 (2.38/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K 5ghz-P 3.9ghz-E 1.25vcore
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A WiFi D4
Cooling EK 360 PE+EK 280 CE, FLT 240 D5, EK supremacy classic, Generic GPU block
Memory Teamgroup 8 Pack Edition T-Force Dark Pro 2x16gb 3735 16-16-16-38 Bdie
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1475/8000 water cooled
Storage Silicon Power Gen3x4 256gb M.2, WD SN850 1TB M.2 NVME Gen4x4
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz 1ms
Case Lian Li o11 Dynamic XL Rog
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M 80% Gold
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Anne pro II
Software Win 11 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
It is kind of about the availability of DDR5 relating to AMD's release of AM5, which could be a problem which in theory Intel forsaw and gave ADL a DDR4 and 5 controller which was a good move.

We will just have to see if the supply of DDR5 is upto the release of AM5, if it is not then AMD are in trouble, or they will have to delay AM5, which is still not great.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
9,792 (4.02/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
It is kind of about the availability of DDR5 relating to AMD's release of AM5, which could be a problem which in theory Intel forsaw and gave ADL a DDR4 and 5 controller which was a good move.

We will just have to see if the supply of DDR5 is upto the release of AM5, if it is not then AMD are in trouble, or they will have to delay AM5, which is still not great.
AMD's strategy was risky even in the absence of this components shortage. No RAM transition even went smoothly, no new RAM was better than the old from the beginning. It always took a year or two (and manufacturers stopping development of the old RAM), before the new one started to make sense.

But maybe there's a silver lining: if we'll only afford 4GB RAM, maybe we'll see better optimized software going forward :p
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
3,145 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
You made a misleading post in regards to Alder Lake and DDR4 and got called out on it.
I was not talking about Alder Lake.
It is kind of about the availability of DDR5 relating to AMD's release of AM5, which could be a problem which in theory Intel forsaw and gave ADL a DDR4 and 5 controller which was a good move.
Yes about AM5 and DDR5 and AMD's concerns that come with it not about Alder Lake. Foresaw? It has never, in the history of all DDR memory releases, been that the newly released DDR Ram was up for the supply and performance in comparison to previous matured one. So much for foreseeing.
 
Top