1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I move my desktop SSD to my new laptop with OS installed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well lads,

    Just wondering can I remove my SSD from my desktop computer and place it into my new laptop that's coming in a couple weeks. It has Windows 8 installed on it and the new laptop that's coming will not have an OS installed!

    The laptop supports 2.5" SSD slot so I know that'll be fine. But can I just plug it in and it'll just work fine?

    Or will I have to reformat the drive and install windows 8 on it again?
     
  2. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    619 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Most people will tell you no, but it's entirely possible, under the condition that your install is not an upgraded version of windows. (e.g., vista upgrade to W7 or something like that.)

    All you have to do is use the command line to enter the sysprep /generalize command. What this will do is make it so that you are basically re-initializing windows. Almost like a fresh install (as all drivers will be wiped) but with all your files and programs intact. There are plenty of tutorials on google. Just search sysprep.

    Had to do this a few weeks ago to upgrade my server.

    EDIT you will probably have to re-validate the install, so if it's an OEM version that was pre-installed on your laptop, it probably won't work.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Ah really? It's an upgraded version of Windows 7! and I have the disk version of Windows 8 upgrade.

    So I guess I'm out of luck?

    Will it work if I just remove all data on the SSD and put it in the laptop and install my copy of Windows 7 again and upgrade to windows 8?

    I'd MUCH prefer to not have to do this as I don't want to have to back up files and crap :/
     
  4. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    619 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    The problem is, if you just stick the drive in a new computer it will most likely blue screen due to drivers being mismatched and all that. The sysprep command cleans all that out. You can always try to stick the drive in the new computer and see. Sometimes, if the hardware is close enough, it will work.

    As far as I know, an upgraded edition like you have is not eligible for the sysprep system to work. Do your own research on it, as I'm not 100% positive of the implications there. It has something to do with the fact that the system will try to go back to its preparation stage, but that will be on the wrong OS. (the older one.) and therefore is disabled. But there might be hope. There is plenty of information out there on it, so take a look for yourself.
     
  5. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    610 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    Ive done it...no terrible issues. Just had to load proper drivers....
     
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,051 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Go for it! Should be a piece of cake!

    I've done similar, I've even moved an SSD from a tower to a laptop. Rarely have issues. The biggest issues are if going to a new build that doesn't have ACHI enabled, which is getting rare anymore even for new mainboards. I've done it with both Windows 7 and 8, and really if one is smart about it, has drivers downloaded on a usb stick beforehand, and uninstalls all the drivers they can prior to removing from the old unit...there shouldn't be too many issues. At least that's my experience...it's not that hard to do, and saves time installing the OS...which really if installing from a USB stick saves you 20 minutes but hey that's 20 minutes of gaming you have earned!

    :toast:
     
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have done this with Windows 7 but not with 8. I manually uninstall all the drivers and when the disk is moved to another system, windows will install all new devices, I then install all needed drivers and activate.
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,687 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Drivers might cause bsods, so no, clean installs a must.
     
  9. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    719 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Toronto
    clean install is not a must but highly recommended

    i have moved XP & 98 installations onto different motherboards, at the minimum you have to uninstall the hard drive controller that causes the common BSOD you'd run into (it's a lot like uninstalling your gfx driver, powering down, changing cards/brands, powering up, installing new driver)

    be ready for annoyances, best case scenario you end up with a bit of a bloated installation, worst case is it falls apart & wont work when you put it back on the old desktop, but of course the important thing is your own personal files should be fine
     
  10. Bansaku

    Bansaku

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    72 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    You CAN easily swap out the desktop SSD and place it in your laptop, but as other have stated, drivers will be an issue. Either BSOD or Windows will detect the hardware change and prompt you to insert the Windows DVD ands repair the system. Worst case you can install Windows over the previous version and have the Old Windows contents saved in a new folder.
     
  11. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    619 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    All of you above that say BSOD's can occur. That is what the sysprep command is for.

    Told you there would be plenty of people who say it isn't possible lol.
     
  12. arskatb

    arskatb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    206 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Finland
    Wouldnt never recommend that
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I never knew that! (thx)

    And I wasn't even thinking of the OS needing validation, just driver conflicts.
     
  14. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    619 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    No problem. That's the trick that nobody seems to know... People just always say no, you have to clean install. The sysprep makes it like it's a new install, but with your programs intact. Easy peasy. The only catch is you have to re-validate, plus it doesn't seem to work for upgraded installs.
     
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thanks lads for the responses. It seems that perhaps I'll plug the SSD into the laptop and boot it up from there? I should just uninstall GPU drivers and ASUS drivers and all other drivers and perhaps it'll work?

    That sysprep sounds great but since it doesn't work for upgrades I guess I'm out of luck?

    Should I just try putting it into the laptop regardless of the sysprep and see what happens??
     
  16. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,563 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,267
    Double negative... so you're saying that you would recommend it, eh. :laugh:
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. arskatb

    arskatb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    206 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Finland
    erhh,, typo:banghead:
     
  18. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    ummm.. if I just reformat the drive, install win7 and then upgrade to win8 again.. will it just work?? like I won't have any issues reactivating Win8 as it's an upgrade???
     
  19. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    There is a way to install an upgrade version of W8 just like the full version. Have a search, someone put a guide on these forums, I think.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,687 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    yup just like you hitting A_LT F4 lol
     
  21. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    619 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Here's what you do. First, just put the drive in the new laptop. If it boots great, if it doesn't move on to step two.

    2. Put it back in the old machine. Uninstall all the drivers you can. Put back in new laptop, try to boot.

    3 Sysprep will likely not work for you.

    4. Is the windows 7 a retail copy or an OEM? Because if it's OEM the license will not likely transfer over to the new machine anyway. If you have both a retail windows 7 and retail upgrade, then yes you can format the drive and install W7 then upgrade again.
     
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yeah I think i'll just put it in and see what happens. I will uninstall drivers before doing it anyway just to be extra safe ^^

    I have the retail win7 so that's a plus at least :)
     
  23. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well lads,

    I got the laptop yesterday and boy oh boy it's fantastic! Performance is surprisingly good and I can Total War Rome 2 on very high\Ultra specs which is amazing! and very smooth ^^

    Anyway, I just want to let yee lads know that I took out the SSD out of the desktop and placed it right into the laptop. It was flawless! It took no more than 5 seconds to prepare new hardware before fully launching windows and then it popped up saying Hi and all that Jibber Jabber talk ^^

    I didn't need to do anything else other than activate windows again and that was it... smooth as a babys behind so it was :)

    So anyone else that is thinking of doing what I did probably shouldn't worry about it.. just remove GPU drivers is all I did before swapping the SSD ^^

    I couldn't be happier :)
     
  24. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    619 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Great to hear! You got lucky that the hardware was close enough to be able to boot. Sometimes you get lucky, so it's always good to try.
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,687 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Hes having trouble with it
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page