1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Borderlands 2

Discussion in 'Games' started by 1Kurgan1, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    Great, will try this!
    already renamed PhysXDevice.dll in Binaries which gave me the option in-game for physx, but it was still using CPU and dragged the framerate down a few times. Will rename it back and try your way.

    EDIT: SO MUCH NICER!
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  2. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Location:
    NC
    Total: $ 43.20
     
  3. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,948 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,006
    How is the FOV? The last game had it so messed up it made me dizzy.
     
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Is that because your a blonde? ;)


    J/k I had to throw that in there...



    damn RM keeps txt me telling me how much he loves it while I'm stuck at work in the boss chair... :(
     
  5. ufgy20

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    213 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Fov is pretty good its pre-set to 90 i believe. it goes up in increments of 2 at a time but overall i can play this game a lot easier then BL1 and not have any narrow vision headaches.
     
    natr0n says thanks.
  6. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,473 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    still works :toast:
     
  7. ufgy20

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    213 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    The only problem i am having with Kurgans fix for Physx is since im using a Sapphire 6950 single card when i activate this it pushes up my cpu to make it work. it was working well on medium giving me a slightly better experience seeing the cool physx of some things. but getting to areas with some fire and barrel explosions and mobs really start to take its toll on my little 1100t cpu. Kurgan says running CPU Physx if you dont have Nvidia setup the difference between medium and high are not that different. just one thing he noticed is blood from enemies is a little more blotchy on medium then high. but overall equal goodness. so far im enjoying this game. if only i could run Physx better on my computer so i could get optimum enjoyment of this mayhem.
     
  8. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,948 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,006
    dark brown ;)
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  9. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  10. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Sigh. Is steam down for anyone else? Was hoping to get some BL2 in tonight! Grr bark bark grrr
    edit nevermind. time to blow up some whatever they are called!
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,914 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
  12. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Oh Man! Handsome Jack is the boss from Office Space..

    "Yeah...if you could go ahead and kill youself...that'd be great." lol
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    Will this work without a PhysX card? As in, throw PhysX at the CPU, performance not withstanding...

    I set it to Medium and it worked very well... Then after about 15 minutes in my computer restarted itself. :/
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  14. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    It will, Ufgy was trying it earlier. I even tried it without the 9800, the 2600k clocked up seemed to do fine on Medium. Ufgy's AMD x6 though once shit got thick couldn't handle medium. Though on medium sometimes with the 2600 I was down to 20 - 25 fps, it felt a bit sluggish, but wasn't choppy.

    And the difference between High and Medium seems to be less blood effects. And to be honest, the texture they use for the blood is so freaking low of a resolution, I honestly say Medium is a better looking setting.
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    So what you are saying is I will be fucking set with a pair of GTX470's :)
     
  16. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    reading about everyone playing BL2 is making me sad :(

    12 hours and 17 min remaining until we can play in Australia
     
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm sad, a bit more testing seems the 9800gt isn't fit for High Physx. Though I'm not too sad since the blood textures are horrible. Though Medium it zips along and I liked that there was less blood, so overall not bad. Guess when taxes land sell the 9800gt and buy something bigger and badder. Though will have to either WC it or get single slot, 3 cards in a mid tower is a tight fit, looks like the 9800 right now is trying to eat a PSU.

    For sure.
     
  18. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    anyone having full screen issues ?

    i can play fine, its just running "wide screen" res is 1680*1050


    edit. had to change some further settings
     
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    The only "problem" I had was that the default FOV was a bit low for widescreen.
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    Has anyone else (without a Nvidia card) tried PhysX on medium? It was really working fine for me until it restarted my computer.
     
  21. ufgy20

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    213 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    maybe Kurgan hast said it already but im Using my 1100t get me by CPU right now and using medium settings the game runs pretty good i had a few low moments when i got to an area with more then the usual mobs and fire coming out of pipes. it was a bit rough but for the most part it was playing pretty well. i never had it set then reset my computer since i was recording once i had issues i just turned it off.

    but overall i was doing prety good for my little cpu and not even overclocking so im somewhat happy lol just wish i could make it more powerful and run it more smoothly.
     
  22. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  24. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Don't click this link if you don't want easy items. But for those that used it by accident, at least you can get it back.

    google "255 golden keys"
     
    PVTCaboose1337 and Delta6326 say thanks.
  25. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Man I'm always missing out on all the fun for game launches!! my game is on its way newegg said today, but I know it will be tomorrow I would buy from Steam, but it would take longer for my internet to download than shipping.

    That Key thing is interesting I wonder if they can ban people, I loved making custom guns in the last game once I beat the game.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page