1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i7-3960X About 47% Faster On Average Than Core i7-990X: Intel

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    yea i am sure your right lol. Its either that, or its becuase their revenue is so much less than Intel that they don't bother, or can't.

    And yes you can be limited by a socket, by its # of pins just for vcc and ground for a CPU with so much more TDP is a big deal, add a few more cores, some PCI-E controller, IMC to quadchannel, and so on.

    if you notice with LGA1366 intel has a IOH(northbridge) and ICH(southbridge), with LGA2011 and LGA1155 there is only a PCH, like the A75 chipset(called FCH) if you are familiar with AMD.

    So AMD is still using a two part chipset, while Intel has moved to all single chipset. These moves, such as the testing of this with LGA1156, and then sticking with two for LGA1366, shows Intel has the ability to heavily modify the substructure other than the cores, while with lets say Phenom 2 they couldn't add an onboard PCI-E controller, they are limited to the NB, same with BD, they have to use that NB, they are also limited to power package, and thus they came out with true AM3+ boards, AM3 board will be limited and so on.

    Its a lot of confusion, Intel doesn't bring out new sockets every year.
  2. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Socket 2011 should be good till atleast 2013 as well as 1155. With Ivy Bridge and IB-E looming next year.. Its a great time to be an Intel fan
  3. Platibus

    Platibus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    88 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Mexico
    With all the talk about the sockets I have to ask: will Ivy Bridge requiere yet another socket?
  4. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    No Ivy Bridge will be on Socket 1155
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,583 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah its the same thing that said over and over again
    faster only seen in benchmark, and there many things that affect that in real life
    40 some percent? its a nice improvement but we dont only pay for processor to build a rig
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,045 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    dont forget another motherboard
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Huh? I thought Ivy Bridge was set to release with LGA 2011 mobos as the high end option for consumers
  8. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    no iv y bridge will first be on LGA1155 probably in 4 core form. As IV is just a die-shrink of SB, it will be supported on the same socket. Supposedly IB will then go on lGA2011.

    Honestly if Intel doesn't fix their cold bug issues with SB-E they will have a problem with enthusiasts buying older x58 stuff.
    random says thanks.
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Good new for me as I cbf changing mobos again :rolleyes:....this year...
  10. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Lolz, i haven't changed my mobo for 3 years now.

    And for upgrade's sake, i still can get the 6 cores on my mobo.
    random says thanks.
  11. lashton New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    63 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    lol eah intel where is thew 100MB L3 cache coming, all they do it whack up the L3 cache and call it a new CPU
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Maybe AMD does, but Intel actually takes the time to make a new architecture.
  13. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    [​IMG]

    How many times are we going to have to go over this?

    Socket 2011 - Sandy Bridge Enthusiast - Q4 2011, Ivy Bridge Enthusiast - Q1 2013
    Socket 1155 - Sandy Bridge - Q1 2011, Ivy Bridge - Q2 2012

    Before anyone asks.. Haswell Q3 2013 will be 22nm and might work on Socket 1155
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,726 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    US
    Thing is INTEL want your pay checks for a month for their stuff.

    Whats turning me of INTEL is noit just the price is they keep changing the sockets every time some one farts.
  15. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    A month? I can purchase an 990X processor with 1 weeks paycheck. Do you think everyone on TPU works at Mcdonalds? :laugh:
  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,438 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    This looks like it could be a massive crunching cpu (World Community Grid or folding@home)! Will just have to wait for real-world results when released...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Apparently, your job pays well: not everyone's as lucky.

    I would need 2 month's paycheck to be able to afford it.
    NC37 says thanks.
  18. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    260
    Some people are dealing with less hours and corporations which are refusing to allow overtime anymore. Its not simply working at McDonalds for minimum wage. Heck I'm making roughly half what I used to because of such tricks. Just haven't been good openings elsewhere to transfer out.

    When you are working with such constraints, the money saved from not going Intel can be better used towards other parts. Why spend everything on the CPU and nerf the rest when you can afford to go better parts all together by going AMD?
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Because I'd rather not nerf anything at all, and just save longer for what I want.
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Many people have family to feed and children who needs school.
    Not every one have the spare cash for this stuff.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Save longer.
  22. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    "No!! Why is the DBS so expensive?! I NEED one but I only make 3000 dollars a month! WTF Aston Martin!"

    Un-fuck your priorities please.
  23. Trackr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    :rolleyes:

    Wow, you took the results of 4 realistic tests (10-30%), and averaged it out with the results of 4 COMPLETELY UNREALISTIC tests yielding 110% improvement..

    Then you postered it as the title of this thread.

    CANNOT .. HOLD .. BACK .. FACEPALM
  24. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    my only question about this is will current H67 and P67 chipsets support Ivy Bridge 1155 chips, or will we need a new 1155 board becuase it has a new chipset.

    as for this new i7.... freakin wow. ~47% faster with the same amount of logical/physical cores, and a lower clock speed, bar turbo.

    Intel you've done it again.

    [​IMG]
    [H]@RD5TUFF and INSTG8R say thanks.
  25. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    is this chip going to have a intergrated graphics processor built in? if it has i'll stick with what i've got

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page