1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3930k to 3770k ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Live OR Die, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    AGree!

    Now seriously... Gnight for now! :)

    Riiiight. Its core dependent. Look at the Physics score... so is vantage, and 06. ;)

    Oof not really...http://www.anandtech.com/show/5276/intel-core-i7-3820-review-285-quadcore-sandy-bridge-e 3820 also has a 200 mhz clockspeed ADVANTAGE, NO?

    Perhaps, or it could be ~5% faster than Sbe clock for clock like IB was to SB... though with how long its taking to release, it damn well better be a lot faster than that! :D

    50 points is negligible at best.. margin of error easily there.. same shhhhhhhhhhhhhh different piles with slight more cache




    ok for reals.. night!
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The 3820 is a quad-core and it still does better but on on 3DMark 11, not vantage. I suspect it has to do with multi-core optimization (less waiting and locking on other cores.)
    I know, I know, I have to stop as well. :p
  3. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    225 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    I'll take the oportunity and ask:

    For a guy that wants heavy editing AND gaming, what you would recommend today: X79 (3820) or Z77 (3770K)?

    Worth getting what gives you the upgrade path?
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Describe heavy editing? Are we talking about professional editing of video over a couple hours in length in HD, or are we talking hobbyist video editing?

    Intel is in the strange place where everything is kind of in limbo. You can buy an IVB i7 3770k but that setup will never see a faster processor.

    SB-E is good, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you:
    A: have the money to waste to get something completely extra and unnecessary.
    B: Want to have a little more fun overclocking.
    C: Don't care how much power it eats.
    D: Enables you to run 64Gb up from 32Gb.

    The question is, how much does X79 matter to you. I had my mind set on SB-E before IVB even came out and I got the 3820 cheaper than every other skt1155 and 2011 i7 CPU which still managing to deliver some pretty impressive numbers.

    All in all, if you game more than you use your machine for anything else and you're not planning on running more than 2 GPUs, get an IVB or wait for Haswell and skt1150. I recommend waiting for Haswell to see what Intel ends up doing and from there you can determine if it is worth waiting for IVB-E or investing in Haswell.
    PatoRodrigues says thanks.
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    If you don't know if you need a 6 core CPU then you don't need it, no offense.
    PatoRodrigues and Aquinus say thanks.
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1: Good advice. If you have to ask, you don't need it. That really does make it easy and simple.
    PatoRodrigues says thanks.
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It is a crapshoot. The 3820 has more L3 cache which would be better for rendering and CPU intensive stuff. There really is no upgrade path on LGA 1155 or 2011.
    PatoRodrigues says thanks.
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ivb-e is for 2011
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Doubtful he will go Ivy-e after making his choice but maybe he will
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    The only reason I'd upgrade my 3930K to an Ivy-E is if Intel releases an X edition 8c/16t CPU.

    No way I'm going to upgrade 6 core to 6 core another time.
  11. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Well im going to wait for Haswell, Also i do use 3Ds max now and then so i built my system around what i use it for but it sucks that they still haven't got RAID TRIM working on the c600 chipset, I have to use a hacked bios just to use it on my RAID.
  12. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    225 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Well, i thought later that saying the GPU would be important. 2x GTX670.

    Yes, IT IS professional editing in HD for some serious length of time (even some long school projects that require tons of dedication and good rendering after.) Yes, i have the budget for it and certainly want to have some fun with overclocking (but not messing too much with BCLK, because that could damage my system).

    Really, i don't think i'll ever use 64GB's of memory (only 16GB).
  13. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    225 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    I'm here to read and learn man, no problem at all :toast:
  14. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,477 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,580
    PatoRodrigues -
    Please do not double post:) Use the Edit, Multi-Quote and Quote tools please.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You will be lucky to see Haswell by May 2013. This pretty much was a worthless thread.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Really? Mine detects that they're SSDs and everything out of the box. I was under the impression (at least for me,) that TRIM pass-through was enabled with the latest drivers. I've never had issues with my SSD RAID-0.
    +1: More or less. I mean, we did convince him out of "upgrading" to IVB which would have been a damn shame for his poor 3930k. Waiting for something newer is usually the best plan if you can wait.
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    No TRIM still hasn't been enabled in RTSe drivers, The modded bios i use uses a different OROM that works with RTS drivers which enables TRIM but you have to force install the drivers.

    Heres the link have a read though it.
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?26501-RIVE-3301-Patched-for-TRIM-in-RAID!&country=&status=

    [​IMG]
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Huh? You're confusing me. I thought CrystalDiskInfo only says what the drive can do, not what the RAID is doing.

    I've had these two drives in RAID-0 since I got them, you almost can't tell them apart without the serial except the read/write totals and temperature. :p

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Edit: You might want to remove the serial number.

    Attached Files:

  19. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,853 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,929
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    From your link:


    ie, Intel-branded boards only.

    Then:

    Your links prove that in concept, it works, for sure, but this isn't new news or anything, as the mod for BIOS has been around for quite some time now.
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yes, well aware of how it works. My apologies for not being more specific and post HOW in the thread. ;)
  23. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Yer seems CrystalDiskInfo only does post info on what your drive does sorry, Brands like Asrock/Gigabyte have added support for TRIM with a bios update for there X79 broads how it works is they add a option to change the OROM so you have a choice to load just the RTS OROM which works with TRIM IN RAID, Heres some more info from the bios mod thread i posted, Also this cant brick your board you have 2 bios's also bios flash back which you need to use the bios.

  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Gigabyte X79 boards have problems and were recalled. Stay away from them.
  25. WillRock New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That was... a YEAR ago. They had faulty VRM which was fixed in like a week after their launch.

    But, Giga s UEFI is shit compared to Asus or ASRocks, making their boards poor in competition.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page