1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 Duo

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MiST91, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. MiST91 Guest

    hi, i really feel a twat/noob asking this but... i have just sold my old motherboard and processor so i can buy a core 2 duo, basicly, will a CORE 2 DUO E6300 be faster at stock speeds than my Pentium D 915 2.8GHz? and also how high will i be able to overclock the E6300.
     
  2. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    although i don;t know about the mobo question (cause i don't know the chipset) i can say yeap on the faster wuestion and as overclocking depend on mobo and chipset
     
  3. MiST91 Guest

    sorry i forgot to write mobo and chipset, its a GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R using the Intel P35 chipset. oh, and i will be using 2GB (2x 1GB) of OCZ 667MHz Value series RAM
     
  4. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    that board/chip combo should easily do over 3 ghz
     
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    we all were once upon a time
     
  6. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Stock to stock? A C2D will be at least 25% faster. (depending on application/benchmark) Also, while both CPUs have some overclocking potential C2D has more. (Well, this depends on other components and quality of those components. Motherboard for one.)
     
  7. MiST91 Guest

    so, when i get my C2D i will notice a differance from my stock Pentium D 915 just doing everyday tasks (windows media player, web browsing and the odd game)?
     
  8. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Completely off topic...Where abouts in Rotherham you live Mist..?
    I too live around there..:)
     
  9. MiST91 Guest

    i live in kiveton park m8 (about 20 mins drive from town, about 10 min from worksop)
     
  10. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
  11. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i dont understand why you are paying extra for a ddr3 board only to use the bare minimum that it will support (ddr2 667)?

    i understand if your wanting to upgrade later on and save $ now by using ddr2, but at least use 800 not 667, since there is only $5 difference in prices
     
  12. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,984 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Florida, US
    ohhh yeah definately the c2d will rape the pent D
    my e4400 at stock(2.0GHz) was much faster than my pent D 805 at 3.6GHz
     
  13. MiST91 Guest

    thanks, that webpage is great, and shows me i havn't just wasted my money :toast:
     
  14. MiST91 Guest

    i bought that motherboard because i got it off ebay brand new for £50, why pay extra for just a DDR2 board when for £50 i can buy me some DDR3 when it comes down in price, and also i am fully aware that there is only a tiny differance in price for 667MHz and 800MHz but i am very short of cash as it is xmas, and i already have 1GB of OCZ so i bought another 1GB off ebay for less than £10
     
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,381 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    ok it makes sense now, you had me scratching my head :confused:

    now i understand the logic but it would have been great if you could have sold the 667 to get $ for all 800

    it sounds like you have a very nice system now :toast:
     
  16. MiST91 Guest

    yeah, i really wanted to get my self 2GB of OCZ Platinum XTC 800MHz RAM, its only £30 ($60ish), as soon as xmas is over that will be my next purchase :)
     
  17. MiST91 Guest

    i know this is a little off topic, but my current motherboard only supports SATA I, when i get my GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R tommorow with SATA II, will i notice any differance?
     
  18. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,051 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I didn't, burst speeds may be faster, but if you get a performance based HDD or RAID there should be some performance increase.

    Also, I have an e6300 OC'd on a P965mb...check my system specs. These chips OC well, and 3GHZ is not asking too much from it, hell I can use low fan speed on my cooler and keep this thing well below 55C at low fan speed (~900rpm on AC Freezer 7 Pro).

    :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page