1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can i run my old X58 RAM in a X79?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Live OR Die, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. Wumpus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    first, its 1/4 the performance. (but not even. see below)

    secondly, the performance does not scale anywhere near 100%. single channel todual is quite large, dual to triple is semi-negligible (unless you run pi 32m all the time) and triple to quad is even less. It might be possible to even say that it is as near as makes no difference to negligible under regular usage conditions
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I mistyped.:laugh:


    I don't care about performance. I care about warranty 3 years down the road. DIMMs cost OEMs like $12 to make. The rest pays for labour, profit and warranty claims.:p

    If you are buying into SKT2011 it's for the best possible performance. The OP has two options to get that...either buy a new set, or find another single stick, which Corsair will not warranty to work with his kit together. Combined with other factors, it's no question. He can sell his old kit and make up the cost.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    op has 6 X 2GB he needs to buy nothing;)
     
    AthlonX2 says thanks.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :laugh: then you'd be right. ;p hadn't considered that.:shadedshu 12GB is 3 sticks.:p
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    That was my take on it. If he has 4 sticks on hand I would tr it at least. If it fails, for sure, just go buy more then.
     
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,915 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Well i do use my computer for 3Ds Max so it will help there :), I just sold my ram, cpu and board to a friend for $500 so should have the CPU by the end of next week :D.
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If they aren't hypers. ASUS has a nice profile specific to those DIMMs, but I haven't seen anything spectaular yet with them. I am not too sure on how other OEMs ahve tuned BIOSes either...yet. The Hyper Era is over.:cry: Corsair just refunded me near full retail value for my 2133MHz 2GB sticks, even, so high-speed 2GB DIMMS are a thing of the past.


    What we ARE seeing is many of these new 4GB DIMMs hitting very high speeds, better than 2GB DIMMs, even. As always, things are always the best right at launch, so if you're gonna buy, now's the time to do it. With IvyBridge so close in the future, I do not expect a single silicon revision now that the platform has launched, so what you get now, CPU-wise, is probably it.

    BIOSes are going to be tuned for 4 and 8 gb DIMMs, too, from what I have been hearing, so if you're buying to overclock, 4GB sticks are it.

    :cry:Pre-Orders only here. I need to be able to walk into the store and get one before I'll have one. Gonna be some interesting clocking.
     
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,915 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Well i can only hope they'll have stock left next week or ill be waiting as well :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page