• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New laptop.... and questions!

Sistinas

Ok so I have been playing online games for about 7 years now and desktop is just too much of a hassle when trying to sneak the games in at work! So anyhow Ive been looking into the Alienware line of laptops and Im kinda concerned, I spoke with one of their overseas tech guys and he said that there is some overheating with the video card that is put in the Aurora m7700 series, well there are three types of cards listed for this particular laptop.

First there is the 256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7800 GTX
Then there is the 256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 6800 Ult
And then 256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 6800

Now my husbands desktop has the NVidia GeForce 6800 and he has been having some overheating issues while beta testing a new game... its just freakin out with the new graphics technology. Anyhow while Im asking questions the next is what type of processor is going to be best strictly for gaming?

They have the new AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-57 with HyperTransport Technology
and they also have AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 4800+ with HyperTransport and Dual Core Technology
Or the basic AMD Athlon™ 64 4000+ with HyperTransport Technology

My problem is that I am going to be spending some good money and I dont want a powerful machine that overheats, and Ive not ever had a laptop, hubby built the desktops that we have, and if it gets warm you just add more fans or something... thats always easy enough because you have a lot of space to work with.

Thanks,
Sistinas

Last edited:

D_o_S

Processor AMD Opteron 144
Motherboard DFI Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR Expert
Cooling Watercooled - Alphacool Nexxxos XP, BIX2, Eheim HPPS
Memory 2x 512MB OCZ PC 3200EL Platinum Rev.2 (TCCD)
Video Card(s) 2x Gainward GeForce 6800 Ultra (430/1200)
Storage 4x WD Raptor 740GD in RAID 0
Display(s) Eizo FlexScan L768
Case CM Stacker
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2