1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8.3 Drivers are insane!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by tkpenalty, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Honestly I'm blown away by these drivers. Earlier I could run NFS PS around 25 FPS at 4x AA and 4x AF, now I can run it around 30, at 6x AA, Adaptive and Temporal, + 16x HQ AF O___O. Who's noticed this massive jump in performance with the newer drivers?

    By the way I'm talking about the X1950PRO. In my case. I'm not using the 8800 system.

    Have the HD3k and HD2k users noticed this?
     
    3991vhtes and Kursah say thanks.
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That's pretty impressive for an "older" card man! I may have to give em' a shot on my 1950xtx before my 9600GT shows up!

    I have played Pro Street in a while...I just picked up C&C3 Kane's Wrath (I had to...I loved and still enjoy C&C 3) and the Orange Box (due to G/F's popular demand...I've been meaning too, but my gaming clan hasn't decided they wanna go TF2 yet...this may change things!).

    Got any other games you noticed improvements in?

    I suppose if you wanna run benches you can, but meh...I'd rather hear more about in-game performance. Glad to see that 1950pro still treating you well! And I'm sure the 8800 is doing a kickass job!

    :toast:
     
  3. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Gonna try them out now
     
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Well, my X1950PRO runs well in crysis, just have to leave some stuff down such as texture detail, but that doesnt really do much. Shadow detail and Shader details I leave on high.

    Don't underestimate it, the X1950PRO if you can still get it is cheaper than the 8600GTS and works better than it anyway. (Why would you want to play in DX10 with such poor performance on a 8600 anyway?).

    The 8800 is awesome but i dont feel like its godlike or anything even though its meant to be one of the best cards lol....
     
  5. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Don't want to get too off topic, but, will they work in a X1650Pro?
     
  6. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    AMDTI arent nvidia so yes.
     
    3991vhtes says thanks.
  7. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Sweet.. when my rig is back up and runnin' I'll see how they work! I'll keep y'all updated!

    Edit- isn't it DAAMIT, not AMDTI?
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2008
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah I agree with ya on the 8600 front...I don't know how well they game, but I do know for those that care, they can hit 3DM scores close to my card when highly OC'd...but, for gaming, meh.

    My XTX is a great card, but I wanted a little more oomph for the newer games, and I got my 9600 for cheaper than I paid for this XTX last fall, so I'm not complaining...plus even though the XTX won't be in my rig, it won't be too far away...I'm holding onto this one for quite a while I think.

    Downloading drivers as we speak too btw...I've been running 7.9's and 7.10's forever now...I tried 8.1's and wasn't impressed at all...so I went back. But I'm gonna give these 8.3's a run and see if they treat me as well as they have you!

    :toast:
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,298
    I couldn't get crossfire to work with the 8.3's for the life of me. I wish I could, I would love to see some improvement.
     
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Consider how pricing of GPUs has went plop. The 9800GX2 is expensive but isnt as expensive as the 8800GTX or Ultra when they first came out. The 9800GX2 is now around the same price as the 8800GTS 640 when it came out lmao.

    XTX is a fine card, well the whole X1950 series was. Very popular back in those days, too bad AMD didnt follow up with a proper replacement for the X1950PRO. I suppose Nvidia has made one; the 8800GT. I've been using the X1950PRO for one whole week and I don't have any complaints about it. I was using 7.6 before because the newer driver sets were random... 7.9 had good image quality, but this sacrificed perf, 7.10 had poor image quality and decent perf. 8.3 seems to have good image quality + good perf.

    Erocker why didnt you get the 8800GT anyway?
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,298
    Well, I have a crossfire x38 board and a Spider platform (well, without the Phenom for now), so I might as well have a plethora of ATi cards. Right now I have two 3870's and two 3850's. Once I get my copy of x64 Vista I'm going to ram them all into my 790fx board and see what the heck happens. I'm quite happy with my crossfire setup though, I've played every game I have with all the goodies on with really nice results. I said "improvement" just meaning a jump in benchmark scores is all. Once I'm done fiddling with all these cards and Crossfire X and all that, I'm going out and buying me a single high-end Palit card.
     
  12. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah I gotta say the picture quality does seem better and I'm getting about 4-8FPS increase in CoD4...depends on the area in the MP maps tho...but really it's noticable as I was getting in the lower 30's in some very dense grassy areas...it's smoother now.

    I ran the Fur Mark just for shit's n' giggles...went from always getting 1883 to 2103...not that it matters.

    I'll have to try out a few other games, but pretty good stuff so far. Thanks again for the report TK, I would've just stuck with my 7.10's if you didn't post this.

    :toast:
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,298
    Ok, now I really want to get these to work with crossfire...
     
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I hope you can also...are others having the same issues?
     
  15. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    My CF was wacked up on my x38 at first until I just deleted all the drivers, installed just one card & then 8.3. After a reboot I allowed 8.3 to startup. I then shutdown the pc & installed the other card. This time after vista started up, 8.3 allowed me to enable CF. For some dumb reason 8.3 never worked when I tried to install it if I had more than one card installed on any motherboard including my MSI K9A2.
     
  16. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    *Nudges erocker*
     
  17. Duxx Guest

    All i know is that i swapped my old X700 into my current rig (step up w/ EVGA) and loaded the new drivers(8.3)... it fatally crashed so i had to go with the 8.1? good to hear they are rocking peoples socks off though :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page