1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Introduces Phenom II X4 965 BE RB-C3 Revision 125W

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD today made its RB-C3 revision of the Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition quad-core processor official. Carrying a characteristic model number of HDZ965FBK4DGM compared to HDZ965FBK4DGI the older C2 revision. Another important specification change is the TDP, now rated at 125W compared to 140W on the C2. Built on the 45 nm SOI Deneb die, the Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition runs at a clock speed of 3.40 GHz (17.0 x 200 MHz). Each core has 128 KB of L1 and 512 KB of dedicated L2 cache. The four cores share an L3 cache of 6 MB. Based on the socket AM3 package, the new CPU typically supports DDR3 and DDR2 memory on socket AM2+ motherboards. It is priced on par with its 140W twin, at US $196.

    [​IMG]

    Image Courtesy: OverclockersClub
     
  2. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    good news, cant wait for 955 revision to be out
     
  3. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Wow... 3.4ghz stock.

    I know very little about overclocking, but this thing should be able to hit 4 ghz+ without any problems right?
     
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    With this new revision, air cooling to 4GHz shouldn't be a problem at all.
     
  5. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    304 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Just curious, what's this beast default voltage?
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    I just bought a 955. I hate self ownage.
     
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,929 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Hey don't mean to bug ya but, Did you see yhe 6 core integrated GFX cpu's they got lined up as well? Maybe you no where to get more info on that PLEASE:respect:
    Nice news btw
    this stuff
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  8. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,046 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,598
    Why does my rig seem so outdated all of a sudden?
     
  10. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Same with TechReaction, CHew got his hands on one, and he did a Major benchin on this unit.

    Review is here
     
  11. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    omg omg omg.....MINE!
     
  12. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,929 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Yeah I know exactly what you are saying....:twitch:
    Did you hear about 80 core Intel cpu's and Intels new Double the bandwidth PCM memory both Due out in the Next 3 years
     
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,193 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Please don't hate yourself, you can buy the C3 965 and throw that 955 to me :p

    Lol, except bragging rights any advantage with these CPUs in gaming?
     
  14. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,211 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,749
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Uh oh my friend is about to buy the C2 version for $185. I better call him up and tell him to wait. ;) I want to see the 955 revisioned.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    over 6 k on ln not bad amd!

    i wait.. something under 100w...
     
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    New 955 is 95w :D
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
  18. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    So according to that roadmap, the Thuban processor will not have a DDR2 memory controller built in? Interesting... Same with the newer Athlon II series.

    And from what I've heard, AM3r2 is kinda like an AM3+, and that they should be backwards compatible to AM3. Although, they definitely won't work in AM2+/AM2 boards. Also, I wonder if AM3 chips will work in AM3r2 boards? I used an Athlon x2 4000+ for a while in my AM2+ 790FX/sb600 board and it worked great!
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'm still unimpressed. It's only marginally better. Better is good, but this isn't worth buying if you already have a 955 or 965. A new stepping certainly isn't news worthy.
     
  20. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I long ago stopped caring about charts like that -- they're never right. :laugh:

    If you don't want it anymore, I'll take it. In particular, have those 4850's bathed and brought to me.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,626 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    why? there was fan fare over the D0s.
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I didn't buy into it either. I certainly wouldn't have looked to buy a D0 if I already had a C1 like so many did. It was just an incremental upgrade as well.

    The only exception in either case might be if you got a really crappy clocker.
     
  23. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I didn't buy the D0....

    Mine is one of earliest batch.
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,626 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Well, Im in a Rut now, thinking of the BE 955 or this Revison as a major upgrade over my current setup, That or wait for the Athlon X4s to have 1MB L2 per Core.
     
  25. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    I would not mind getting one of those too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page