• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX R7 370 2GB Bios Request

reszko

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Hi. I recently bought a XFX 37 370 video card with 2GB ram with bios corrupted.

I got fix the bios chip but I didn't find the correct bios from this site.

After I test a lot of bios files, I figured out that the only Bios the badly worked in my video card was this: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/202435/202435

With that bios installed, I got make the video card work in an old 775 mother board with a dual core processor with windows 7 installed

In this pc was possible to set the display resolution to full hd, using standard vga drivers from Microsoft from 2006, but when I installed the AMD drivers, I got the black screen and the pc freezes.

Even I restart windows several times I always got black screen and freezings.

I tested that video card also in another motherboard, a ASUS H110M-D, bios from 2019, but in this motherboard the pc doesn't even boot, only works with integrated video.

When I turn in this pc with integrated video, I can run into windows 10 and open the GPU-Z that detects my R7 video card, but not of all informations appear, like current gpu clock and sensors, but it shows the correct information about the video card "R7 370".

So, I don't know if this is a BGA problem or a BIOS problem. Before I try to reball the gpu, I would like to test the original bios for this video card, but I didnt't found it.

If someonte has this video card, could create a backup from your bios and send it to me?

Thank you all.

Pictures from my videocard:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210714_102340.jpg
    IMG_20210714_102340.jpg
    355.9 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_20210714_102420.jpg
    IMG_20210714_102420.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 35
  • IMG_20210713_133426.jpg
    IMG_20210713_133426.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 32
  • IMG_20210714_102508.jpg
    IMG_20210714_102508.jpg
    263.3 KB · Views: 28
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,552 (4.92/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Found this unverified Bios in the database.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi. I recently bought a XFX 37 370 video card with 2GB ram with bios corrupted.

I got fix the bios chip but I didn't find the correct bios from this site.

After I test a lot of bios files, I figured out that the only Bios the badly worked in my video card was this: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/202435/202435

With that bios installed, I got make the video card work in an old 775 mother board with a dual core processor with windows 7 installed

In this pc was possible to set the display resolution to full hd, using standard vga drivers from Microsoft from 2006, but when I installed the AMD drivers, I got the black screen and the pc freezes.

Even I restart windows several times I always got black screen and freezings.

I tested that video card also in another motherboard, a ASUS H110M-D, bios from 2019, but in this motherboard the pc doesn't even boot, only works with integrated video.

When I turn in this pc with integrated video, I can run into windows 10 and open the GPU-Z that detects my R7 video card, but not of all informations appear, like current gpu clock and sensors, but it shows the correct information about the video card "R7 370".

So, I don't know if this is a BGA problem or a BIOS problem. Before I try to reball the gpu, I would like to test the original bios for this video card, but I didnt't found it.

If someonte has this video card, could create a backup from your bios and send it to me?

Thank you all.

Pictures from my videocard:

Please get a picture of one memory chip
 

reszko

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Found this unverified Bios in the database.
I have already tested this BIOS but it didn't work. Besides, look the picture, it's from R7 360, that is shorter than mine.

Thank you

I already did all this steps, even went beyond. Initially, my bios chip was "dead" and the only way I got to make it works was shorting the 1 and 8 pins from the bios chip. Below it's a picture from one memory chip:
 

Attachments

  • chip memory xfx 37 370.jpg
    chip memory xfx 37 370.jpg
    905.8 KB · Views: 19
  • gpu-7 r7-370.gif
    gpu-7 r7-370.gif
    25.3 KB · Views: 21
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I have already tested this BIOS but it didn't work. Besides, look the picture, it's from R7 360, that is shorter than mine.

Thank you



Progress.

I did a gpu reflux and now my new pc recognizes the video card. I had to change de bios file too, now, when I enter in windows using the integrated video, GPU-Z can detect the R7 370 and I can even do stress testes in video card which all works fine, including sensors of temperature and fan speed.

But, when I use the video card as primary graphic, when Windows installs the drives, I got a black screen, even with windows working normally.

I already used DDU to unninstall amd drivers but when Windows install it own drivers usign windows update, the black screen happens again.

In security mode I can enter windows normally.

What could it be? Maybe a BIOS issue yet? When I click on GPU-Z Look up, this site is showed to me:


Thank you all

I will start looking, sometimes drivers get corrupted
 

reszko

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Progress.

I did a gpu reflux and now my new pc recognizes the video card. I had to change de bios file too, now, when I enter in windows using the integrated video, GPU-Z can detect the R7 370 and I can even do stress testes in video card which all works fine, including sensors of temperature and fan speed.

But, when I use the video card as primary graphic, when Windows installs the drives, I got a black screen, even with windows working normally.

I already used DDU to unninstall amd drivers but when Windows install it own drivers usign windows update, the black screen happens again.

In security mode I can enter windows normally.

What could it be? Maybe a BIOS issue yet? When I click on GPU-Z Look up, this site is showed to me:


Thank you all
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Progress.

I did a gpu reflux and now my new pc recognizes the video card. I had to change de bios file too, now, when I enter in windows using the integrated video, GPU-Z can detect the R7 370 and I can even do stress testes in video card which all works fine, including sensors of temperature and fan speed.

But, when I use the video card as primary graphic, when Windows installs the drives, I got a black screen, even with windows working normally.

I already used DDU to unninstall amd drivers but when Windows install it own drivers usign windows update, the black screen happens again.

In security mode I can enter windows normally.

What could it be? Maybe a BIOS issue yet? When I click on GPU-Z Look up, this site is showed to me:


Thank you all
Give me time to look.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,552 (4.92/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I have already tested this BIOS but it didn't work. Besides, look the picture, it's from R7 360, that is shorter than mine.

Thank you
The pictures used in the database are not always the card for the listed Bios, they are representative only.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Progress.

I did a gpu reflux and now my new pc recognizes the video card. I had to change de bios file too, now, when I enter in windows using the integrated video, GPU-Z can detect the R7 370 and I can even do stress testes in video card which all works fine, including sensors of temperature and fan speed.

But, when I use the video card as primary graphic, when Windows installs the drives, I got a black screen, even with windows working normally.

I already used DDU to unninstall amd drivers but when Windows install it own drivers usign windows update, the black screen happens again.

In security mode I can enter windows normally.

What could it be? Maybe a BIOS issue yet? When I click on GPU-Z Look up, this site is showed to me:


Thank you all

How many ram chips are on the card front and back.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

reszko

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2021
Messages
4 (0.04/day)
Srs. I think I SOLVED the problem.

I decided to buy a DVI cable and voilá, windows 10 did load with the last drivers from AMD, so I thinks this is a HDMI problem.

Like I said, before Windows loads, the image shows normally in monitor using HDMI port, but when amd drivers are loaded, I got a black screen, only in HDMI, but in DVI all is working now.

I don't think it is a hdmi port problem itself, maybe it's a driver problem. I tried to install a amd driver from 2015 e even so the HDMI port did not work.

So, if I find a solution I will post here, otherwise I will buy some dvi-hdmi or dvi-vga or displayport-vga adapter do use that way.

Thank for all who participate in this conversation.

Fabio
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Srs. I think I SOLVED the problem.

I decided to buy a DVI cable and voilá, windows 10 did load with the last drivers from AMD, so I thinks this is a HDMI problem.

Like I said, before Windows loads, the image shows normally in monitor using HDMI port, but when amd drivers are loaded, I got a black screen, only in HDMI, but in DVI all is working now.

I don't think it is a hdmi port problem itself, maybe it's a driver problem. I tried to install a amd driver from 2015 e even so the HDMI port did not work.

So, if I find a solution I will post here, otherwise I will buy some dvi-hdmi or dvi-vga or displayport-vga adapter do use that way.

Thank for all who participate in this conversation.

Fabio

Its probably due to bios disabling the port, Id suggest trying another hdmi cable/port on monitor/make sure video input is set to hdmi on monitor too.

These are all the cards.

Its interesting, ive only found 1 bios that is Pictarin Pro Based.
That is a core edition. Due note the R9 270 series and R7 370/R9 370 series ate the same.


The linked BIOS is in fact from a R7 360. (device id 1002 665F) Don't use that. The original one you tried was from a R9 370X.

Try this: VGA Bios Collection: MSI R7 370 2048 MB | TechPowerUp

The device id and subsystem id will brick the card

Found this unverified Bios in the database.

That bios in description says 360 not 370.

@reszko please contact XFX for the correct bios, apparently the double dissipation cards were popular and common but the core cards were not...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
825 (0.19/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX III
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Perhaps try an hd 7850 bios since 7850=265=370
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,751 (6.27/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Perhaps try an hd 7850 bios since 7850=265=370
Subsys and Dev IDs come into play, along side ram unfortunately, Ive heard of XFX and Sapphire doling out bios as long as the bar codes havent been damaged

Fyi it is Pictairn so it was a R9 270/X too.
 
Top