• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can a faulty CPU kill a motherboard?

Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Processor i9 12900K
Motherboard Asus Z690 Apex
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 C36
Video Card(s) 2080 Ti
Display(s) LG 48CX OLED
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Power Supply AX1500i
I recently had a new 12900K build decide not to boot anymore (with a 00 Q-code and CPU led lit up on mb) and other strange behaviour (no it's not the Hero).

I suspected it was most likely a motherboard problem, and I'm expecting a replacement soon. However I also ordered another 12900K just in case.

Only thing is my current 12900K is an SP86, and if this new one is worse I'll be tempted to swap it out for my old one. Nervous about testing the old one though but I want to know if it works. So let's assume that it is bad, could it damage my new motherboard?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,952 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.2Ghz
Motherboard MSI 690-I PRO
Cooling 280MM push pull water Loop
Memory 32 GB DDR5 6200 MHZ 32-35-35-67
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UC @1810mhz 775mv
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case SLIGER S610
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Superlight wireless
Keyboard 65% mini hyperspeed wireless
Software Windows 11
It's extremely unlikely for a faulty CPU to kill a mobo.

I would test the old one and not worry about it.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,619 (1.66/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I agree with Mr.Scott. It is possible but not likely. More likely is the other way around - a faulty motherboard takes out the CPU.

That said, unless mishandled, CPUs, once properly mounted and working, rarely fail - at least not until years of good service.

Did you verify you had a good power supply before ordering other parts?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,863 (0.54/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
That said, unless mishandled, CPUs, once properly mounted and working, rarely fail -
Yup......unless extreme abuse via heat or voltage.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Processor i9 12900K
Motherboard Asus Z690 Apex
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 C36
Video Card(s) 2080 Ti
Display(s) LG 48CX OLED
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Power Supply AX1500i
I agree with Mr.Scott. It is possible but not likely. More likely is the other way around - a faulty motherboard takes out the CPU.

That said, unless mishandled, CPUs, once properly mounted and working, rarely fail - at least not until years of good service.

Did you verify you had a good power supply before ordering other parts?
My PSU is high end (AX1500i) and a couple years old. It has a self-test function. I tested it outside the case and it passed. I have no other PSU around to test in the system btw. Hope that's enough to give it the all clear?
Yup......unless extreme abuse via heat or voltage.
Yeah of course but I never even overclocked it. Also physically it seems perfect which is why I suspect it might be okay..
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,619 (1.66/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
My PSU is high end (AX1500i) and a couple years old. It has a self-test function. I tested it outside the case and it passed.
All that really does is test that it powers on. It does not test to ensure the output voltages are within the allowed ±5% tolerances, that the voltages are properly regulated, or that ripple is sufficiently suppressed. It is a better test than no test, but outside of a properly equipped testing facility, the only way a normal user can conclusively test a PSU is to swap in another known good supply and see if the same symptoms appear, or if the problem goes away.

Testing with another supply is something I would urge before RMAing or buying any new replacement parts.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Processor i9 12900K
Motherboard Asus Z690 Apex
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 C36
Video Card(s) 2080 Ti
Display(s) LG 48CX OLED
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Power Supply AX1500i
All that really does is test that it powers on. It does not test to ensure the output voltages are within the allowed ±5% tolerances, that the voltages are properly regulated, or that ripple is sufficiently suppressed. It is a better test than no test, but outside of a properly equipped testing facility, the only way a normal user can conclusively test a PSU is to swap in another known good supply and see if the same symptoms appear, or if the problem goes away.

Testing with another supply is something I would urge before RMAing or buying any new replacement parts.
Okay that makes sense. Thing is that same power supply was powering my previous build for years right up to this new one. So it would be odd if it just happened to act up when I switch to this build. Especially given that my last system was pulling more power as I was running SLI 2080 Tis as opposed to the single Ti I'm using now..

I honestly really hope the problem was the motherboard... Anyway it's been sent off now so I can no longer test it (even if I had another power supply)..

Btw I forgot to mention the issue started after I swapped out an AIO for another unit. Not that it matters as I reseated and checked and triple checked all my cabling/connections to no avail. Still was not booting..
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,619 (1.66/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Thing is that same power supply was powering my previous build for years right up to this new one. So it would be odd if it just happened to act up when I switch to this build.
Odd, but not impossible.

The problem is, everything inside the computer case depends on good, clean, stable power. Without that, any of those powered devices could appear to be bad, when really, they just have dirty, unstable power.

All electronics die - eventually. You said that PSU has been working for years. That's great. But then you changed its environment.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
477 (0.10/day)
Location
USA
Motherboards can kill CPUs, haven't heard of the other way around. Not with retail CPUs. Maybe with a ES Chip if someone at R&D really messed up.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,863 (0.54/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
Motherboards can kill CPUs, haven't heard of the other way around. Not with retail CPUs. Maybe with a ES Chip if someone at R&D really messed up.
Nah. It happens. I have a few killer processors from the socket A and 939 era's......one AM2 also now that I think about it. Cost me a few boards before I figured it out.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.77/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
00 q-code indicates it's an ASUS motherboard, correct?
More details would help.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,118 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Nah. It happens. I have a few killer processors from the socket A and 939 era's......one AM2 also now that I think about it. Cost me a few boards before I figured it out.
Had that happen with the Opty 152 I had.
The original problem was the board (Blew a MOSFET) and after that the chip itself became a board eater - Like it had been bitten by a silicon vampire and now IT was out for electrons too.
Found that out after it caused the same thing to another board.

In short:
While it's VERY unlikely to, it can happen depending on how the failure occurs to what component in the system.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Processor i9 12900K
Motherboard Asus Z690 Apex
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 C36
Video Card(s) 2080 Ti
Display(s) LG 48CX OLED
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Power Supply AX1500i
Odd, but not impossible.

The problem is, everything inside the computer case depends on good, clean, stable power. Without that, any of those powered devices could appear to be bad, when really, they just have dirty, unstable power.

All electronics die - eventually. You said that PSU has been working for years. That's great. But then you changed its environment.
I guess I'll just have to test it with the new motherboard and cpu then before it can be ruled out.

00 q-code indicates it's an ASUS motherboard, correct?
More details would help.
Yes, that's right. The Z690 Apex.

Had that happen with the Opty 152 I had.
The original problem was the board (Blew a MOSFET) and after that the chip itself became a board eater - Like it had been bitten by a silicon vampire and now IT was out for electrons too.
Found that out after it caused the same thing to another board.

In short:
While it's VERY unlikely to, it can happen depending on how the failure occurs to what component in the system.
I'm thinking I might RMA the cpu to Intel so they can test it for me!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,689 (6.57/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I guess I'll just have to test it with the new motherboard and cpu then before it can be ruled out.


Yes, that's right. The Z690 Apex.


I'm thinking I might RMA the cpu to Intel so they can test it for me!
Get your motherboard tested
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
Processor i9 12900K
Motherboard Asus Z690 Apex
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer II 420
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 C36
Video Card(s) 2080 Ti
Display(s) LG 48CX OLED
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Power Supply AX1500i
Just an update. It was the motherboard.

My new board solved everything. I also tested the old CPU in it and it works.. So it seems my faulty board did not take my CPU out with it as well which is what worried me.

Anyway the new cpu was an sp85 (1 point lower lol), so I'm gonna return or sell that one and stick with my old sp86..

Thanks for all the help.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,118 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Good to hear you got things sorted. :)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,619 (1.66/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I agree - great to hear you got it sorted out and thanks for coming back and posting your followup! :)
 
Top