• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it possible to get BIOS from MSI?

berkisbeing

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
I have MSI RX 580 ARMOR 8gb OC. S/N1:602-V341-490B1711000557. I bought this card used and it came with the wrong BIOS. I tried flashing it with what I thought was the correct from the database, but it is still not functioning properly. It boots up and run Windows without issue, it is when I try mining with it that it does not run as expected. I followed the advice from the forums of contacting MSI for the original BIOS, but they have not been helpful. I explained the situation and gave the relevant details when I submitted the help ticket, but they responded with several troubleshooting questions that were either irrelevant or tried. I explained that, and requested the original BIOS (again), and they have not responded in over a week. Will they actually send it, or am I wasting my time?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
956 (2.46/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB / iGPU
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Corsair VX 550W
Mouse Logitech G5 / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
Hello
I would like to help you in finding the right BIOS file for your card.
In order to do that i need a picture from labels from the card and also a picture from GPU-z
As for MSI i wrote a message to them in May last year and because they are on the other side of the earth the message probably did not arrived yet...the postman is in vacation i think...
Just joking...they have a lame customer service dept.
As for mining purpose...i modded myself the BIOS-es. But ofc they won't give your the desired results until you modd the BIOS especially for mining.
So you must save the original BIOS file in a safe place in order to continue to play and tamper the BIOS file for your card
 

berkisbeing

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
I think these should be the pics you asked for. Let me know if I need to take anymore. I appreciate the help.

I have a couple of other cards that I was able to mod without issue, a 570 and a different 580, they are both doing ~31 MH/s. With this one, I could tell something was not right immediately, as I got an error that the bios rom was the wrong size when I attempted to mod it. I tried using one of the BIOS I thought was the correct one from the database, I got the same error. I went ahead and tried mining with it just to see what it would do at stock, but it would only do ~6 MH/s.
 

Attachments

  • 20220113_184009.jpg
    20220113_184009.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 37
  • 20220113_184105.jpg
    20220113_184105.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 25
  • 20220113_184140.jpg
    20220113_184140.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 41
  • Screenshot 2022-01-13 184420.png
    Screenshot 2022-01-13 184420.png
    51.1 KB · Views: 33

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,636 (6.56/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I think these should be the pics you asked for. Let me know if I need to take anymore. I appreciate the help.

I have a couple of other cards that I was able to mod without issue, a 570 and a different 580, they are both doing ~31 MH/s. With this one, I could tell something was not right immediately, as I got an error that the bios rom was the wrong size when I attempted to mod it. I tried using one of the BIOS I thought was the correct one from the database, I got the same error. I went ahead and tried mining with it just to see what it would do at stock, but it would only do ~6 MH/s.

Go to the advanced tab in gpu-z and see if the ram says AJR or MJR on it please
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,636 (6.56/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Here it is.
Will get on it

Here it is.
1 last thing, in gpu-z click the arrow next to the uefi check box, attempt to upload the bios to the VGA Bios Collection/Database within the program itself, you may get a warning the bios is already in the database/collection, I need the link from the warning please.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,636 (6.56/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

Do not flash anything im posting as many files as I can

Verified:
2017 11 13

Unverified:
2017 11 13





These are for MK 2 cards but may work (use caution)
2017 12 14

2018 01 11

2018 05 04

Download a file above (make sure you have a disaster recovery plan)

Get amdvbflash, extract it to a new folder on C:

Open it and use amdvbflashwin.exe, right click, open with administrator privileges.

Find file and flash. If no work then you will need to open command prompt with administrator privileges, navigate using cmd to the folder where amdvbflash is and execute the command.

amdvbflash.exe -fa -fp -p BIOS.rom (replace bios.rom with actual name of bios file)
 

berkisbeing

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2022
Messages
5 (0.04/day)
The first one posted worked. I was able to mod it without issue, and it mined all night at 30.8 MH/s. Thanks so much for the help in getting it going. I really appreciate it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,636 (6.56/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The first one posted worked. I was able to mod it without issue, and it mined all night at 30.8 MH/s. Thanks so much for the help in getting it going. I really appreciate it.
Just a clue, replsce old thermal pads and compound, keep the fans higher ,
room temps lower for this.
 
Top