1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Unlocked FX Processors Announced

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,991
    Yes. Power consumption is dreadful. The one thing it has going for it is overclockability.. But you're going to need some great cooling and a big PSU.

    It's slower than Thuban. I'm sorry but when a chip is released to replace a current lineup, it should be better in every way. This is a sidegrade at best and the fail cherry on top of the fail sundae known as Bulldozer. The reviews don't lie. I don't lie. People who think this chip is something good are in denial. Go buy a good CPU and forget about it.

    Right here: http://www.overclock.net/amd-motherboards/946407-amd-motherboard-vrm-information-list.html
    jmcslob says thanks.
  2. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,899 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Thank you in more ways than I can say E.
  3. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I want to disagree. I really do. However, I can't help but think if they had tweaked thuban some more, the results would have been increased IPC (compared to Thuban), AND 8 cores. AND less transistors (compared to BD), meaning better yields AND lower manufacturing costs than BD. And most likely higher clock speeds (than current Thubans) given the process shrink.

    AMD what have you done? Please have PileDriver show up with 20% higher IPC, or 33% better performance, or I'm losing faith in you.
  4. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Thuban is OLD and it would have been a bad idea in releasing yet another upgrade from it. That said, obviously upper Management in AMD really screwed something up with Bulldozer, it's as though they had the Server/Workstation design team design the bloody CPU.
    Could this be why they fired Dirk Meyer? Is he responsible for not creating a Desktop Version + a Server/Workstation Version?

    Anyhow, hopefully with the B3 stepping along with its tweaks, performance will increase and power will go down so the industry can appreciate AMD's innovation.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,991
    Fixed it. AMD really shouldn't of bothered.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  6. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    How about release Bulldozer CPUs for low to mid range and PII's in the high end just until they iron out the Dozer's issues :D
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,070
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have seen some reports of bulldozer chips working in white socketed boards. Anybody have results of their own?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Agreed. Is there anything to suggest that this is even a great workstation chip? It often struggles to outpace an Intel 4C/8T chip even in highly threaded workloads.
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,090 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So I just bought an FX 6100 for $108 to replace my Phenom 965.

    Good or Bad?

    Just tell me like it is, I'm ready for it.
  10. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Not sure? Seriously though, the worst it could be is about equal.
  11. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    303 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I was going to upgrade my 965BE to a FX but they seem to be about equal.
  12. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Yeah, that's what AMD offered us faithful AMD users with the FX series: no upgrade path on the AMD platform. :shadedshu
  13. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Look at the bright side, we got better boards out of the deal.
  14. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Yeah I got a better board, but it still can't run SLI correctly, so I am now forced to go Intel, which is what I wanted to avoid, pretty much at all costs. Bunch of crooks and slave drivers. But I have SLI GTX 570s for 3D... I want my SLI.
  15. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Depends on what you're going to do with it.
    If you're doing a lot gaming, you're better off with the 965.
    If you're just in it for the overclocking, you'll probably enjoy the 6100.
    Performance should be aprox. equal, overall, 1 to 4 threads if you slightly overclock the 6100. But the 6100 will require an overclock to 4.3+ to equal the 965 @4.0 Ghz single threaded. And if you do that, power consumption will drastically increase.
    It's kind of a side-grade, but you get the better memory controller. If the $108 isn't a big issue, go for it, otherwise, it's a waste of money for you.
  16. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I know how you feel about that. It does suck to leave AMD behind, but if they aren't going to make an attempt, I can't continue to support them. Rumors are saying that PD has less of a gain over BD than IB has over SB and that's just going to put them farther behind. It's bullshit, but nobody can reasonably be expected to wait for them to get their shit together forever.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page