1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD tapes out its Bulldozer CPU architecture

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mdsx1950, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I found an interesting article. Thought i'd share it :)

    :rockout:
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Samples shipping soon. Nice! I'm trying to be optimistic about performance, hopefully we'll get to see some leaks soon.
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,071 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Awesome find bro, very interesting:)
     
    mdsx1950 says thanks.
  4. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    This is looking promising, as long as it leap frogs the current i7 in performance they have a good chance of a good future. Bring on bulldozer.....
     
  5. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Looking forward to leaked specs!
     
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    what to do to get a sample?
     
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    pft 16 cores...... Bring on the 48 cores @ 5.00GHZ :D
    srsly its not far away now, 3-5 years imo.




    really want to see some benchmarks at the same clocks as an i7. wonder if its going to surpass clock for clock.
     
  8. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Bring on the A64 day's were AMD was more expensive :rockout:, wait is that really good?
     
  9. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,553 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    I seriously hope that this series of CPUs perform on par with Intels. I'm fed up of seeing AMD as the "weaker" yet cheaper option.
     
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    I can not remember the P4 costing more than the Athlon 64. Maybe it was a region thing but over here Intel prices it self higher regardless.
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,961 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,803
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I think it is because that was AMD's priority in designing it. If AMD pumped all the money into R&D and it still falls way short of Intel's offerings, investors would be pissed.


    There's no way to be certain though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    48 cores yes. 5GHz, probably not. As clock rate goes up, the heat generated and power consumed by a CPU per unit of performance become prohibitively high—Intel calls it the ”fundamental theorem of multicore processors.” This is a good intro to why the future of computing is massively parallel.
     
    drdaver, coljarcker and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  13. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Hoping for memory width higher than 128bit...
    And it will surely be interesting to see what new tricks AMD has stuffed in Bulldozer for it's been too much of evolutionary additions and not much of the revolution type since Hammer came back in 2003.
     
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    On Wikipedia, it says that the Bulldozer will support quad channel memory. Do you think this might speed up memory bandwidth enough?
     
  15. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    QC would mean it's 256bit, double what AM3 has atm. I doubt we'll see that. Buuut I'd like to be wrong on that one. 256bits requires four populated DIMMs - do I hear memory manufacturers screaming "Quad channel kits!!one1"?
    ¦P
     
  16. Timonthy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Bulldozer should use quad-channel memory (256-bit) AFAIK.

    The G34 Opterons are already Quad-channel and has been promised Bulldozer, I doubt AMD will take a step backwards. Its probably gonna be like the i7 and scales back to dual channel with only 2DIMMs inserted.
     
  17. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    were there tripple channel kits when skt 775 was dom?
    why would they market quad channel kits to a market that dosnt exist?



    im fairly certain intel has said they are also going to be using quad channel, with there new R Socket (2011)
     
  18. twilyth Guest

    As dies continue to shrink, they've got other problems besides heat and power. I remember reading something recently where one scientist said that the speed of light was just too damn slow. Amazing.
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i can't wait for the reviews. With all the hype that has been put on these i hope they don't turn out to be another Phenom :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. GENTLEMEN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    198 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines
    All I'm hoping for is backwards compatability to AM3 and performance on par (if not greater) than the current i7 while still keeping it's pricing methods (maybe a bit higher).

    Hmm, I smell 48 core Black Editions...
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  21. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I get the feeling that these procs might dominate the market next year. :)
     
  22. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    ^ We hope so that's for sure, and for AMD's sake
     
  23. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    If Bulldozer were pin compatible with AM3, which I hope it is not, it would mean it would have only dual channel memory as AM3 doesn't have enough pins for >128bit memory.
    I'd like to see desktop BD using LGA1207'ish socket.
     
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    and if we pay attention to how amd has done things lately 9/10 the BullDozer chips on AM3 will be like the AM2+ Phenom IIs where the IMC was disabled (thats an EXAMPLE ) its no that far a fetch just because only dual channel could be used dosent mean it wouldnt still be a huge upgrade for ppl with AM3. I hope it uses AM3 because i dont need quadchannel memory. Altho i do 3d rendering etc on my off time ive found that even with huge amounts of data the number of channels dont help as much as more ram. And to be honest id only want the upgrade if bulldozer offered better gaming performance and im pretty sure dual channel DDR3 isnt the bottleneck in that senario.
     
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,887 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Link? :)

    Another problem is that after a couple of shrinks they're running out of atoms to work with. Then they need new materials.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page