1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Building a new rig! Need some expertise

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chummmleee, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,293 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,120
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    What is it that you use this computer for? For gaming, the i7's Hyperthreading offers practically no benefit, whereas it is important for encoding/rendering. I can't imagine spending $240 on a motherboard, particularly a LGA1155 one, so I'd go with the UD5H. I have a UP4 paired with a 3770k and it works well.

    That GTX670 is certainly a powerful card, but I wonder if you might be served better with a HD7950, which is ~$100 cheaper (slower too, yes, but I think it's performance/$ is better)
     
    Chummmleee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Worth considering cheaper boards like AsRock Extreme4 or Biostar TZ77XE4. I would take the 3570K if gaming is the only concern.
     
  4. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
    Yeah, Gaming is the main idea behind this build, so i defiantly shouldn't spend that much on a mother board ? I'm playing all sorts of games from League of Legends to Borderlands 2 and more i want to build a computer that will last me.

    Because i have one right now that is AMD and i'd like to switch to Intel just from what friends have told and based on the performance of this one as it's slowed down over the the past year i cant even run Borderlands on High. But money shouldn't really be an issue so i really want this PC to last and run perfect.
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Depending on what your AMD rig is based on it might be wiser to stick with what you have got and do a reinstall.
     
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,099 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,418
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    ivy bridge give you better power consumption and newer architecture
    i5 i guess thats enough and you still have space for oc it
     
  7. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
    Basically I'm replacing everything and just wondering what is best for gaming But I'm defiantly going intel.
     
  8. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,370 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    I pretty much agree with everyone else.

    Get a 3570k + that Gigabyte board, or search for an even cheaper board around the $150-$170 range, unless having a bunch of features you'll most likely never use interests you.

    And if your going to get a 670, at least get one with 4GB. Or I suggest getting an AMD 7970 GHz edition.
     
  9. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
  10. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    467 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Finland
    Just buy the cheapest 670 and overclock the card youself. Cheapest Z77 mobo and a 3770K. Those will last you.
     
  11. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
  12. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Chummmleee says thanks.
  13. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
    I think i will do that but i currently have a 750w PSU in my checkout list will i need anything higher??
     
  14. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
  15. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
    Power supply unit its a 750 watt should i get something higher?
     
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    I think its much better to start with a single graphics solution unless you want the potential headaches. That said, one 670 is plenty powerful for today's games.
     
  17. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    I was asking for a link to the exact Psu but no. a quality 750w psu would do fine.
    Btw. 2 670's are way ahead of a Titan($1000 card) and no match in perf. per dollar .

    agree, 2 670's was just the answer for the ridiculous price of that 680.
     
  18. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
    Alright, that sounds great and all but I've never done anything thing with crossfiring, is it easy? and do those cards come with the crossfire tab? And i dont want everything to get too complicated. And does anyone know about the OEM windows 7 question?
     
  19. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    mobos come with Sli conectors not card lime amd's.
    not complicated at all just install cards, drivers chech enable sli in control panel then restart and voila.
     
    Chummmleee says thanks.
  20. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Sometimes you will run to problems like microstuttering in which case you will end up ripping half your hair out and the problem will remain unsolved. If not, then its pretty easy.
     
  21. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    you forgot about drinking acid then jump off the window. lol
     
  22. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
  23. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
  24. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,250 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,193
    He wasn't suggesting for you to buy two GTX670 cards, he was only saying that two GTX670 cards would be better performing and a better deal than getting a GTX680 for $600. If you can, I highly suggest cancelling one of the GTX670 cards. A single GTX670 paired with 8 gigs of RAM and a i5 3570k is plenty for gaming at 1080p or 1200p.

    Oh and about your copy of windows, you may have to call Microsoft and "bend the truth" a little, but you should be able to get it activated on your new hardware.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Chummmleee

    Chummmleee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    New York
    I mean money isn't an issue so two cards isn't a problem as long as they run fine :) And its whatever with the whole windows thing but i mean i can always send things back if need be
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page