1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 10.2 WHQL Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,417 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD released the ATI Catalyst version 10.2 driver suite, as promised in a press release earlier today. Catalyst 10.2 is one of two important releases by AMD that add to its products' overall feature-set, among the usual baggage of application-specific and generic fixes. Feature additions are as follows:
    • ATI Catalyst application profiles for ATI CrossFireX supported configurations
    • ATI Catalyst support for PowerPlay on ATI CrossFireX technology supported configurations
    • Support for DisplayPort audio
    • Support for ATI CrossFireX on Eyefinity configurations
    In addition, there are application-specific performance improvements:

    • DiRT 2 – Overall performance improves up to 8% on ATI Radeon HD 5970, ATI Radeon HD 5800 series, and ATI Radeon HD 5700 series products
    • Battleforge – CrossFire ATI Radeon HD 5870 performance improves up to 6%
    • Unigine Heaven – DirectX 9 CrossFire performance has improved significantly on ATI Radeon HD 5700 and ATI Radeon HD 5800 series products
    • The Chronicles of Riddick – Assault on Dark Athena – Overall performance on ATI Radeon HD 5970 improves up to 4%
    The driver also patched a number of smaller OS-specific issues.

    DOWNLOAD: ATI Catalyst 10.2 for Windows 7/Vista 64-bit, Windows 7/Vista 32-bit, Windows XP 32-bit, Windows XP 64-bit

    For more information, please refer to the Release Notes document.
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
    digibucc, Binge, Lionheart and 4 others say thanks.
  2. bogie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    92 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Still no CODWAW Crossfire fixes. :cry:

    No fix for flashing in Battlefield Bad Company 2 Beta. :cry:

    Oh well.

    So where do we download the new gaming profile .exe's? Are they included in the driver?
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,776 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,235
    Anyone see if this fixed their gray stripe lockups? I'm at work now and I'm eager to try these.

    I hope they fixed the issue where my 5970 does not go to sleep (screen goes black but monitor does not go to standby).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Mine does the same thing. Hoping to fix teh issue as well.
  5. Hazar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    +1 fps in GPU test 2

    9.10 vs 10.2
    why 9.10? - latest normal forcing AF driver (yep im Dragon Age fan)

    E8500 (4333mhz)
    Radeon4870 (820/1030)
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,417 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    IIRC, AMD fixed that with 10.1 hotfix. So this should include it.
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    nt300, Mussels, blkhogan and 2 others say thanks.
  8. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    I cant access CCC now with these drivers. says currently active card is not supported. If I disable my gtx260 I can use the CCC but only when its disabled. is ati cockblocking physx now?
  9. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    So it doesn't fix the problems with Palit/XpertVision...
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    working fine here
  11. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    its working fine for me, I couldn't use 10.1 tho
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Gah, hopefully we won't have to wait for another hack/patch. Have you tried redoing the patch?
  13. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Do they have a list for what's inside the "Application Profile" ?
  14. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    physx still works and CCC still takes the changes after I re-enable the nvidia card. Just more of a hassel then anything. I havent tried the patch again. Probly gonna need an ati patch now.
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Lol from the release notes:

    :slap:
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,116 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    by far the best working CCC to date for my gpu. Thank's Tpu for putting the release up on the home page. And thank you ATI for a great but still flawed driver. I cant wait to see how the 10.3's work for my 5970 :pimp:
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    I wonder if They will have a Legacy set soon as it has been 3 months since the last set. (They work fine for me Other than Cat 7.7-7.9 at the time but users of X2K and higher Hardware may want them)
  18. CY:G

    CY:G New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    173 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ugh... i cant install this drivers, everything seems to work fine then at the very end i get a ? that says there were errors and that i should open the Report, everything has a success but the ATI Display Driver:

    ATI Display Driver
    Final Status: Fail
    Version of Item: 8.702.0.0000
    Size: 90 Mbytes


    Anyone else with this problem, i tried jumping from 9-11 to 10-2, also tried cleaning everything and then installing just the 10-2, same problem.

    Win 7 and HD 5870

    Thanks
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    System Restore everything, remove the drivers like you would normally without using any cleaning utilities, them remove the ATI folder out of the Programs. Then try to install drivers. This is what Wile E has been doing and it has worked fine for him some time now. Also delete the drivers you have just downloaded and get them again from AMD site. Disable any Overclocking programs while you are at it. If you have any more troubles see us or Make a Catalyst Feedback report and perhaps make a report about it on the AMD forums, in a professional manner.
  20. CY:G

    CY:G New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    173 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Thanks for your help but it was a no go, tried cleaning everything etc and i keep getting the same results, FAIL.

    It might be because i have Eyefinity or because i have a 4870 in my second PCI e to feed a 4th monitor, these drivers might not be prepared for that.

    10.1 seem to work fine though.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    LAME!

    pissed off about that crossfire application thing, i thought it was meant to be user customizable?
  22. pjladyfox

    pjladyfox New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    You do know I hope that all they did with the Legacy release was re-package the 9.3's with a new installer so that they would install correctly under Vista/Win7 right?
  23. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    So what you saying is for instance if I am playing Left 4 Dead 2, this ATI utility will auto enable the CrossfireX profile for that particular game?
    What’s this suppose to do, increase performance in CrossfireX setups? If so, good for ATI/AMD. Finally they are doing something right(er) :D
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    In testing stages of 7 they did, but they release driver sets every 3 months now. Only diff between AGP and PCI E sets is the way the units access Direct X, the Issue was Discovered back in 2007 with Cat 7.7s-7.9s. I had grabbed 8.1s at the time and they worked like a charm then 8.5s etc im up to 9.11s but we should see 10.2s
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    its just an update. when ATI release drivers, they're already a month or two old - meaning crossfire doesnt work on the latest games out.

    Install this, and you get next months crossfire profiles, this month.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page