1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst 10.9 Battlefield Bad Company 2 5870 Multi-gpu Performance

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cadaveca, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,389 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    I'm on my 2nd day of 10.8 with 10.9 profiles all is good so far.
     
    TRIPTEX_CAN says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    Australia
    + System

    - Provider

    [ Name] Application Error

    - EventID 1000

    [ Qualifiers] 0

    Level 2

    Task 100

    Keywords 0x80000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2010-09-22T07:34:24.000000000Z

    EventRecordID 4291

    Channel Application

    Computer

    Security


    - EventData

    dirt2_game.exe
    1.1.0.0
    4b598827
    dirt2_game.exe
    1.1.0.0
    4b598827
    c0000005
    00c7e2e1
    118c
    01cb5a27e879c754
    C:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\dirt 2\dirt2_game.exe
    C:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\dirt 2\dirt2_game.exe
    d1f15692-c61b-11df-9b01-00241d75580f


    I used to update my drivers a lot around a year ago. I would see the latst and grab them. I have always had ATI and never really had problems but I have gotta say since getting this card and getting interested in the latest drivers again I have noticed that ATI have FAILED me hahaha.
     
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,448 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    04578
    anyone else notice 10.9 driver issues seem to be more prevalent with steam versions of games?
     
  4. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    Australia
    My post above is with 10.4a and the 10.7 profile as someone suggested to try out.
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,448 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    04578
    i dont use updated profiles just plain 10.4a = best for anything 5k period in crossfire its the last stable driver release

    at the time of 10.4a dirt2 performance was top notch and it has the badcompany 2 loading fixes etc so its pretty much the defacto driver as it is

    even Metro 2033 runs fine with 10.4a DX11 maxxed with DoF off theres still pretty much no real reason to change drivers yet sadly. the performance boost of 10.9 was in stalker CoP a games thats nearly 1.5 years old now
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  6. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,402 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,054
    Waits patiently for local troll "nvidiaintelftw" to post something negative in this thread.
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,448 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    04578
    and no worries craigleberry i had the same issues you just had but in


    Dirt2 Badcompany 2 in DX9 DX10 and DX11 as well as Mount & Blade Warband with 10.4a stock drivers all those games run fine again at proper settings
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,190 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    What are the extra features of 10.4a drivers compared to 10.4?:rolleyes:

    Oh! Do HD5970's benefit from having profiles installed:twitch:
     
  9. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    Australia
    Just removed the 10.7 profile and still same problem.
     
  10. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I was using 10.4a with Dirt2 and BC2 before I moved and I didnt have any issues. You might be running into problem by reverting to an older driver if you didnt remove 100% of the ATI files in your system first. A complete wipe and registry purge for ATI entries should get things working again.

    I would test it myself but my system is still in a box somewhere. :shadedshu

    10.4a were hotix driver for loading times. The profiles are what makes crossfire work so the 5970 should run really poorly without them.
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta

    I'll have results up with your driver set later today.
     
    TRIPTEX_CAN says thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta

    This is a good combo, barely ever went below 80FPS(and ergo, AMD sucks, yet again):

    [​IMG]




    However, I find that the game plays smoother on 10.9. there are a few times with 10.4, as you can see in the graph, that framerates drop considerably...and this doesn't happen with the newer drivers.
     

    Attached Files:

    SK-1 and TRIPTEX_CAN say thanks.
  13. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Thanks for testing that combo. I'd like to see the GPU usage and FPS graph from a run with v-sync enabled... I have the feeling the usage will be almost static and the game will be wicked smooth (despite input lag which is another stoty).
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Coming up...:
    [​IMG]


    Took some time for it to smooth out, and even then, I like v-sync off better...just feels better...almost like there's some input lag with v-sync on...10.9 profiles works better.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  15. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,350 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Isn't a ctd just a program violating the ~4gb space on a x64 Windows install or are people getting errors out it too?

    Cad are you running the singleplayer or multiplayer on those tests? Sorry is I missed you mentioning it.
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,044 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,553
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Multiplayer.

    Dunno about the CTD cause, just know that forcing DX10 worked to prevent the problem. Thread psoted earlier with a fix for 5970 users seems to be working OK here...will test more after I eat my dinner. ;)

    I'm back on 10.9 and the 10.9 profile.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)