1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DayZ (Mod for ARMA II: OAH) Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by erocker, May 21, 2012.

  1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    If only DayZ included the Mission Editor or allowed you to call in AI help.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    This is a DayZ discussion thread. Nothing of what you just said (other than map locations) have to do with DayZ.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Don't update DayZ with SixUpdater folks, apparently the version it is pulling down isn't working and is causing big issues with the Hive and in game attributes such as the gear menu and items.

    Also, new beta patch has been released but that isn't available to download just yet.
     
  4. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    you need to use Six Launcher. Six Updater is for the other mods and servers. such as Project Reality.
     
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I don't need to use either. I hate that program and I always update manually.

    1.7.2.3 is borked as expected; can't join any server.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    I was just on. I used to do the manual install but found I have a much quicker time connecting to servers using the SixLauncher.
     
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm... well I've restarted my router countless times over the course of last night and now. I've reinstalled the mod. If this fails then...

    :eek:

    ... I'll see if SixUpdater can solve the issue.

    :shadedshu

    F'ing SixUpdater.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    I wish I had recorded what happened earlier. There was a chopper on a roof in Cherno with a bunch of guys around it. I was randomly firing my AKM at them to annoy them. Then they sent their chopper after me and I let them eat lead. Didn't blow up the chopper unfortunately but I sent it packing.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  9. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    All fixed!

    :D

    Latest beta patch needed reinstalling.

    Good vid erocker.
     
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    So, I had Arma II (retail) and I'm currently downloading the 1.6 combined operations patch. I've already downloaded the OA latest patch (94945) and Six Updater.

    I'm also downloading the OA standalone game.

    Do i need any other downloads?
     
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You're pretty much set.

    :D

    Might want to bookmark this.
     
    stinger608 and the54thvoid say thanks.
  12. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    All i like to do in this mod is help people in electro/ cherno get started and kill any bandits along the way. Its alot more fun then running for dayz.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky and MT Alex say thanks.
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Bummer. I need to re-install Arma II?

    I'm getting this in the bottom left corner of six-updater. Also when i loaded CO for first time it had messages about missing files.

     
  14. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,805 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    My guess is that you are missing some patches/updates, there are quite a few in order to get things working right, and a few of the steps are different if you are like me and don't have a Steam version of the game. If so, search for installing Dayz with a non-steam version.
     
  15. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    860 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I know the latest beta was causing some issues (94945) I would use the beta just before that to avoid any problems for now.
     
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Beware a chat request from someone on Steam posing as an Admin with the name "Admin".

    This person is phishing for your login information.

    They claim you need to update SteamGuard within 5 hours or your account will be disconnected or you may also begin seeing bans. There is a fake Steam Site link in the message.

    Just to be safe i changed my Steam Password.


    Dude just use Sixlauncher and Sixupdater to get the missing files.
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    can someone update the steps to install this mod? the OP links are broken
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    -Install ArmA 2

    -Install ArmA 2 Operation Arrowhead

    -Load both games and when you get to the main menu, exit.

    -Download SixUpdater here: http://www.six-updater.net/p/download.html "Download v2.9.7pre"

    -Once downloaded and installed, just run Six Launcher. When in Six Launcher, in the lower left tick "options." Select the option(s) to use/update to the Beta, hit OK.

    -Tick the orange box that says Update and it will install/update DayZ.

    -Play game. You don't need to have Steam running to play via the Six Launcher.
     
    ufgy20 and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Thanks! Waiting for the game to DL :) Can't wait to play this!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    you will enjoy it. When you are ready to join me and United Operations contact me. I will walk you through how to get setup to join us. Or You can join me on the Campaigns as we can coop it.
     
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Ufgy spotted this bad boy across a field as we were playing, so he spotted me as I ran over to collect it.

    [​IMG]

    Not sure what the deal is with it, it was parked right on a road (horrible spot to park a vehicle) and it had a good amount of ammo in it, blood bags, a tent, and a few other things. So it seems like it was someones vehicle, just not sure why they parked it there, maybe they died? Either way ours now, bad damn is it loud and slow.
     
  22. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Looks like I'll not be playing....

    Re-installed both Arma II (retail) and Operation Arrowhead (steam). Same problem with missing files. I verified steam cache for OA and it said one file missing, will re-acquire. Except nothing was reacquired or there was no prompt to do so.

    Following that I updated to the most recent Combined Ops update (1.60) and once downloaded it wouldn't install as it said OA was missing or corrupt.

    When i have run Six Launcher (and installed latest beta and launch DayZ) I get a message "No Enrty - bin.config" something missing message and boots me to the standard game.

    So my issues are with the Arma II end not installing properly. I've followed guides online. I've now uninstalled all local OA content and am DL'ing again.

    Can someone fill in any missing steps?

    Installed retail version Arma II (should I then update it to latest standalone Arma II patch?)
    Install OA through Steam.
    Download latest Combined Ops patch (1.6?)
    At some point run Combined Ops (or both games separate?)
    Run Six Launcher.
    Update Beta.
    Launch DayZ from Six Launcher
    Epic Fail.

    Edit: Will have to link Steam version of OA to retail files for Arma II I think?
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  23. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,937 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    i had a similar issue, i don't remember the exact files that were missing but there was a few - verifying steam cache fixed it for me... try that again? good luck!
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,485 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,764
    you using UAC? disable that before reinstalling.
     
  25. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm going to just give up.

    I finally get to some form of server choice but any that almost let me connect (when it's not just kicking or not connecting) are telling me i have add ons that are not signed for - so delete them or obtain new keys.

    Given the hours lost trying to install the required software and updates it's just not worth anymore of my time. I'll keep an eye on this thread in case it gets better to access any time soon.

    Disappointed, really wanted to play it. :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page