• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC upgrade mobo started smoking!

soulvoid

Hi all, new here, nice site btw. A little about my history, Im an aspiring hobbyist that has built many systems and repaired quite a few over the course of 20 years and also studying for an A+ cert for the fun of it! I recently was doing a PC upgrade(used PSU/used GPU) and after the new hardware placement my mobo started smoking very badly (below a DIMM socket and traveling up to the bios chip) and almost had a fire on my hands before yanking the power cord! The place on the board is black and I can now see some of the copper/gold relays. I am unsure of what has happened. The new PSU has a greenlight for indicating it is ready and I believe it was working when pulled from another PC case. On the otherhand I'm not certain of the GPU being a good unit or not and was hoping for the best that it would work. Details on items below with picture of aftereffect. After placing the original PC parts back together everything is working fine but im afraid of it now being a fire hazard!! After 30 minutes of being apart from the system the GPU card has the same burnt smell that the mobo produced in heavy white smoke(no smell was present on the card before hand) and the PSU appears to only have a very very little smell aftereffect. My question is would a bad graphics card cause the mobo to fry or has my mobo malfunctioned with an increased supply of power running through the board or maybe im missing something here in the parts placed together??

My old PC specs are as follows:

Win 7 64
ECS IC780M-A Mobo
AM2+ AMD Phenom x4 9750 quad core
PSU Coolmax V-500
HD Sata seagate barracuda 7200(ST3500418AS)
GPU EVGA GeForce GTS450
RAM Patriot Signature 2048 DDR2 800MHZ x 2

attempted upgrades:

PSU Thermaltake Toughpower XT 575W
GPU Radeon HD 6870 PowerCooler

Attachments

• burntjpg.jpg
    burntjpg.jpg
    446.4 KB · Views: 689