1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 4 MSR Largely Identical to Battlefield 3, RSR Interesting

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,260 (11.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,586
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Battlefield 4 minimum system requirements (MSR) lists released to the web show them to be largely identical to those of Battlefield 3, with a few changes in the GPU requirements. The RSR (recommended system requirements) list is interesting. There's no support for Windows XP, much like Battlefield 3, but contrary to rumors, Battlefield 4 doesn't mandate 64-bit platforms. It includes 32-bit executables, even if it can take advantage of over 4 GB of system- and over 3 GB of video-memory. Battlefield 4 needs at least a Windows Vista 32-bit installation, with Service Pack 2 and KB971512 update. An AMD Athlon X2 processor clocked at 2.80 GHz or Core 2 Duo 2.40 GHz processor, 4 GB of RAM (which 32-bit platforms don't fully make available anyway), and 2009-class DirectX 10 graphics cards, are part of the MSR.

    Moving on to the recommended system requirements list, EA-DICE recommends 64-bit Windows 8, making us wonder why not Windows 7 64-bit, and if it has something to do with the fact that Windows 8 supports DirectX 11.1, which Windows 7 doesn't. Any six-core AMD CPU, and any Intel quad-core CPU will do. 8 GB of RAM is recommended. The developer recommends at least Radeon HD 7870 or GeForce GTX 660 graphics cards with at least 3 GB of video memory, which strangely disqualifies the Radeon HD 7870 from the RSR list, as there's no known HD 7870 variant with ≥3 GB of video memory. Hard drive space is consistent between the two lists, at 30 GB. It was 25 GB for Battlefield 3. In all, we expect Battlefield 4 to be another eye-feast, which rewards faster hardware, and perhaps even upgrading to Windows 8.

    [​IMG]

    Source: The Examiner
    n0tiert, MxPhenom 216 and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. esrever

    esrever

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    59 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    funny how neither of the recommended graphics cards have the recommended amount of vram...
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,716 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013
  4. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,075 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    543
    8 GB of DDR3 RAM recommended Uhmmm this means more people will swtich to 16 GB of system RAM soon...
    cadaveca says thanks.
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,716 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    If only memory prices weren't through the roof.
  6. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,188 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Not a chance.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Go figure. The power of gaming recognized. :p




    :banghead:
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,716 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    But I do want to get another kit of my Dominator Platinums, for 16GB of sexiness and win!
  9. Dimi

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Its a really fast OS, i was very sceptic about it at first but once you get used to it, its very very fast. Boot times are definatly under 10 seconds, hit the desktop tile and boom, done.
  10. flemeister New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    23 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    I already loaded up on 16GB late last year, for $80AUD. :rockout:
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,479 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,014
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I believe 8GB will do just fine. This is more than likely a ploy to make gamers think they will need 16GB of ram
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,148 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Who sales a 30gb harddrive? Battlefield 3 uses a little over 19gb of space so I'll go ahead and go out on a limb here and say 4 will need 19+gb... So, 11gb for the OS?.. hehehe I know they are just trying to show the least amount, but why not on a recommended scale tell users they will want at least a SATAIII 120gb SSD to load that space hog between rounds? I mean really they are telling you the exact graphic cards and OS to use for the best results... Why not help new PC users understand why they would want an SSD for this game. I guess the same thing can be said about there recommended ram as well. Tell the users they would want DDR3 1600 and above kits.. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,156 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    630
    I take it you do not have any of the DL content? With all the expansion packs BF3 is well over 19GB.
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,075 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    ummmmm no. 30 GB of free space on your hard drive, not an actual 30 GB hard drive. Games have never recommended hard drives, just give you an estimate of how much free space you are going to need to install the game.
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,479 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,014
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea the DLC's around around 3GB a piece
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Western New York
    I believe the devs were referring to 11.2 when they recommended Windows 8, weren't they? I could absolutely be mistaken in that regard, but I didn't think 11.1 added anything really beneficial, while 11.2 adds some interesting advantages that game developers can take advantage of.

    Either way, I'm quite glad I got a 780 and 32GB of RAM when I did my new build. Figured there was no reason not to.
  17. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    260 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I get the same with an SSD on Windows 7.


    I scored 32GB of 1866 RAM boxing day last year for 109.99 :D


    34.2GB to be exact. :( Takes a huge dent out of my 120GB HDD.
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,148 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Err.. EarthDog read buddy.. This is for the game not all the DL to come and that is what I was referring too.. :toast:

    ummmm yes.. It says Harddrive.. Not Free harddrive space.. If they are recommending free harddrive space then say it.. I'm not saying I disagree with what you are saying, but for someone that needs these spec it would help to word it better and recommend better items. I would hope that nobody that is an active member here at TPU would need these specs. hehehe

    You guys are missing the point I'm trying to make fellas.. I would like them to recommend an SSD drive over a mechanical drive. Not just leave it at a number.. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,354 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,367
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The 64-bit game revolution begins! :D
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,156 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Errrrrr, I did read. Just saying that the 'entire' games uses A LOT more. :toast:
  21. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,911 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Title could also read "Battlefield 4 Gameplay Largely Identical to Battlefield 3, Interesting" just like all the other things EA has touched.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Western New York
    The SSD would only help with load times (and sometimes, not even at all depending on the game architecture) not anything to do with performance. Anyone would interpret that as meaning 30GB of free space. Just because it's under the category of "HDD" does not mean they're recommending a 30GB HDD.:wtf:
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,148 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Errrrrr, What you wanted to read. :p Still not the point I was trying to make buddy. :toast:

    That's funny.. lol Even better with your name.. So now a SSD isn't any faster in performance.. You guys kill me how you jump to their defense.. hehehe

    EDIT: Why would anyone need to "interpret" anything on a pc? So, they are character limited now? hehehe
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,796 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,331
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am already at 16gb of mem and I have 3x 1tb drives in my main rig. With 2x 7850's crossfired I should be golden. I may bump up to 32gb of mem just because.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,716 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Jesus dude really?

    When has a game every recommended just a hard drive itself. They are talking about free space on a drive to store the game. Regardless of SSD or platter drive. You will need about 30GB of space to install the game.

    No shit, its still Battlefield.
    Solidstate89 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page