1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer won't boot after shutdown, spraying with compressed air makes it boot?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CrAsHnBuRnXp, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Ok so my dad has this really weird issue with his computer that I just cant fully figure out. Whenever my dad shuts his computer down fully and tries to turn it back on, it just sits at the windows logo forever and goes no where. Yet, if he takes the computer to the garage and blows it out with the air compressor and tries to boot it up, it works just fine but the problem will represent itself whenever he shuts down the computer.

    Im not really sure if this is a hardware failure of some sort or what it is. Just wondering what your thoughts are on this.

    Ive formatted windows and that isnt the issue.

    His computer is (recalling from memory):

    Intel E5200
    DFI Lanparty LT P35
    G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800
    OCZ 600w PSU
    ATI X1950 pro
    Windows 7
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    if he unplugs the PC for 5-30 mins does it fix itself?


    maybe an incorect bios setting?
     
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,252 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    something loose may be?
     
  4. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    try a different powersupply
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,133 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,195
    So every time he boots it, he takes it to the garage, sparys it out with compressed air, then takes it back into the house and tries to boot it?

    Sounds like something is either loose in the computer, or there is a piece of hardware hanging up the boot process.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    He had it unplugged for a week cause of a remodel of the basement (computer is located down there) so Ill say no.

    What bios setting?

    Ill check the cables.

    Wish I had another to try.

    That is correct. Ive been thinking motherboard issues actually.
     
  7. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    some thing over heating :banghead: ware is he blowing at what type of mob is it
    :twitch:
     
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    And the title of my thread was changed why? Not to mention typo'd.

    Doubt it. There is no dust to speak of if he is blowing it out every time he shuts down the computer.

    Mob? You mean motherboard? If so see OP.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  9. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    sorry did not see that:banghead:
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,961 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just because there's no dust doesn't mean that there's nothing overheating. Perhaps a heatsink came loose, or some thermal paste got dried out... If I were you, I would rebuild the entire pc and pull the CMOS battery while doing it. That way, overheating, loose connections, and bad BIOS settings are all ruled out at once.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    true true:toast:
     
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Was going to suggest the same thing :toast:

    Probably less elegantly and with several typos mind you :laugh:
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,133 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,195
    More than likely because "Computer Problem" is not an acceptable thread title.:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Okay so I was forced to reboot my dad's system last night and upon booting up, I got a message saying that the SMART status was bad and that a hard drive failure was imminent. I pressed F1 to continue and it told me that it could not find an OS to load.

    Not sure if its the main issue or just coincidence.

    Also, I dont understand that if its an overheating issue, why it would make any sense that if you were to blow the machine out with an air compressor it would just magically start working.
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,133 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,195
    Blowing it out, or moving a large amount of air over the hardware will cool it down. Also, the time it takes to unhook and move into the garage, blow out, and move back into the house could also be giving it more time to cool down.

    The bad SMART status is definitely not good, perhaps the hard drive has been overheating.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Its not that im trying to be a dick or be complicated and I do appreciate all the help with this guys, but if it were overheating and what newtekie said were true, then woudlnt the computer blue screen or just shut down completely if it were overheating?
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Sounds like overheating or failing components, lose connections possible.

    Check for bad caps carefully, test power supply under load with a multimeter to verify voltages are stable, check all fans, tear it down and blow it all out good and put her back together make sure everything is tight and has a good connection.
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,591 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Does it have a dedicated graphics card?
    I'm asking because I have 2 pc's which do a similar thing. They go into standby and refuse to power on. They used to work again when I spray them with compressed air, but now I realised that what they'd need is a re-seating of the graphics card (they're old with AGP graphics).
     
  19. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Ati x1950 pro.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,133 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,195
    It can, but not always. If the hard drive is overheating, I've seen them where the computer will continue to function properly, but if the hard drive was stopped, it wouldn't start again until it has cooled down.

    But if that was the case, it wouldn't start to load into Windows, it should just give the No OS or No boot device error.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    But this happens after the computer has been shut down for some time as well. So im not really sure. :banghead:
     
  22. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I have seen transformers and caps start to go, or even a voltage reg could be failing, and cause issues exactly like this.

    Get it running and run orthos for a few hours and see if it locks up, if so replace what you can until stable to weed out your bad parts.
     
  23. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page