• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI RX 580 gaming X 8gb bricked

Dhiraj

This would be long as I will tell every minute details of how I messed up things, so that some expert in the forum can help me out. I made 2 attempts as of now to flash back to the original rom (I did backup) as follows:

1. I did a Bios flash through ATIwinFLash, flashing got stuck in the middle! I restarted the PC after 1 hour and then there was no display. I connected the display cable through VGA adapter of the motherboard and formatted the PC and installed the drivers of motherboard (being a newbie, I though that formatting the PC solves every problem). This did not work, the fans were running, lights all up, windows detects the card as a STANDARD VGA ADAPTER . I ran ATIwinFlash, " Error in reading from ROM".

2. After going through so many forums, I saw the 1 to 8 solder jumping and thought to give that a try as last option. I created a bootable USB drive with the original .rom file and ATIFLASH 4.17 because the latest 2.74 says this program cannot be run in DOS. I did the solder jumping, cut the wire into halves and reconnected them (I was not sure I would be able to cut the wire in running status as the GPU and all my parts were kept open). I went to the motherboard bios and changed the primary graphics card from Auto to Onboard (VGA cable connect to motherboard). Booted into the atiflash file, typed "atiflash -ai" and "atiflash -i" it says "no adapter found" (fans lights still running). Restarted the PC it still shows as a standard VGA adapter, tried going to device manager and updating the drivers, it says updated, still shows standard VGA adapter.

Where did I go wrong with this? I saw a person posting in this forum that it worked for him with the same model. Please help!