• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is Radeon RX 7000 series for you? Please elaborate

What is Radeon RX 7000 series for you?

  • Success

    Votes: 48 30.6%
  • Disappointment

    Votes: 41 26.1%
  • So-so

    Votes: 68 43.3%

  • Total voters
    157
  • This poll will close: .

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,342 (2.32/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃B550-I Strix
Cooling FC140┃AXP120x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Display(s) 43" QN90B / 32" M32Q / 27" S2721DGF
Case Caselabs S3┃Lone Industries L5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000┃HDPlex
@Space Lynx what's Radeon overlay say your VRAM clock is, at the very moment FPS is low?

If below 2500, that's probably your answer
 
Last edited:

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
15,455 (4.52/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
@Space Lynx what's Radeon overlay say your VRAM clock is, at the very moment FPS is low?

If below 2500, that's probably your answer

Vram is always where it should be but core clock is not boosting up at all, stays at like 900 mhz to 1.1 ghz.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,342 (2.32/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃B550-I Strix
Cooling FC140┃AXP120x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Display(s) 43" QN90B / 32" M32Q / 27" S2721DGF
Case Caselabs S3┃Lone Industries L5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000┃HDPlex
Vram is always where it should be but core clock is not boosting up at all, stays at like 900 mhz to 1.1 ghz.

Maybe just an old CPU-bound game that doesn't respond to cache, only freq

X3D is unfortunately not a solution to everything

If core clock is low I don't think there's really anything you can do, it's just not enough of a 3D load. Nvidia does have Prefer Max Performance but it's also not guaranteed to do anything / respond to the game if just CPU-bound (ie. SC2), where core clock will be similarly low.
 
Last edited:

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
15,455 (4.52/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
Maybe just an old CPU-bound game that doesn't respond to cache, only freq

X3D is unfortunately not a solution to everything

maybe it is an Intel game, i don't know, my friend has a 5600 non-x and a 1080 ti, and the game boosts and plays fine though. so i think this is more just an amd fail game.

just annoying, as i have not come across that other than one time before now. i guess not end of world, just frustrating since intel and nvidia seem to work just fine on anything.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
7,342 (2.32/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name ab┃ob
Processor 7800X3D┃5800X3D
Motherboard B650E PG-ITX┃B550-I Strix
Cooling FC140┃AXP120x67
Memory 64GB 6400CL32┃32GB 3600CL14
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle┃RTX A2000
Storage 8TB of SSDs┃1TB SN550
Display(s) 43" QN90B / 32" M32Q / 27" S2721DGF
Case Caselabs S3┃Lone Industries L5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000┃HDPlex
maybe it is an Intel game, i don't know, my friend has a 5600 non-x and a 1080 ti, and the game boosts and plays fine though. so i think this is more just an amd fail game.

just annoying, as i have not come across that other than one time before now. i guess not end of world, just frustrating since intel and nvidia seem to work just fine on anything.

There probably are still exceptions on blue/green side, however rare they might be.

1080 Ti is a number of performance tiers below what you have - sometimes more powerful cards run worse in light games because they downclock upon meeting what they think is a trivial 3D load, which doesn't happen to a weaker card that is motivated to stay in full 3D clocks.

Off the top of my head BF2 and Project Reality is a rare example that is completely cache-agnostic and prefers Fmax, so 5900X (4950+) does run better than 5800X3D (4450-4550).
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,475 (5.07/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
1080 Ti is a number of performance tiers below what you have - sometimes more powerful cards run worse in light games because they downclock upon meeting what they think is a trivial 3D load, which doesn't happen to a weaker card that is motivated to stay in full 3D clocks.
This is what I thought, too. It's just slightly worse with AMD, as it doesn't have specific 2D and 3D clocks - it varies everything based on the momentary load it has to deal with.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Location
Nebraska
System Name KOZAD
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Trident Z Neo 3600 CL14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) RX 7900 XTX
Storage Corsair Force MP600 Pro 2TB
Display(s) CORSAIR XENEON 32QHD165
Case NZXT 710
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Katana V2 | Blue Yeti
Power Supply EVGA 1000W
Mouse Logitech MX Vertical
Keyboard Logitech G915
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
I think AMD was aiming for moderately higher performance than where they ultimately landed, and then the marketing team got carried away with the naming/pricing of the resulting SKUs which tarnished RDNA3 more than the actual performance, IMHO.
7900 XTX = 7900 XT
7900 XT = 7800 XT
7900 GRE = 7800
7800 XT = 7700 XT
7700 XT = 7600 XT
7600 XT = 7500 XT
7600 = 7500
7500 XT = 7400 XT
I don't think RDNA3 is awful, but the driver team needs more love from AMD and the marketing department needs a reality check.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2023
Messages
255 (1.27/day)
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D (undervolted)
Memory 2x16 GB G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 Phantom (stock)
Display(s) 27" 1440p 144Hz VA main (HDR600), 55" LG OLED Evo secondary for controller based games
I think AMD was aiming for moderately higher performance than where they ultimately landed, and then the marketing team got carried away with the naming/pricing of the resulting SKUs which tarnished RDNA3 more than the actual performance, IMHO.
7900 XTX = 7900 XT
7900 XT = 7800 XT
7900 GRE = 7800
7800 XT = 7700 XT
7700 XT = 7600 XT
7600 XT = 7500 XT
7600 = 7500
7500 XT = 7400 XT
I don't think RDNA3 is awful, but the driver team needs more love from AMD and the marketing department needs a reality check.
The marketing is weird, nothing new there with Radeon, but the drivers aren't the issue, not anymore. Of course people will never stop talking about allegedly bad "AMD drivers". But I expect more from people in a tech forum, tbh.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
7,033 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling 2x 360 + 280 rads. 3x Gentle Typhoons, 3x Phanteks T30, 2x TT T140 . EK-Quantum Momentum Monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR 14-16-12-30-44
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX + under waterblock.
Storage Optane 900P[W11] + WD BLACK SN850X 4TB + 750 EVO 500GB + 1TB 980PRO[FEDORA]
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software FEDORA 39 / Windows 11 insider
I am not sure people moaning about RDNA3. So far I am going strong and getting more and more out of it.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2011
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
I think AMD was aiming for moderately higher performance than where they ultimately landed, and then the marketing team got carried away with the naming/pricing of the resulting SKUs which tarnished RDNA3 more than the actual performance, IMHO.
7900 XTX = 7900 XT
7900 XT = 7800 XT
7900 GRE = 7800
7800 XT = 7700 XT
7700 XT = 7600 XT
7600 XT = 7500 XT
7600 = 7500
7500 XT = 7400 XT
I don't think RDNA3 is awful, but the driver team needs more love from AMD and the marketing department needs a reality check.
Or they got surprised about the performance of the 4090. 4090 in particular is an odd ball as its performance doesn't line up even with nVidia's own lineup, it's like a 5090 compared to 4080.

With the 550w bios on 7900 xtx you can get very close to the performance of the 4090, and in some instances beat it.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
7,033 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling 2x 360 + 280 rads. 3x Gentle Typhoons, 3x Phanteks T30, 2x TT T140 . EK-Quantum Momentum Monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR 14-16-12-30-44
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX + under waterblock.
Storage Optane 900P[W11] + WD BLACK SN850X 4TB + 750 EVO 500GB + 1TB 980PRO[FEDORA]
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software FEDORA 39 / Windows 11 insider
Or they got surprised about the performance of the 4090. 4090 in particular is an odd ball as its performance doesn't line up even with nVidia's own lineup, it's like a 5090 compared to 4080.

With the 550w bios on 7900 xtx you can get very close to the performance of the 4090, and in some instances beat it.

The question remains why would you need it? I am watercooled and my Pulse hovers around 3.1GHz on average clock ~420W peak, while the hotspot is always under 70C, mostly in 50-60C. I am not sure I even need to flash it to the Nitro+ to unlock more current capability. The only thing I could whine is that I got Samsung Memory ICs, those are a tad worse.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
4,299 (1.52/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 @3800Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Powercolor 6900 XT Red Devil 1.1v@2400Mhz
Storage M.2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD / LG 27GN950
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) Realtec 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
I voted so-so mostly due to pricing but in general it is a very OK product and despite the price still cheaper than NV counterpart. The RT perf is slower than NV but if you look at the RT performance of the NV cards, you would wish for higher RT performance at the given prices. 4090's RT is OK but then the price for that one is ridiculous. RT great but we're not there yet.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
7,033 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling 2x 360 + 280 rads. 3x Gentle Typhoons, 3x Phanteks T30, 2x TT T140 . EK-Quantum Momentum Monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR 14-16-12-30-44
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX + under waterblock.
Storage Optane 900P[W11] + WD BLACK SN850X 4TB + 750 EVO 500GB + 1TB 980PRO[FEDORA]
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software FEDORA 39 / Windows 11 insider
How do i figure out what vram IC i got?

I was putting my water block on and looked at them. Not sure GPU-Z shows it correctly. I'll be at home after work, I'll look up.

Other obvious thing, it does OC like crap... 2700MHz is not Vulkan memtest stable, no matter what timings I use. I have to go tad slower.
 

Space Lynx

Astronaut
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
15,455 (4.52/day)
Location
Kepler-186f
I oc at 2800, but i keep it at 2770 to be extra safe
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2023
Messages
255 (1.27/day)
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D (undervolted)
Memory 2x16 GB G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 Phantom (stock)
Display(s) 27" 1440p 144Hz VA main (HDR600), 55" LG OLED Evo secondary for controller based games
The question remains why would you need it? I am watercooled and my Pulse hovers around 3.1GHz on average clock ~420W peak, while the hotspot is always under 70C, mostly in 50-60C. I am not sure I even need to flash it to the Nitro+ to unlock more current capability. The only thing I could whine is that I got Samsung Memory ICs, those are a tad worse.
So I had already bought a 4080, at 1350$ a TUF model, it was so expensive that I canceled the order and just ordered the cheapest 4090 instead at 1599. Why I need the performance: a) it's nice to have the best b) i play in 4K Ultra c) I'm a huge CP2077 fan and Radeon isn't that good performance wise in that game lately, not with the latest bells and whistles on. With everything on (and path tracing), the game needs DLSS with FG to have barely 80 fps on my rig. So that's "why", that and long term performance is always nice to have. I though about buying a XTX for a while, but decided against it, CP2077 being the sole reason basically, more or less (well done Nvidia). Sorry if this is off-topic.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
3,475 (0.85/day)
System Name Skunkworks
Processor 5800x3d
Motherboard x570 unify
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB 3600 mhz
Video Card(s) asrock 6800xt challenger D
Storage Sabarent rocket 4.0 2TB, MX 500 2TB
Display(s) Asus 1440p144 27"
Case Old arse cooler master 932
Power Supply Corsair 1200w platinum
Mouse *squeak*
Keyboard Some old office thing
Software openSUSE tumbleweed/Mint 21.2
RX 7000s have been disappointing. On the low end, near 0 progress, still have 8GB cards throttling the low end in price/$, the 7600 is just a 6650 with a new name, and shows how little change rDNA3 brings to the table outside of RT. The 7900 series were decent cards, the xt was too expensive. The xtx was a good card, and so far the only GPU that has truly proven itself worthwhile. The 7700/7800 have been totally MIA, and at this point they may as well not release, ADA is saturating the market as is Ampere and old rDNA2 stock.

Biggest disappointment is the stalling of perf/$ outside of the $1000 halo card. That's not good for us consumers.
The marketing is weird, nothing new there with Radeon, but the drivers aren't the issue, not anymore. Of course people will never stop talking about allegedly bad "AMD drivers". But I expect more from people in a tech forum, tbh.
The first few months of rDNA3 were rough, in case you missed it, the reason those of us with rDNA2 cards went 3 months without driver updates or optimizations was because AMD had ot go all hands on deck to un screw rDNA3's driver set.

Of course AMD still hasnt realized that you need to consistently not screw up drivers to shake that image, but that's hard.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2023
Messages
255 (1.27/day)
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D (undervolted)
Memory 2x16 GB G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 Phantom (stock)
Display(s) 27" 1440p 144Hz VA main (HDR600), 55" LG OLED Evo secondary for controller based games
The first few months of rDNA3 were rough, in case you missed it, the reason those of us with rDNA2 cards went 3 months without driver updates or optimizations was because AMD had ot go all hands on deck to un screw rDNA3's driver set.
No didn't miss anything, RDNA 3 drivers were focused for a while that's why AMD didn't bring anything new for RDNA 2 for a few months as the drivers were already pretty good.

Of course AMD still hasnt realized that you need to consistently not screw up drivers to shake that image, but that's hard.
RDNA 3 is a bit exotic, so it had a few hiccups - I don't buy the drama hypercritical people make up. Mainly the issues were VR related, so if you didn't use VR, there were nearly no issues at all. I regularly read user opinions (which are in my opinion more important than reviews, as in the long run and not just 2 days of clinical testing in a lab), they weren't bad.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
7,033 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling 2x 360 + 280 rads. 3x Gentle Typhoons, 3x Phanteks T30, 2x TT T140 . EK-Quantum Momentum Monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR 14-16-12-30-44
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX + under waterblock.
Storage Optane 900P[W11] + WD BLACK SN850X 4TB + 750 EVO 500GB + 1TB 980PRO[FEDORA]
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software FEDORA 39 / Windows 11 insider
So I had already bought a 4080, at 1350$ a TUF model, it was so expensive that I canceled the order and just ordered the cheapest 4090 instead at 1599. Why I need the performance: a) it's nice to have the best b) i play in 4K Ultra c) I'm a huge CP2077 fan and Radeon isn't that good performance wise in that game lately, not with the latest bells and whistles on. With everything on (and path tracing), the game needs DLSS with FG to have barely 80 fps on my rig. So that's "why", that and long term performance is always nice to have. I though about buying a XTX for a while, but decided against it, CP2077 being the sole reason basically, more or less (well done Nvidia). Sorry if this is off-topic.

I was more into the performance vs current consumption metric, as cruising with overclock at such currents doesn't pay off. For example for my older 1080ti also was a XOC leaked bios meant for LN2 and setting records... but using it daily even on water it was problematic, stuttery and delivered worse performance in games, despite half of the forum peps claiming and swearing by their 3DMARK scores... it would be fine if it would be playable.

It is okay, you need 4090, you got what you payed for, it is way too hot for my taste I am not that into needing all bells and whistles as for most of time it even doesn't deliver that much more.

I hate nvidia drivers with my guts, I got fed of them. Dreaded latency and weird stutter for few months without fix, ManuelG just shoves off any complaints. I have nothing like that currently with RADEON, I agree the start was bumpy, but not anymore. I won't even touch the Linux driver state, as nvidia is unusable there. There is so much disinformation about AMD driver state... mostly from those who don't own an AMD card at all.

So what fits you best. Without any fanboy stuff. I knew what it is, and took 7900XTX and slapped a water block on it as I usually do.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2011
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
The question remains why would you need it? I am watercooled and my Pulse hovers around 3.1GHz on average clock ~420W peak, while the hotspot is always under 70C, mostly in 50-60C. I am not sure I even need to flash it to the Nitro+ to unlock more current capability. The only thing I could whine is that I got Samsung Memory ICs, those are a tad worse.

Yes it's not needed, but when you're already watercooled youre card it's not a bad thing to flash the aqua bios. You can get around 10%-15% performance gain.
You can flash the rear bios chip of the pulse, so not even need to remove the cooler.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
7,033 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling 2x 360 + 280 rads. 3x Gentle Typhoons, 3x Phanteks T30, 2x TT T140 . EK-Quantum Momentum Monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4133C19D-16GTZR 14-16-12-30-44
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 7900XTX + under waterblock.
Storage Optane 900P[W11] + WD BLACK SN850X 4TB + 750 EVO 500GB + 1TB 980PRO[FEDORA]
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software FEDORA 39 / Windows 11 insider
Yes it's not needed, but when you're already watercooled youre card it's not a bad thing to flash the aqua bios. You can get around 10%-15% performance gain.
You can flash the rear bios chip of the pulse, so not even need to remove the cooler.

Pulse doesn't have dual BIOS ICs
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
3,475 (0.85/day)
System Name Skunkworks
Processor 5800x3d
Motherboard x570 unify
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB 3600 mhz
Video Card(s) asrock 6800xt challenger D
Storage Sabarent rocket 4.0 2TB, MX 500 2TB
Display(s) Asus 1440p144 27"
Case Old arse cooler master 932
Power Supply Corsair 1200w platinum
Mouse *squeak*
Keyboard Some old office thing
Software openSUSE tumbleweed/Mint 21.2
No didn't miss anything, RDNA 3 drivers were focused for a while that's why AMD didn't bring anything new for RDNA 2 for a few months as the drivers were already pretty good.


RDNA 3 is a bit exotic, so it had a few hiccups - I don't buy the drama hypercritical people make up. Mainly the issues were VR related, so if you didn't use VR, there were nearly no issues at all. I regularly read user opinions (which are in my opinion more important than reviews, as in the long run and not just 2 days of clinical testing in a lab), they weren't bad.
If you are OK on losing performance on your $700+ GPU because AMD cant get their act together, that's great for you, I'm glad you are happy being treated like a second rate citizen. I also regularly read user opinions, and a LOT of people were pissed, so pissed that AMD had to create an official response to the controversy.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2023
Messages
255 (1.27/day)
Processor Ryzen 5800X3D (undervolted)
Memory 2x16 GB G.Skill DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4090 Phantom (stock)
Display(s) 27" 1440p 144Hz VA main (HDR600), 55" LG OLED Evo secondary for controller based games
If you are OK on losing performance on your $700+ GPU because AMD cant get their act together, that's great for you, I'm glad you are happy being treated like a second rate citizen. I also regularly read user opinions, and a LOT of people were pissed, so pissed that AMD had to create an official response to the controversy.
Artificial drama, again RDNA 2 drivers were in excellent shape, RDNA 3 drivers weren't thats why they focused those for a while, makes complete sense, while the artificial drama doesn't. Also I never heard of any complains (as there were no problems). Game releases worked anyway, there were simply no real problems with waiting a bit longer for new RDNA 2 drivers. Or people just overreacted because they thought "OMG is this the end for new drivers for my RDNA 2 gpu ????" - but to those who knew, this was never going to happen.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Location
Nebraska
System Name KOZAD
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32GB Trident Z Neo 3600 CL14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) RX 7900 XTX
Storage Corsair Force MP600 Pro 2TB
Display(s) CORSAIR XENEON 32QHD165
Case NZXT 710
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Katana V2 | Blue Yeti
Power Supply EVGA 1000W
Mouse Logitech MX Vertical
Keyboard Logitech G915
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
The marketing is weird, nothing new there with Radeon, but the drivers aren't the issue, not anymore. Of course people will never stop talking about allegedly bad "AMD drivers". But I expect more from people in a tech forum, tbh.
With my 7900 XTX, my screen still blanks at least once per session while using a Chromium browser (Edge) and scrolling sites or watching a YouTube video. Had this issue with my 6800 XT too with a different monitor. Seems like a GPU driver issue, and it's been around for a while. It's not making it unusable by any means, but it's a very strange thing to see on a $999 GPU. Overall I'm happy to have something that beats out the $1,200 4080 for less.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
7,594 (3.09/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD 7900X3D
Motherboard Asus X670E E Strix
Cooling In Win SR36
Memory GSKILL DDR5 32GB 5200 30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 7900XT (Watercooled)
Storage Corsair MP 700, Seagate 530 2Tb, Adata SX8200 2TBx2, Kingston 2 TBx2, Micron 8 TB, WD AN 1500
Display(s) GIGABYTE FV43U
Case Corsair 7000D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Deepcool 1000M
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 11 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 46183 Time Spy: 25121
With my 7900 XTX, my screen still blanks at least once per session while using a Chromium browser (Edge) and scrolling sites or watching a YouTube video. Had this issue with my 6800 XT too with a different monitor. Seems like a GPU driver issue, and it's been around for a while. It's not making it unusable by any means, but it's a very strange thing to see on a $999 GPU. Overall I'm happy to have something that beats out the $1,200 4080 for less.
I use Firefox and don't see that
 
Top