1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,270 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yeah I have. It goes straight to battlelog.

    erocker says thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Indeed! Thus, making Origin not needed. :toast:
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    nope, try it out?

    *damn bunk ass battlelog*

    Hope they change their minds in the retail!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well I made my choice (Despite my worries) and pre-ordered BF3. But I have some questions some of you might be able to answer???

    Okay if Battlelog goes down will the person owning the game still be able to play the single player campaign if they want???

    The other question isn't really a questions it's more of a worry.....maybe EA has something about it.....So Origin already has it's issues with going down..... I do not know what in gods name made EA and the people at BF3 think that making Battlelog (another server setup) was a good idea. I mean we already have the chances for origin to go down now.... we will have the chance for Battlelog to go down too!..... I really hope they decide to get rid of it. I am not by any means holding my breath..... but it still would be very nice if they did!

    BTW I just tried the applying the link to my desktop straight from BF3.exe and it still takes u to battlelog
  5. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I can see why some people don't like Battlelog but does anyone agree it makes the process of playing multiplayer more streamlined? At least compared to BFBC2. It takes minutes to join a server in BC2 once you get through the fancy menus, the login process, server browser and so on.
    With the BF3 system you just click multiplayer, view servers, sort by ping, join server, then wait a few seconds and you are in game.

    My point is that you don't have to wait for some fancy 3d server browser etc. and it seems to be pretty damn quick doing things like loading the map and so on. Less overhead. And when you get in game it seems faster then before if anything. Just my $0.02 anyway.
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I will agree that it feels faster and feels more stream lined but I will also say besides the obvious issues..... it also makes me feel like I am playing a flash game instead of a real video game. (Minus the nicer graphics of course)
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Millennium has a point. it is alot faster then joining a BC2 server. I wouldnt wind battlelog if you can press shift+F1 and goto origin/battlelog while in game and change servers.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,570 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Apparently, it re-downloads the entire game (3.9GBish?). The Alpha required you to do this, but you don't have to with the Beta as it doesn't change anything.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,570 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    you dont update anything i dont think. its just a guy clearing this up again
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    So it found updates today?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,852 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    I found a tick on my neck. Does that count?
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I guess :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    My Brother-in-law got an elk with his saddle gun, which should count. The old .30-.30 is a joke of a cartridge, so he's pretty stoked.
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,852 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    No its not. Shot placement son!
    Scrizz and MT Alex say thanks.
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    No, it by no means makes the "process of playing MP more streamlined". It take far to long to join a server with battlelog then it does with BC2. And the process to do so including the number of programs needed to join a MP game in BC2 is far less.

    Also, what fancy 3d server browser are you referring to? If the feature is needed regardless of where it implemented then I wouldn't refer to a server browser as "fancy". To be fair and honest, BC2 loads faster for me then BF3 Beta.
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  18. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I added it as a non-steam game into my library, so I can use the steam overlay in BF3 beta. AND my steam status says "Playing Battlefield 3"... :cool:
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    I noticed that yesterday.. I think you're on my friends list. :)
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    That's because PB is disabled. Wait until it's enabled :p
  21. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Out here where the pavement ends and the West begins, it sure is. You get one when you're a little kid after the .22 gets boring, to warm you up for real cartridges. You carry them in your saddle (I don't, I have a .444) because they are like a shovel - super handy to have, but for real work you use better machinery. :laugh:

    Anyhow, been having better rounds again, today. The only real frustrations were fellas packing the UMP-45. I unlocked the M416 but haven't had a chance to use it much.
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Won't happen, and I hope they don't. Because it will take a lot of time, what they would need is an entire Battlelog inside the game. Not just a join server, because if you wanted to find friends that were playing in your platoon you would need to use Battlelog anyways. So they would need to add that part to the game as well. And if they did then Battlelog just becomes another stat tracking site as no one would ever use it. I wouldnt hold my breath on an ingame list, it just won't happen, if it does Battlelog will die, people think it will get use without server lists and friends list, I don't think it will.

    Origin running isn't a huge deal. Eitherway, I don't think I have actually opened Origins window to start my game for the last week. I just click my link on my browser bar to bring me to Battlelog, then I start playing.
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
    digibucc says thanks.
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,852 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    30-30 is the repeater that won the west. Sure their are better/stronger rounds. I agree. But with a good well placed shot its enough for most common game......Truth of the matter is you have to be a better shot with a 30-30 then you do say a 30.06 ;) Its all shot placement. Your brother proved it.

    With that being said I carry a 30.06 pump. AKA Gamemaster.

    [​IMG]
  24. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Springfield M1903A4 for me.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,852 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    I like bolt for competition but when I'm running down a white tail the bolt takes me off target. Everglades hunting means no tree stand. You gotta hit a small FAST deer.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page