• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird Raptor Raid 0 HD Tach results..

Nonpositive

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
What do these nose dives mean? One of my hard drives is iffy??

 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.22/day)
System Name Back to Blue
Processor i9 14900k
Motherboard Asrock Z790 Nova
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 64GB Corsair Dominator DDR5-6400 @ 6600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 Ultra FTW3
Storage 4TB WD 850x NVME, 4TB WD Black, 10TB Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 1x Samsung Odyssey G7 Neo and 1x Dell u2518d
Case Lian Li o11 DXL w/custom vented front panel
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn PX38X -> SB AE-5 Plus
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502x
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores 31k multicore Cinebench - CPU limited 125w
Your not on hardware raid.... Would be my guess...
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.14/day)
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
Hardware raid has nothing to do with it. Looks like you have bad sectors. Ive had 2 36gig raptors that done the same thing then it flagged the smart and it was bye bye drive. May try a lowlevel format on the drives but it only saves it for a little while maye 3 or 4 weeks. ALLEN
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.22/day)
System Name Back to Blue
Processor i9 14900k
Motherboard Asrock Z790 Nova
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 64GB Corsair Dominator DDR5-6400 @ 6600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 Ultra FTW3
Storage 4TB WD 850x NVME, 4TB WD Black, 10TB Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 1x Samsung Odyssey G7 Neo and 1x Dell u2518d
Case Lian Li o11 DXL w/custom vented front panel
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn PX38X -> SB AE-5 Plus
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502x
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores 31k multicore Cinebench - CPU limited 125w
Hardware raid has nothing to do with it. Looks like you have bad sectors. Ive had 2 36gig raptors that done the same thing then it flagged the smart and it was bye bye drive. May try a lowlevel format on the drives but it only saves it for a little while maye 3 or 4 weeks. ALLEN

Aww... But hardware raid very well can, simply because you are relying on your processor, windows and a stupid driver or software to control your drives, vs a piece of hardware.

I have never tested a raid 0 on HD Tach so I cannot say for certain, but it very well could be the cause, although not necessarily in this situation.
 

Nonpositive

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Thanks for the replies.

Your not on hardware raid.... Would be my guess...

Excuse my ignorance but do you mean buying a Raid controller card vs using what's on the motherboard?


Hardware raid has nothing to do with it. Looks like you have bad sectors. Ive had 2 36gig raptors that done the same thing then it flagged the smart and it was bye bye drive. May try a lowlevel format on the drives but it only saves it for a little while maye 3 or 4 weeks. ALLEN

Unfortunately I just reformatted today..
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,527 (0.59/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 5600
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
I personally don't think it's anything to worry about. I get those nose dives when I run it and another app uses the hard drive at the same time. It happened while the song on RealPlayer changed and it went down to about 8MB/s.

I think you should run HD tach again, but close all applications and even end explorer, and see if it does it again in the same part of the drive. If not, I would say you're fine.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.22/day)
System Name Back to Blue
Processor i9 14900k
Motherboard Asrock Z790 Nova
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 64GB Corsair Dominator DDR5-6400 @ 6600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 Ultra FTW3
Storage 4TB WD 850x NVME, 4TB WD Black, 10TB Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 1x Samsung Odyssey G7 Neo and 1x Dell u2518d
Case Lian Li o11 DXL w/custom vented front panel
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn PX38X -> SB AE-5 Plus
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502x
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores 31k multicore Cinebench - CPU limited 125w
Excuse my ignorance but do you mean buying a Raid controller card vs using what's on the motherboard?

Well yes, but some raid controller cards are not "hardware level" raid either.
I would run a good full test on your drives to make sure they are testing good and you don't have bad sectors, during the scan watch your ram and processor usage, if its spiking pretty good you have your answer.
 

Nonpositive

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
I personally don't think it's anything to worry about. I get those nose dives when I run it and another app uses the hard drive at the same time. It happened while the song on RealPlayer changed and it went down to about 8MB/s.

I think you should run HD tach again, but close all applications and even end explorer, and see if it does it again in the same part of the drive. If not, I would say you're fine.

Okay I shut everything down including antivirus and still got the same results.

This current raid is on 16kb. However my previous setup was 64kb on ATI driver and the results still looked odd:

 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.22/day)
System Name Back to Blue
Processor i9 14900k
Motherboard Asrock Z790 Nova
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 64GB Corsair Dominator DDR5-6400 @ 6600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 Ultra FTW3
Storage 4TB WD 850x NVME, 4TB WD Black, 10TB Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 1x Samsung Odyssey G7 Neo and 1x Dell u2518d
Case Lian Li o11 DXL w/custom vented front panel
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn PX38X -> SB AE-5 Plus
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502x
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores 31k multicore Cinebench - CPU limited 125w
Whats your processor doing during this time?
 

Nonpositive

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Whats your processor doing during this time?

During the test the cpu usage peaked to 10%. It mostly fluctuated between 4 and 8%. Strangely when the test was over and my results popped up the CPU jumped to 50% usage and would not stop until I clicked "done" clearing my results... what the heck..?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,704 (1.22/day)
System Name Back to Blue
Processor i9 14900k
Motherboard Asrock Z790 Nova
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite
Memory 64GB Corsair Dominator DDR5-6400 @ 6600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 Ultra FTW3
Storage 4TB WD 850x NVME, 4TB WD Black, 10TB Seagate Barracuda Pro
Display(s) 1x Samsung Odyssey G7 Neo and 1x Dell u2518d
Case Lian Li o11 DXL w/custom vented front panel
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Senn PX38X -> SB AE-5 Plus
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502x
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
Benchmark Scores 31k multicore Cinebench - CPU limited 125w
During the test the cpu usage peaked to 10%. It mostly fluctuated between 4 and 8%. Strangely when the test was over and my results popped up the CPU jumped to 50% usage and would not stop until I clicked "done" clearing my results... what the heck..?

Can't tell ya, but I would personally guess it was the raid driver... Probably nothing you can do about it, I wouldn't worry about it, looks like your speeds are pretty decent.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.14/day)
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
shouldnt spike like that, post back when the smart kicks in. Only seen this with one bad drive and it only spiked at the first 5% of the drive. Ive been using Intel raid since Intel made raid and promise raid,hotpoint raid,marvel raid, along with nvidia raid so I could be wrong:ohwell:. ALLEN
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
7,186 (1.12/day)
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
What are your hard-drive specifications. Each of them. Be comprehensive, incl. make, size, cache, interface and number of "platters" on each HDD.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,792 (0.41/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
System Name Ladpot ◦◦◦ Desktop
Processor R7 5800H ◦◦◦ i7 4770K, watercooled
Motherboard HP 88D2 ◦◦◦ Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Mixed gases ◦◦◦ Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, D12SL-12, liq.metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB DDR4-3200 ◦◦◦ 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) RTX 3070 ◦◦◦ heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 980 PRO 2TB ◦◦◦ Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W11 x64 ◦◦◦ W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
I personally don't think it's anything to worry about. I get those nose dives when I run it and another app [and/or OS] uses the hard drive at the same time.
I hereby quote the correct answer.
 
Top