• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for guidance, wanting a setup for 3D rendering and simulation. RTX or Quadro ?

Xonic

I'm planning to get a new PC or workstation to focus on 3D rendering and simulation, I have around 500$ budget (though if necessary I can increase that ) for the graphic card, I was looking at RTX 3080, then saw for cheaper price there is a Quadro P5000 available, but on the surface the P5000 spec looks worse than 3080. Should I get a gaming card with better spec or a card that is supposed to focus on graphic design? The software I'm mainly using are Maya with Vray, Houdini, Unreal Engine 5, Blender and Photoshop.

If you have good CPU advice, could provide too. Planning to get an i9-14900k.

Thank you for your reply

I have a lot of experience using CAD and 3D-based software. For my GPU, I prefer the PNY A series. I use my GPU in water-cooled systems, and I'm not sure about the amount of RAM required on the GPU. However, based on your budget, I would recommend getting the best PNY A series card you can afford secondhand. Personally, I have the A6 with 48GB of RAM, which I purchased secondhand (2 years ago) for about half the price of retail. Since the GPU prices are stable for this particular card, I could sell it for what I paid for it right now. I chose the 48GB version because, in the world of CAD and 3D, everything is getting bigger and more complex with time. I have no issues with my card keeping up, and the support on professional-based cards is excellent. I've had some great conversations with PNY about the professional cards. Although there is a newer version of my card out now, there is no reason to spend 7K on something like that. I made the switch at the time to get something that would take care of my needs without taxing my system. In my opinion, the 3090s were all over the place, and I actually had a system based on a dual 3090 at first. However,