1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD CCC options, Adaptive Multi-Sample AA?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Just wondering, there is no option to turn this off, it is either reg multi AA, Adaptive, or Super, so does this override any in-game AA settings or just enhance in-game AA settings?

    I enabled Adaptive and noticed Hitman Blood Money looked better, but fps did dip a lot more often, thoughts?
  2. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,889 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272

    Transparency AA, that you're speaking of is separate to standard AA - at least when setting it. It isn't over-riding anything.

    You should have the options for OFF, multi-sample(adaptive) or super-sample.
    Multi-sample should be adaptive.
    Super-sample is just super-sample (AMD or Nvidia).

    Try using ATI Tray Tools instead.
  3. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,144 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    With AMD the MSAA options are multi-sample, adaptive multi-sample and super-sample. These settings will not override aplication settings if the AA settings at the top of the page are set on "use application settings".

    BTW, AFAIK ATI Tray Tools is not actively maintained anymore and may better be not used with current-gen hardware.

    And Phusius, are you sure you saw lag when playing HM:BM? On your setup there should not be any, unless you are using an framerate counter that showed a drop from say, 100 fps to 80 fps.
    I may have a lower screen resolution, but still can play that game maxed out on a HD 6670.
    erocker says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    i dunno, I'm leaving it on adaptive just for the shits and giggles of it
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,526 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    Quoted and thanked for the best answer. :toast:
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    LMAO EROCKER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE THE HALLOWEEN IMAGE UPDATE!!!!! :nutkick: :toast:


    /ARRRRR MATEY!!!
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Multi Sample, Adaptive AA and SuperSample AA are separate settings that can work either in conenction with FSAA multipliers in CCC itself or by the game settings. The tranaprency AA is only additional feature and can enhance existing FSAA modes. It will however not do anything on its own if you don't enable regular FSAA as well.
  8. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,365 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    As mentioned, "use application settings" is always the equivalent of off where the GPU control panel settings are concerned.

    I don't get why you'd first complain of FPS drops then prefer to leave on that setting, though I'm not convinced that was the cause of it.

    Did you have AA off in game when you set CCC to Adaptive?
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,591 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    If the game doesn't support AA, which one is better supersampling or MSAA? Thanks.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,526 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    Most of the time with these games MSAA won't work. Supersampling might work but there's a big performance hit.
  11. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,591 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    Never mind, I just finished the game; I forced MSAAx4 on CCC but I still saw jaggies. It's Call of Juarez Gunslinger, one of those shooters you just can't put down, excellent game. Thanks anyway.
  12. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    377 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    claylomax says thanks.
  13. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,591 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    Thank you very much for that. I appreciate it. ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page