1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FS1b SoC Socket to be Branded "AM1"

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,260 (11.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Look ma, no chipset! The first wave of AMD socket FS1b motherboards, for the company's A-Series "Kabini" APUs were displayed at the 2014 International CES, where they pulled good-eyed visitors that spotted motherboards that have CPU sockets but lack any form of core logic. That's because "Kabini" completely integrates the chipset. It turns out that AMD has decided to brand the socket - so far referred to as FS1b - as socket AM1. The socket is in no way compatible (even pin-compatible, or similarly sized) as AM2, AM3, and AM3+, on which AMD's processors have been sold for the bulk of the last 8-odd years.

    With the chipset completely integrated into the APU silicon, the socket is left with pins for the memory, PCI-Express, display, SATA, power, and other legacy I/O interfaces. Among the first "Kabini" APUs that AMD plans to launch are the quad-core A4-5350, with 1.60 GHz clock speed, 2 MB of cache, and 25W TDP; the A4-3850, with slightly lower 1.30 GHz clocks; and E1-2650, with its dual-core 1.45 GHz CPU, 1 MB cache, and 15W TDP.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
    Chevalr1c, Frick and Aquinus say thanks.
  2. john_

    john_

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    190 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    And the next version will be... wait... AM2?
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,525 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,891
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    FAM2
    ...
    then FAM2+
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,626 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    lower tdp? looks nice just waiting the performance
  5. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,440 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,972
    Location:
    Mexico
    Well, if MS can name their console Xbox 1 why couldn't AMD too? :laugh: No, seriously, why not call it FM3? We had a good thing going over there. F sockets for APU, A sockets for CPUs.

    Didn't AMD said it was switching to LGA soon? I thought Kabini would be the first.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,436 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    A prime candidate for low profile nanoITX boards. Now get cracking!
  7. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    173 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    i'm looking forward to these boards, plus the cheap itx intel bay trail and see what kind of tiny but powerful pc one could build with them.
  8. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    259 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    AM1+ of course. :p Adding the + makes everything better! :pimp:
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,079 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    After that it will be AM1++:rockout:
  10. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    or AM1 1/2 or AM1,5....

    Maybe they can use AM1.1, AM1.2, AM1.3 for each revision, I think it could be less confusing than other namings
  11. beautyless

    beautyless

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I like it. Non-chipset motherboard.
  12. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,880 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,697
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    AM1+.5+more!

    Now it can also do your dishes! With only a 35w TDP!

    ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. cyneater

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just wondering if AMD say used there ARM license and dropped an ARM based processor into this board.. Then it would make a great nas with a low TDP
  14. zenoaghaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    really nice idea. just one step more! integrate 4GB ram in APU ;)
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,122 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,127
    Cheaper to integrate it onto the motherboard. Die space is $$$$$. Plus there is that whole backside of the board that does nothing.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. EpicShweetness

    EpicShweetness

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    307 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Ft Gordon
    Depending on the cores inside it which if it is "Kabini" then it's Jaguar cores, and my A6-5200 does tasks just fine, it can game very lightly even to. Things like Left 4 Dead on Medium amazing! Granted my A6-5200 is at 2GHZ, which would make it a little faster actually.
  17. Deadlyraver

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    This kinda makes me nervous as it feels like AMD is trying to be like Intel, where they phase out the most innovative products that are expensive in exchange for new innovative but expensive products.

    Good thing they are usually cheap then!
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    this looks like they will be selling the same mobile chips for desktop variants too.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page