1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Palit 8800GT 1gb Sonic? - *ATTN PALITGUY!*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Deathshead, May 25, 2008.

  1. Deathshead New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, Well, Murphy's law i guess. I have the worst luck.

    Put my new machine together, and notice some artifacts at post, no biggy, reset and on my way.. got Vista up and running for 3 days, everyone ok. Played some games, (crysis ran GREAT on very high btw.)

    Than it went all downhill....

    Artifacts and a crashed system in vista, reboot and the artifacts are still there in post/bios.
    restart again everything is good again.

    This happened once every few hours, then it got worse and worse, until its now to the point where I think the card is totally bad.

    Everytime the machine posts its artifacts,lines, etc you name it.

    luckily i had an old junky ati x300.,popped it in and its running fine.

    Im really dissapointed too, its been over 4 years since i built a *real* machine and it took me like 3-4 months to save up for all the parts, just to have it run for 3 days and crap out.

    I have heard some talk about possible bad batches of ram on these model cards?

    Palitguy, Do you guys crosship your RMA's like other companies do?

    Where do your rma's ship to and from?

    I have heard that I might have to ship my bad card to HONG KONG!?! and wait for a new one to arrive from HONG KONG?

    Thanks for your help.
    J.
     
  2. wolf2009 Guest

    rma goes to Indiana , not Hong Kong . Even i was afraid of that until Palit Guy cleared that .

    Try to underclock the card and see if it works .
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What are the temps at? Or does it not stay on long enough to check?
     
  4. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I would try to underclock it first as wolf said. If that doesn't work, then you may have to RMA.

    Also, does it matter how long it is on/how long you have it off? If need be, try and reseat your heatsink.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,808 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    No one should have to underclock thier card to get it to work. RMA it.
     
    DeadlyNinja and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  6. Deathshead New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was going to try and underclock the card, but it just got worse and worse, to the point where i couldnt even get into the bios,after about 10 resets i was able to boot into vista, just to have it go into a rainbow lsd trip and lock up.



    Shadow, I have the DFI DK p35 board too!. nice board.

    Wierd how the card got progressivly worse and worse within a few hours and then finally just peter out..


    I was thinking at first that it might have a heat issue, but it has always been pretty cool to the touch, but i let it completley cool down and then attemped to boot, I get the video card bios post, then after that it gets all crazy. Think the ram went bad?

    Indiana! wooow,, thank god its not Hong Kong.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Some parts live and some parts die.


    I have found this out with all PC parts.


    I just got my QX9650 back, and it died running stock,,,,granted I did OC it before that happened.



    RMAing will be over before you know it.......yea I know
     
  8. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    yeah reseat the heatsink then if it does not work RMA, palit guy! why do youo guys have to do this to people!
     
  9. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,162 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Since we've established that the RMA return center is in the States, would it not be more appropriate to stop mentioning the Palit Guy?

    There's nothing here he can assist with.

    It's obvious the card has problems beyond Deathshead repair capabilities.

    I did get a chuckle out of someone posting about a damaged video card, yet in the same breath talk about running Crysis on very high, "great!"
     
  10. Deathshead New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thats because IT DID run Crysis very well until it crapped out.

    I had to try the demo out after all the hype, ya it looks pretty but the gameplay sucks.

    Why? He is in the states and is repping Palit isnt he? the last time I tried to contact Palit about stupid Palit decals for my case Palit never got back to me, but Palitguy did. :shrugs:
     
  11. Palit_Guy

    Palit_Guy Palit Representative

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    192
    I will take care of you. Don't underclock your card, that's BS. All I can tell you is that you won the bad card lottery (trying to put the best spin on this I can) but we will of course be happy to replace the card.

    We have not had any bad lot issues or anything like that. We do the best QC we can but there are always a few bad ones that slip through.
     
    trt740 and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  12. Palit_Guy

    Palit_Guy Palit Representative

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    192
    Actually, there isn't anything that involves Palit in the US that I can't assist with even if it's just making sure someone with a bad cards gets some help.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  13. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    and I was just playing in my post, obviously
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Damn that palit guy is helpful :D
     
  15. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    just rma it, i had the exact thing happen on my palit 9600gt. sent it in to indiana, a week later i had a new 9600gt back. and it works like a charm.
     
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I agree with him, Everyonce in a while you might get a bad card, its not the manufacturers fault it just happens within the computing industry.
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I've seen the cards that come into RMA shop before, and lets just say it's not a crap load of them.
     
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'll never say anything but good stuff about Palit! I loved the card and it ran Crysis on Very high on vista! Then I blew it up! lol... Still don't know if I will be sending it to Palit or Newegg...
     
  19. Palit_Guy

    Palit_Guy Palit Representative

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    192
    What did you do to it? And don't bullshit me, tell me what really happened.
     
  20. wolf2009 Guest

    HAHA , LOL . :laugh:
    now comes the real thing. u cant fool him coz he knows everybody overclocks the hell out of their card just for the fun of it . i think running the crysis on very high gave that guy away. :laugh:
     
  21. Palit_Guy

    Palit_Guy Palit Representative

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    192
    My point is, if all he did was turn up the settings but did NOT change the voltage, I want to RMA the card.
     
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'm not going to bull shit ya. I blew the card up! and took the Striker II board with me!... So, I was looking at getting one at Compusa, didn't get it because of the damn shipping and tax.... so I forgot newegg had the Palit GX2 and bought a EVGA one...
    I got a Newegg RMA, but I'm still thinking on if I should get it RMA from You guys, or Get my money back threw Newegg
     
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Did you put a grenade in your computer? Ive never in my life seen a computer part spontaneously combust.
     
  24. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I agree with Shadow. What exactly did you do it? And please don't say you just "blew it up"
     
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The screen went black, computer turned off, real hard STOP, and my jaw dropped! lol... I pushed the card to death with VDO tool! lol.. It still was 55c at load! lol.. three weeks later, got a card, and found out my NB to my Striker II board went with it... So Palit card is sitting to be rma'ed somewhere... and Asus is being D1cks about the Aboard...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page