• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just need an answer please (PSU Question)

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.23/day)
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
Hi guys, I have asked this all over and still havent got an answer.

Im getting a gtx295, hopefully tomorrow. Problem is I have an OCZ 550W Fatal1ty with 450W on the 12v rail.

Now according to this review, my PSU should be fine

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GTX_295/28.html

Now, im very worried and probably wont run the card fully unless someone has tried it and it works..

So the question is,

Will I be able to boot into windows long enough to turn off the second card? If not, what will happen? randomly switch off for a couple minutes?
Thanks guys
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
1,190 (0.27/day)
System Name Titan
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.6ghz
Motherboard AsRock 990FX Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7970 3gb
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 64mb Cache/ Western Digital 500gb
Display(s) iMac Display 2560 x 1440
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 64-bit
550w PSU is not enough for the GTX 295, sorry :/
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.04/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
I am confused to what you truly asking?
Are you saying you have Two 295 video cards in your rig and want to go into windows long enough to disable one of the 295 because you feel your 550Watt PSU wont handle the both of them?
Well if that is what your asking then just uninstall the 2ND 295 while the PC is OFF and discharged. then after its uninstalled boot up as normal.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,013 (4.14/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K @ 5G
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
It's as much about amperage as anything else, what amps do you have on each 12V rail? I would suggest that at 2D idle you will be able to boot into windows but I am thinking anything 3D may cause you problems (at load it can draw almost 440W), if there was insufficient power available it is likely that your syastem would either just close down, re-start or freeze, worst case scenario is that the strain on your PSU could make it go "bang" but that should be unlikely.
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.23/day)
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
It's as much about amperage as anything else, what amps do you have on each 12V rail? I would suggest that at 2D idle you will be able to boot into windows but I am thinking anything 3D may cause you problems (at load it can draw almost 440W), if there was insufficient power available it is likely that your syastem would either just close down, re-start or freeze, worst case scenario is that the strain on your PSU could make it go "bang" but that should be unlikely.

Thank you! :toast:

I have 25A on each rail. Total is 37.5

I just want to get into windows to disable the one card on the 1 GTX295 that I have, there by taking a GTX295 and cutting it in half lol.

Great to see you're a Mod now Tatty! Congrats! :toast:
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,013 (4.14/day)
Location
Hartlebury, Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K @ 5G
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 4000Mhz 16-16-16-32 2T 1.43v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar SE 5.1 via SPDIF/Sony AVR/Tangent 4.1 speakers/Yamaha YST-SW40 sub
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Thank you! :toast:

I have 25A on each rail. Total is 37.5

I just want to get into windows to disable the one card on the 1 GTX295 that I have, there by taking a GTX295 and cutting it in half lol.

Great to see you're a Mod now Tatty! Congrats! :toast:

Where you been? I have been a Mod for 7 months now! So 25A on each must mean "Peak" output as total is 37.5 across both rails.... I suggest it's time to get another unit! :laugh:
 
Top