• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Searching how to 120hz my old dual-link DVI monitor

Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,723 (0.45/day)
Processor i5-7600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-4
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 Corsair LPX Vengeance 15-15-15-36
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr 1070ti
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I've got an old Dell AW2310 monitor that does 120hz native on a Dual-link DVI cable. It's got VGA, Dual-link DVI, and HDMI connections.

I've since upgraded my components and I now rock an RTX 3090 which I can now only use an HDMI connector (which means 60hz only, since the HDMI standard on the AW2310 is older).

Is there a way I can buy some sort of adapter that can transmit dual-link DVI bandwidth rates so that I can utilize the 120hz on this thing or am I doomed to buy a new monitor?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,723 (0.45/day)
Processor i5-7600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-4
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 Corsair LPX Vengeance 15-15-15-36
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr 1070ti
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
No need to be sarcastic. I've searched a few posts here and there, but I'm no tech whiz which is why I decided to ask TPU members who are better informed than I am. From the looks of it, I guess it's not possible after reading a little bit.

reddit.JPG



toms.JPG
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
9,173 (2.53/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veral
Processor 5950x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 Ace
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill TridentZ
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7900XTX Red Devil
Storage Crucial P5 Plus 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB, Teamgroup MP34 4TB
Display(s) Acer Nitro XZ342CK Pbmiiphx + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Fractal Design Meshify Lite 2
Audio Device(s) Blue Yeti + SteelSeries Arctis 5 / Samsung HW-T550
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Corsair Nightsword
Keyboard Corsair K55
VR HMD HP Reverb G2
Software Windows 11 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Have you tried displayport to DVI? Also if your HDMI cable isn't to spec it won't do over 60.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,730 (0.61/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Core i7 6950X @ 4,26GHz (1,28V)
Motherboard X99 SOC Champion (BIOS F23c + bifurcation mod)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X + 2x Delta 38mm PWM (Push-Pull)
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz CL16 4x8GB (@3240MHz CL12.12.12.24 CR2T @ 1,48V)
Video Card(s) Titan V (~1650MHz @ 0.77V, HBM2 1GHz, Forced P2 state [OFF])
Storage WD SN850X 2TB + Samsung EVO 2TB (SATA) + Seagate Exos X20 20TB (4Kn mode)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) Motu M4 (audio interface) + ATH-A900Z + Behringer C-1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You can try to create custom resolution with 120Hz under NV control panel.
If monitor's HDMI input can handle it, it should work (it's highly unlikely though).
Alternatively, try to do the same but utilizing DVI port (technically, you are going spec DVI doing this so image quality/stability may suffer).
There is possibility to make high bandwidth DP to DVI-DL adapter, but nobody makes them (too expensive vs. actual market need).

If you want native 120Hz on this monitor, you are basically limited to GTX 1080/1080 Ti GPUs, as most DP to DVI adapters are single DVI link only (it's simply cheaper - they utilize HDMI to DVI chipsets internally, as nobody requires high refresh "gamer" specs out them [like 1080p120]), example : https://www.delock.com/produkt/62599/pdf.html?sprache=en

Think about getting newer monitor for 3090 (they are not that expensive), and hook current one to retro PC.

EDIT : Club3D CAC-1010 DP to DVI-DL is the only adapter I found that MIGHT help you.
Reading Amazon comments about it though... it can be a bit iffy on stability side.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,723 (0.45/day)
Processor i5-7600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-4
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 Corsair LPX Vengeance 15-15-15-36
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr 1070ti
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I was going for a hail mary to try and get 120hz to work with my current setup, kinda don't want to get disappointed if I get that adapter and it doesn't fit my standards without issues.

Looks like I'll be in "save mode" until I decide which 4k/120+ monitor I decide to get in the next month. Prices are finally starting to see some drops thankfully.

Thanks guys.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
3,071 (0.46/day)
AW2310 is a 1080p 3D monitor and 120hz should be supported natively by HDMI if you use a proper 1.4a cable or above.

HDMI 2.0 to dual DVI cable should work too. HDMI and DVI is basically the same signal so it's preferred over DPI to DVI.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,723 (0.45/day)
Processor i5-7600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-4
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 Corsair LPX Vengeance 15-15-15-36
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr 1070ti
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
AW2310 is a 1080p 3D monitor and 120hz should be supported natively by HDMI if you use a proper 1.4a cable or above.

HDMI 2.0 to dual DVI cable should work too. HDMI and DVI is basically the same signal so it's preferred over DPI to DVI.

I am using an HDMI 1.4b cable. Does not work. Options do not show 120hz as a choice. I also remember that using a dual-link DVI was the only way to achieve 120hz on this monitor. So....yea.


nope.JPG
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2023
Messages
2,007 (5.48/day)
Location
Aston Martin DB7's boot
System Name DLSS / YOLO-PC
Processor i5-12400F / 10600KF
Motherboard Gigabyte B760M DS3H / Z490 Vision D
Cooling Laminar RM1 / Gammaxx 400
Memory 32 GB DDR4-3200 / 16 GB DDR4-3333
Video Card(s) RX 6700 XT / RX 480 8 GB
Storage A couple SSDs, m.2 NVMe included / 240 GB CX1 + 1 TB WD HDD
Display(s) Compit HA2704 / Viewsonic VX3276-MHD-2
Case Matrexx 55 / Junkyard special
Audio Device(s) Want loud, use headphones. Want quiet, use satellites.
Power Supply Thermaltake 1000 W / FSP Epsilon 700 W / Corsair CX650M [backup]
Mouse Don't disturb, cheese eating in progress...
Keyboard Makes some noise. Probably onto something.
VR HMD I live in real reality and don't need a virtual one.
Software Windows 10 and 11
am I doomed to buy a new monitor
This. DL-DVI to HDMI and DL-DVI to DP converters do exist but 120 Hz on them are fake and gay. Image stability just doesn't make it.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.50/day)
I remember when I had to ditch my 21" Mag Innovision CRT because videocards didn't come w/DB15 connectors or DVI-I anymore. No more blacks that were black and now I have to put up w/haloing. Technology marches on.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
3,071 (0.46/day)
I am using an HDMI 1.4b cable. Does not work. Options do not show 120hz as a choice. I also remember that using a dual-link DVI was the only way to achieve 120hz on this monitor. So....yea.


View attachment 311540

Theoretically, it should support up to 120hz. In other Alienware models HDMI to HDMI works fine. Even up to 240hz in HDMI 2.0-supported models.

Try another cable, try HDMI 2.0 to dual DVI cable, and maybe even DP to HDMI.

But be sure to pick cables that support 120hz and above and its written in the description. 120hz will not appear if the bandwidth isn't enough.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
7,051 (1.04/day)
Location
Asked my ISP.... 0.0
System Name Lynni PS \ Lenowo TwinkPad T480
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7700 Raphael \ i7-8550U Kaby Lake-R
Motherboard ASRock B650M PG Riptide Bios v. 2.02 AMD AGESA 1.1.0.0 \ Lenowo 20L60036MX Bios 1.47
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan) \ Lenowo WN-2
Memory G.Skill Flare X5 2x16GB DDR5 6000MHZ CL36-36-36-96 AMD EXPO \ Willk Elektronik 2x16GB 2666MHZ CL17
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX™ 4070 Dual OC GPU: 2325-2355 MEM: 1462| Nvidia GeForce MX™ 150 2GB GDDR5 Micron
Storage Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB| HDD: 10TB|1TB \ SKHynix 256GB 2242 3x2
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR | AUO 14" 1440p IPS
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black | Lenowo T480 chassis
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Be Quiet! Pure Power 12 M 750W Goldie | 65W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless | Lenowo TouchPad & Logitech G305
Keyboard Akko 3108 DS Horizon V2 Cream Yellow | T480 UK Lumi
Software Win11 Pro 23H2 UK
Benchmark Scores 3DMARK: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/89434432? GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/v3zbr
You need an active adapter most of the time to get anything over 60Hz from my experience.

Couldn't du maybe do DP to DVI-D?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
486 (0.66/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
You either need native DL-DVI on your GPU or a converter box, with the bonus input latency. There is no easy cable adapter for this. You're better off spending the cost of any converter on a new display. Basically anything capable of 100+Hz today, will be an upgrade from that old TN panel monitor.
 
Top