1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i7-3960X About 47% Faster On Average Than Core i7-990X: Intel

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    DO WANT





    more benchmarks .. . . ..
     
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,486 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Still proves the point that the marketing percentages are wack.
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I don't think anyone would question that, but both companies (AMD and Intel) use questionable math to inflate numbers to make X look like it's 50+% faster than it's competitors y chip, this is nothing new.
     
  4. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Meh.... 6 cores is so 2008. Intel should have been ballsy and went with the 8 core

    Im staying 1155 and just going Ivy Bridge
     
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    While I agree, I will reserve judgement until I see hard benchmark numbers.
     
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,560 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I doubt it was "cherry picked" (and not that it matters, they didn't overclock it). They probably just grabbed a hexa-core CPU off the line to compare to the previous generation of hexa-cores. Remember, an octo-core w/ hyperthreading is being developed too. Intel is confident they have the performance crown so there is no reason for them to work the numbers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    of course it will increase performance, without that it would be pointless at all!:D
    but the amount of problems, more cache generates, exceeds the benefits by a lot;)
     
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,486 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I'm standing firm on it being a cherry picked chip, it cant possibly be retail and only an ES leaked will be dispute enough for me. [Chiphell better rebuttle]
     
  9. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    No cherrypick shit! You don't need a cherrypicked chip to run default speed!

    Turbo mode:

    i7 990X = 3.73GHz
    i7 3960X = 3.9GHz

    It's quite obvious.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  10. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    673 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    579
    Location:
    NYC
    Cherry picked 3960X should be able to run 5900Mhz+...means bootable @ 59X multi
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,560 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Intel wouldn't publish numbers on a named chip if it were an engineering sample. I'd bet they got the Core i7-3960X and other chips ready to ship out the door but they're waiting for motherboard manufactuers to get their ducks in a row before they launch.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I hope this is true, I know intel is on a spending spree buying up all kinds of test handlers, at work we just sold them 35 units, and they are asking for more.
     
  13. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    611 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    South Africa
    It's as if AMD's Bulldozer architecture cried out in terror, and was suddenly silenced.

    By a curbstomp.

    From a mech.
     
  14. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    FFS... Was the new socket an absolute necesity.

    Im getting tierd with this. AMD has 2 active sockets for the entire range. FM1 and AM3+.

    Intel currently has 3 active sockets and a 4th on the way. 1366 1155 1156 and now 2011.

    And thats without mentioning the chipset dance. even if the socket is the same the chipset has to be the correct one...

    Please intel. pick 1 socket and make the damn chipsets compatible.
     
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well then your going to be mad at AMD as they are phasing out AM3+ come the end of 2012 for another one.
     
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,560 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Recycling old sockets holds them back. Just look at AM2 to AM3+. What changed? DDR3, and that's about it. Look at Intel on the other hand and every new socket brought major changes. LGA1366 = tri-channel memory, LGA2011 = quad-channel memory, LGA1156 = DDR3 RAM, LGA1155 = GPU in chip, etc.

    AMD fell into an advancement hole on AM2 so they had no real reason to push out different sockets like Intel did.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Wow, Quad channel DDR3!!

    This would have to over $2k when it comes out, surely.
     
  18. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,215 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Thou art an poet an poet amongst druken sailors:roll:
     
  19. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    this site(not TPU) has been wrong before, but i do hope they are right.
     
  20. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I am so fucking confused over what is what.
    i7, seemingly arbitrary numbers, and then a letter.

    Is that a quad, a duo, a what? Is it good, is it better, does it make toast?!? And AMD are guilty too. Can I please just get a decent scale over what the fuck is what.

    Oh and then there's the whole some iX use this socket, some use that. Can they just use ONE socket for ONE "species" of chip.
     
  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    In a way it's sad that Intel is in a category of its own. At this level there is no competition so they will sit down and think how much to charge for this, based on whatever numbers that Italian name dude who's running the shop has in mind.
     
  22. sno.lcn

    sno.lcn

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    670 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Are new CPU models still coming out for s1156? Will any new ones be coming out for s1366 when s2011 is released? :confused:

    Anyway, looking at SB and SB-E side by side, does putting them both in the same package really sound reasonable? No way :p



    Extreme series CPUs from Intel have always been in a certain price range, don't expect this to deviate too drastically from that.


    Are we already assuming these clock just like sandy bitch chips? :D
     
  23. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Sandy Bridge uses Socket 1155... 1156 was Lynnfield.

    There's been a rumor floating around XS that was first suggested over at [DH] that intel will drop prices on the 2500K/2600K from 219.99 to 199.99 and 314.99 to 289.99 to make way for a 2800K that will be 6 cores with no HT for 349.99 but this is PURELY speculation and i haven't seen any ES of it.

    Why would it be cherry picked? SB-E is already on B2 steppings. Hell C0 will probably be retail.
     
  24. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    598 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    honestly the change is socket is probably why Intel has better performance, they aren't limited by the socket/chipset.
     
  25. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Amd wasn't limited by the sockets. They just decided to stay with AM2 to appease the masses and look where it has gotten them.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page