• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Another NAS versus roll my own thread

Which NAS option?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ROG Strix X570-E Gaming
Cooling Noctua D15
Memory 32GB GeIL EVO X 3600
Video Card(s) RTX3080 EVGA FTW 3
Storage 1.6TH Fuze drive + 970EVO M2 + 3 7200 RPM HDD
Display(s) VP2770-LED, BDM4350UC, S2716DGR, AW3418DW
Case Vector RS
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V377 + PolK RSi Surround
Power Supply Fractal 860 Ion +
Mouse Corsair M56
Keyboard G710+
My main issue is I'm leaning easy mode. I work with hardware and going into kids not sure i'm looking to become my own network administrator so i'm debating easy mode (QNAP, Synology). I'll also want to backup whatever i build/buy to a backup service like backblaze etc. Is it worth trading price efficiency for easy-ish? I design hardware for a living so figuring out how to setup a NAS isn't foreign to me, but is it worth the time investment as i'd be doing a lot of learning as i go which is a way of saying i'm capable of learning but don't know what i'm doing right now.

I'm looking for it to become my HDHomerun storage server, Plex, Photo Backup/Viewer from Phones/Camera, probably record a 2-3 IP cameras. I also like stability as if a service breaks my wife gets very pissy. I'd probably fill them up with 6 or 8 terabyte HDDs probably Iron Wolfs.

My main three options are:

DS1019+ -- Easiest probably, and cheaper NAS solution. Pros for me is the Hybrid Raid, Synology apps (replace lots of google aps). Cons are the weak and possibly less/unreliable hardware. I keep reading about synology power supply failures.