1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3DMark Vantage Compilation

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Asylum, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    crank it up!

    get 1000mhz on that core and you'll hit 19k

    1250mv for 1000mhz core
  2. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Asylum says thanks.
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,761 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    654
    Location:
    South Carolina
  5. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    My Q9650, Gigabyte, 8Gbs are being replaced by i930, Gigabyte UD7, 6Gb HyperX. I will have to run my Q9650 again I haven't benched it since I added another 4Gbs of Ram, and a better SSD. Probably won't increase my score much. I am totally stoked to see what this i930 can do.
  6. Crushgate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    ahh! my new gcard :D

    Crushgate|GTX470|820/850/1640|21534|PII 965c3@3.9Ghz

    having trouble hitting 4ghz on my cpu so 3.9ghz will will have to do

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
    Asylum says thanks.
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Question, how much of an impact do you think your board makes? Do you think it is fairly responsible for the 980X's performance, or is it the chip?

    Reason being, I'm going with Gigabyte next upgrade. Prolly a UD5 like yours but maybe higher if I have the funds.
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    how high can you get your blck on your mb ?
  10. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    I've ran it to 210, but it simply wont post past 200 with this 940.

    Ram runs into the 1900's with lower timings, I just think it's power phase design is lacking.
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    For me, I think it's primarily chip, as I have unlocked multis, so I don't need a lot of bclock. But I've been told GB is one of the better clockers in general anyway. I'm happy with my board, and most other GB owners I speak to seem to say the same. I would've gone UD7 if it was in the budget.
  12. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    You still think it can account for the stable OC? I'm researching a higher power phase design not only for my elec. circuits class but for a rock solid motherboard.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Yeah, good power regulation can make a big difference. Mines been rock solid so far, and it's only the 1st gen UD5, not the newer X58A UD5.
    mlee49 says thanks.
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Thanks, I'm leaning towards the 2nd gen for USB 3 and Sata 6. :D
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yeah i heard the 940 doesnt like high blck

    make sure you can raid with the sata 6 if you want to i did but mine doesnt :mad:
    mlee49 says thanks.
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Its been a while, but I've finally got something to compete with :D

    AphexDreamer|Asus HD5870|1038/1277|18140|Phenom II 965 @ 4095mhz


    [​IMG]
  17. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    How is your CPU score sooo much higher than mine when we are running them practically at the same speed. I'm not hatin just curious, did I miss something?
  18. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    PhysX ;)
  19. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,927 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Oh Yeah !! :banghead:

    Can you submit physx scores still?
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yes
  21. Crushgate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    i love physx :p but yeah i wouldnt mind posting a non physx test too. might do that now :)
  22. Crushgate New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    not going to post the score but i got P17430

    keep in mind im still only using ddr2 ram
  23. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,086 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    What does DDR2 have to do with vantage? I wouldnt imagine the scores to be much different.

    Take away the PhysX (like you are supposed to) and those are your real scores. ;)

    I still cant believe its even allowed.
  24. SabreWulf69

    SabreWulf69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    349 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Cooloongup, Western Australia
    Got a card that can use it then so be it, if your card has features that some proggies use then why not?
  25. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,086 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Because its not accepted at the ORB or Hwbot and doesnt portray a realistic result when comparing ATI to Nvidia or games without PhysX.

    For example, someone comes on here and sees that a GTX260 216 is beating out a HD5850 in vantage b/c physx was enabled, then goes and gets a 260 216 only to be spanked around by games without PhsyX....

    Another thing to mention is that it boosts the CPU score, not GPU score.

    PhysX when enabled in games without a dedicated physx card, the FPS DROP, while in this benchmark the results are better.



    Shall I go on? :) (sorry for being so bitter about this)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page