1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus D2x Install Problem

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Cold Storm, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I've thrown this at Evga, now going to throw it here.

    I bought a Asus Xonar D2x Pci-e sound card. Once I got it, I installed it in my 790i board. Plugged in the FDD power cable and then went to windows.

    Well when I try to install the drivers I get this error

    [​IMG]

    From googling the problem I have found that there is a "hex" fix from Microsoft. Tried it, tried all 3 fixes and it's a no go

    Then from more searching I found that there has a fix with it via updating the bios. Seeing that they have a big problem with Evga boards... So, I went and got all the bios.. P08 to update from my p07. No work. I then worked with the three hex fix's from Microsoft and no work.. I then downgraded to P06 and no luck with that or even the hex fix..

    So, now I'm very puzzled.. My old Xplosion card works fine. I tried that out a bit ago. But I have since deleted it all, and clean reg.

    Anything I'm doing wrong?


    Hex fix link
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/942959/en-us

    Fix from OCN
    http://www.overclock.net/sound-cards-computer-audio/466578-asus-pci-e-sound-cards-nvidia.html


    thanks in advance for any help you can give..
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Maybe a silly question, but it's shown in Device Manager yes?

    Where did you download the drivers from?

    Are you 100% sure it's an D2X and not a normal D2?
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Device Manager

    [​IMG]


    ss for showing that I ordered a d2x

    [​IMG]


    Now, I have tried the latest drivers from Asus themselves and the drivers that have came with the bundle of cds.
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Alright, try this then mate, in device manager pull up the properties for the sound card, go to the Details tab, and in the drop down box choose Hardware IDs. Tell me what's there :)
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Sure thing.

    Here you go :toast:


    [​IMG]
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well, that would explain it, the PCI ID for your card is NOT in the D2X driver files :\
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    All right. what do I need to do to fix that? I've even reinstalled windows vista, then went to sp1-sp2... Nothing else.
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'm just making a few edits to the driver files, I'll upload a copy for you to test out.

    EDIT:

    Here ya go mate

    http://www.zshare.net/download/6323753274a021c8/
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2009
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth

    Thanks my man. You know, as I, it didn't work.... I threw in my Xplosion.. Working like a Champ.. Now, it's off to be sold since it's a card that doesn't like any Nvidia Chips.. Unless you can find the sweet spot..
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Did you try to install it with device manager?

    Can you unzip the EXE install with winrar? Then use the INI file with have disc?...?
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I tried installing it with Device manager and it keeps saying that they didn't find a driver in the fold. I then threw it on the desktop to just have the one folder only, and still no luck.

    It was a no go on the ini file also. just wouldn't pick up.. The card lights up like it's in there. but just the board, card, & windows doesn't want to talk to each other on the install
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    if you open up the ini file with notepad is it listed?
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    [​IMG]

    that's what my INI file says.. I'll check Darknova's in a min also.

    God I need to change this background!
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I have had both the D1 and DX and have had no probs....I used XP Pro and Win 7 64bit.

    On my Qpack mod I had a ton of (sound card and game) problems the last few days but it turned out to be Nvidias drivers (190.38) so I removed them and went back to an earlier one.
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I do have the 190.38 drivers set in this..
  16. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth


    All right. I did it.. I uninstalled the 190 drives and put in the 186 drivers... Uninstalled the sound drivers and cleaned reg.

    Installed the Xonar, and loaded.. Still no luck.. same error..

    lol..
  17. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    sorry CS..
    (have you tried the card on a different comp?)
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    all good my man.. well I don't have another computer to try it in. Bro, burned up his DFI so I got nothign to test in..

    I sent Performace PC's a request for RMA..
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    come by here and we can try it in mine.....(road trip)
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    If tomorrow I was off.. lol...

    All good. I'll just send it back.. get it with the 15% restocking and walk away.. I've spent all i want to on this card... Good thing I was a supervisor this weekend... The lack of sleep didn't hurt that job! lol

    to bad you sent your card back... lol
  21. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    the 1 thing I dont like about the PCI X cards (besides the extra power cable) is the PCI X1 plug is so short and the card is so long I worry about it making correct contact.

    I didnt send it back yet, its still here in the box. I have been chatting on TPU and am too lazy to go out into the heat to the post office.
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    yeah, Darknova and I was talking and it's a huge waste for anyone.. extra power, then you gotta worry about it hooking with the PCI-e bus. Like this is probably is doing..

    I'm downloading win 7... should I even try? All I've done so far with this Vista is install the Service packs...
  23. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I like Win 7 (especially since it was free (till june I think) Kind of bummed it dosent work with netflix though...
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  24. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,595 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That sucks man! I was hoping to hear some really good stuff about this card. I just recently purchased an Auzen X-Fi Forte PCI-e card and absolutely love it, had 0 issues from day one. I installed it in one of my PCI-e x16 slots to keep more distance from the vid card..no extra power connections. But I was looking at this D2X for a long time as I wanted something really good...I ended up sticking with X-Fi tho.

    Win7 may be worth a shot...but I can't believe it won't work with Vista...that sucks man. I hope it's something minor that is being overlooked, but it seems you have covered most of those kind of issues. Hope you get it sorted or a short and sweet rma. If it doesn't pan out, look at Auzen man..I'm extremely impressed with mine thus far!

    :toast:
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth


    I was in a toss up.. I was going to go with teh Forte but then I saw the echo canceling and just was sold.. Even if I didn't look into problems, Like I did when I was looking at the Forte... I should of got the Forte.. I'm kickin' my A$$ now! From reviews it's even stated the Forte was better.. Grrrrr

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page