1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom II X6 'Thuban' and Phenom II X4 'Zosma' Tabled on Roadmaps

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,546 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    A list of new Phenom II series processors were tabled in a company road map. The road map confirms AMD's naming scheme for the Phenom II X6 brand, and also sheds light on a new line of quad-core processors. In the second quarter of this year, AMD will introduce Phenom II X6 six-core models 1075T, 1055T, and 1035T. While the 1075T has a TDP of 125W, the 1055T comes in 125W and 95W variants (likely one following the other), and 1035T is the slowest model with 95W TDP. All Phenom II X6 models are based on the Thuban core (a desktop, socket AM3 implementation of the Istanbul die). Each of the six cores has 128 KB of L1, 512 KB L2 caches, and a 6 MB L3 cache is shared between all cores. The HyperTransport 3.0 interconnect operates at 4.8 GT/s.

    The new line of quad-core processors here, is the Phenom II X4 900T series. The first member in this series is the Phenom II X4 960T. These processors are created using Thuban dies by disabling two cores. It helps AMD salvage its foundry produce with minor defects, and also target lower price points. The resulting die is codenamed "Zosma". Zosma in X4 960T has a TDP of 95W. Probably it has a lower clock speed than the "Deneb" Phenom II X4 965, but is placed in the same league, in terms of performance. One of its biggest "unintentional" unique selling points is that since it's based on a die that has six physical cores, some customers could get lucky by unlocking them to a six-core processor, at a much lower price-point. Even as several motherboard manufacturers have innovated ways to unlock disabled cores, and are advertising their unlocking features, it is not guaranteed that a Zosma would unlock into Thuban, just as Callisto/Heka to Deneb unlocking doesn't always work out. Going by AMD's road map, these processors will be released some time in May.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ATIForum.de
     
    WarEagleAU, Kei, El_Mayo and 2 others say thanks.
  2. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    yay!
     
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,133 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    mmmmm, unlock :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,162 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Woo Hoo 6 cores, hmm what should I do with 6 cores?

    6MB L3 cache between 6 cores is kind of low, they should have made it 12MB which should have increased the overall performance.
     
  5. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Yummy stuff. Cant wait. :p
     
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Just out of curiosity, will these have DDR2 & DDR3 memory controllers, or just DDR3?
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,546 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    DDR2 and DDR3, but motherboard vendors won't be that generous with giving away supportive BIOS updates for AM2+ motherboards.
     
    zithe, pjladyfox, Esse and 1 other person say thanks.
  8. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I don't know why, but I HAVE to have this X6.:twitch:

    but I also want a 5870, and a 350$ custom water cooling setup... arg
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  9. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    i know why, because the sky is blue. yeah ok that's good lets work with that skys blue and that's why i need it.... it sounds realistic enough for me. yep that's why .... yep.

    :)


    yep.
     
  10. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    I have so many DVD's to encode - 6 core me now!
     
  11. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    Wonder what the pricing will look like on these 6core chips ....
     
  12. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    $299.99 is the MSRP for the X6 1035
     
  13. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    So it should be around $275, not bad.
     
  14. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    are you sure that price is?
     
  15. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    AMD has competition, and realize it. Selling something that performs about the same as a i7 920 at a much higher price = FAIL.

    Remember, 1035 is the lowest end X6.
     
  16. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    so, an MSRP of $300 -- anyone want to guess at how much the black edition chips with unlocked multi's will be?
     
  17. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yes this will fill that (vacant for a long time at AMD (consumer)) 200 - 500 USD area im sure this wont be a 1000USD chip. i don't know why that's going around?!?!?!

    They are Phenoms II X6's they are all black. This isn't an Athlon X6. (I don't think an X6 Athlon has been announced at all.)
     
  18. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,162 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Where did u get that info?
     
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Nope, who told you that the Phenom II X6 are all black?
    The Phenom II X4 aren't all black, I don't see how the X6 will be.

    If they are selling their lowest end Hexa-core for $300, that just makes the I7 920/930 that much more tastier. :shadedshu
    I guess I can just hope for an ACCident with the 960T then. :p
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  20. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Since i'm more of a gamer, i'll stick with the X4 for a while longer.

    On the other hand, that 955 with the 95W TPD does sound better for me.
     
  21. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    Personally I'd be willing to pay maybe 350-400 for an unlocked x6. And that's about the MAX i'd spend on any processor...
     
  22. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Actually that 960T with the AMD "Turbo Boost" like thing sounds quite a win for us gamers. :toast:

    Yes, I am willing to pay a good bit for the unlocked ones,
    but the normal ones I just don't see they really worth that much.
    I am quite certain that AMD will not price their 1035T @$300. ;)
     
  23. xaira

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    209 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    these will not have ddr2 controllers, im tired of correcting this on forums, it will only be compatible with ddr3, ddr3 alone

    athlon ii x6 maybe :)
     
  24. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Too expensive and won't do a whole lot better with it's latency. More L2 makes sense (nowhere to put it), but the L3 is kinda lame.
     
  25. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,138 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Where did you hear this from or do you have your sources?

    Having both a 790FX and my X58 setup, I'd much rather have 6 real cores over the 4 assisted ones that I have on my 920. BFBC2 already uses 4 cores on my lightly overclocked 920 at 3.33Ghz without HT enabled. With it enabled, it drops from ~80% to ~30% but there is still some stutter to games every once in a while.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page