1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I would like to know what happenned. Tested before shipped and everything. Even had the celeron I shipped with posting & booting 4ghz(just as a test to see if it was capable).
     
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,993
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Damn. If I knew this just 2 days ago. I just sent a nice little Gigabyte board and a QX6700 to Mexico.
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll PM you now to see what we can work out.

    Don't know bro, maybe just RAM, but three sticks and non work? Not sure what to say :laugh:

    :banghead:
     
  4. twilyth Guest

    As it turns out, I have an Asus P5Q turbo board which appears to be an LGA775. PM me your address and I'll try to get it out to you on Monday or Tuesday. We got a couple inches of snow but unless they plowed my driveway shut, I should be able to get out.

    I'll have to try to find a box that it will fit in though. I don't think I can use any of the flat rate boxes I have, but that shouldn't be a big deal. I look into that tomorrow.

    edit: It's pretty dusty and I can't be certain it works. I think it will be ok, but no promises.
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    PM inbound. Once I get paid I'll be more than happy to send something your way for the shipping, just let me know how much man. :toast:
     
  6. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    i need help
    i'm crunching on two setup for WCG
    but few days ago, one of my setup is can't Upload and Download tasks!!!
    i didn't clicked on "No new tasks"
    then tested it on Seti@home, everything is works fine Upload and Download new tasks
    so WCG's banned my setup?
    i'm very confused
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Check your results status, if you start reporting invalid/error'ed projects it will ban you for a time to get your PC back to stable functioning conditions.
     
    erasure and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    OR.... is the date/time set correctly? Something so small causes a whole bunch of issues.
     
    erasure says thanks.
  9. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    thanks it was time and date :eek:
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That issue is so common. It's bit me a few times because it's so easily overlooked! Glad you got it fixed. :toast:
     
  11. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,993
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm looking for a really cheap and quiet AMD cooler for the cruncher that I'm running at my inlaws. The noise from the AMD stock fan is driving them nuts, and they are threatening to make me remove it, if I can't get it quiet. Anyone have a cooler around that would do the trick?
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Not here man, the only spare cooler I have right now is the Hyper 212 and the fan is loud! Plus once I get my 2nd rig up and running I'll need it anyways. :(
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I may see what we can work out on this if its still up in the air. I talked to Asus RMA department today and the support guy said it was highly unlikely that they have any 780G boards in stock that I would at the least get a 785G or 880G as a replacement so i assume it will have ACC to unlock it to a quad.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,947 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    I can tell you my ASUS M4A785-M has the option to unlock to a quad core, I know someone on here is selling one for $50 so theres a option if the one you get doesn't have ACC
     
  15. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I know most of the gang is US based, but if anyone's in the EU and got a PSU: I'm interested.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I should be getting word back from ASUS soon about my RMA. it shows they have received it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    488 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    What kind?
    I've got a few but it's test moddels so I'm not sure how good they are, mostly 800w and 1000w
     
    KieX says thanks.
  18. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    A lot more wattage than I'll ever need but that's never a problem. Test models? To be honest, just looking for anything that I can rely on for 24/7 crunching, preferably good brand that won't ruin my gear.

    Can go to PM's to discuss the rest.
     
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,353 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,884
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay last night I bumped my i7 930 up to 3.6ghz. Right away it started crunching into the lower 90C temps! None the less I backed it down to the default 2.8ghz. Now for some reason it is still running well into the 80C's during the crunching. This is reporting both in RealTemp and CoreTemp.

    Now I am running a Xigmatek Dark Knight on the chip. I pulled the cooler to check the coverage of the TIM which looked fine. I cleaned everything and reinstalled Ceramique TIM to the chip. As it was stated it is crunching in the high 70C's and low 80C's at the default 2.8ghz.

    Do I need a better cooler? Using AMD chips for several years I am not sure what a great cooling solution is for these chips. Any suggestions on this would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    488 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Did you lower vcore when you put it back to stock?
     
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yeah, those temps are a bit high, since it ain't summer yet. Not sure how the Dark Knight performs, but as Mydog suggested it could be something with the vcore. Ideally you want to be under 1.3V on D0 chips for those clocks, after that the heat builds up very quickly with frequency increases.
     
  22. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,353 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,884
    Location:
    Wyoming
    As far as I know I never fooled with the Vcore at all. I just bumped the FSB up to 200 rather than the default 133. I didn't mess with any voltage settings when I raised it up to the 3.6ghz.

    Now this is very odd. I go into MSI's "overclocking center" and it is showing the CPU temps between 58c and 68c? It is also showing the Vcore bouncing from about 1.27 to 1.32 volts? After checking again I have seen the Vcore jump to 1.387 volts! Is that waaaaaaay too high?

    Here is a screenshot:

    http://img.techpowerup.org/120129/Capture001708.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    488 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    I would do a clear cmos and see if that's helping, 1,38vcore is way off
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  24. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,353 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,884
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Rebooted and jumped in the BIOS which shows that the Vcore is set at 1.208 volts. I have to believe that the MSI Overclocking Center is reporting wrong?

    Also after booting back into windows it is showing temps from mid 50C's to upper 60C's which is to be expected I guess while crunching.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah, it must've been bumping vcore up a lot. those chips once over 1.3v will build heat like you have no idea!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page