1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dead PSU #2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Polaris573, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I have an OCZ modstream 450 Watt, acutally I've had two of them. The first one died roughly 2-3 weeks after I bought it. I waited for the replacement to come from newegg everything worked great for about 3 weeks. Then this one died. What the hell? I thought OCZ was supposed to be good? I have a $35 Raidmax that's less delicate than this. It's been chugging along for 5 months without failing. So any thoughts about why my power supplies keep failing?
  2. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Maybe you have bad luck? :laugh:
  3. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I think it's the 20ft extension cord I have my computer plugged into (shhh don't tell OCZ).

    I'm living in an apartment that the university gave me to me at a reduced rate because they ran out of dorm rooms. The complex is going to be torn down within the next 2-3 years and there are no grounded power outlets in my room. So I have to run an extension cord from one of only two grounded outlets in the apartment. :wtf:
  4. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    :eek:
  5. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    About half year ago there was at least one manufacturing batch of OCZ ModStream power supplies (450W and 520W), which broke when using Serial ATA hard drives. It was a "bug" in the SATA power cable, and it caused a BOOM for the psu. Maybe you got couple psus from this kind of batches?

    But it really sounds crazy, if the same bug would still excist...
  6. peta01

    peta01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    387 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague
    And are you sure that your PSUs are death?
    Did they they blow safety-fuses?
  7. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    How would I check the fuse without tearing it apart and thus voiding the warranty? If you're talking about the main breaker for the apartment complex I don't have access to that, but since the outlet still works I imagine it didn't trip. Anyway, I'm sure it's the power supply since my venerable raidmax piece of crap still works :(. Thanks though
  8. peta01

    peta01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    387 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague
    I would still try to measure the PSUs outputs using multimeter. Just plug the PSU alone to electricity and measure the cables that are to be plugged into mobo.
    There is still some chance that they are not dead since there has been no fireshow :)
    It should be caused forexample by your case's power switch.
  9. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    what you should check if you had problems with other apliances, bad TV reception, cracking and poping in your stereos, having to change lightbolbs quite often, could be that the electrical supply to your house or electrical in house install has problems, in that case you should get a normal cheap UPS to filter out the current, one day one of those psus is going to take out parts of your machine aswell
  10. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    That's what I'm worried about. This apartment complex was built in the 50's and has almost no upgrade in wiring. The little bit that has been upgraded was done very poorly. I have an okay surge protector. Should I really invest in a UPS?

    Would this one be okay?
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2006
  11. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    the problem with a surge protector is that it only removes peaks, it does nothing for irregular current, brownouts (when power still flows but tension is below optimal or needed values)

    you can get whatever you want, as always, APC is the best you can get, but also expencive

    all you need is any UPS with a battery, just one detail, some have switches that give the device connected to the UPS direct from socket power when there is power and then give it battery power when the socket goes dead,
    you might want to avoid those, you need something that will feed the computer from the battery and keep charging the battery from the socket
    have the battery act as a buffer, and the battery will always give a constant and clean 110V.

    walmart....
    somewhat i feel dirty now for having visited their page.

    forget that wallmark piece of chinese junk (no offence to our chinese readers)

    http://apc.com/products/family/index.cfm?id=21#anchor1
    39.95, lifetime warranty, full protection, i rather pay 5 bucks more and have a APC,
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2006
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Go to the cosco and get an APC they work for ever well worth the $$$
  13. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2006
  14. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
  15. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Is that the second one? The link doesn't work.
  16. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    yup that's the 2nd 1 try link on post #13
  17. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    the thing is, APC has a lifetime warranty, and your problem isnt power outages, its irregular current, the APC deals better with that, pay the extra buck, get the APC
  18. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I probably will end up buying the APC, lifetime warranties are nice and I've never heard of opti-ups. It makes sense that irregular current could be killing my power supply. What I don't understand is why the better power supply would die every three weeks while the cheap POS has "worked" for months. Could the OCZ be sacrificing itself to prevent damage to my computer?
  19. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    "Could the OCZ be sacrificing itself to prevent damage to my computer"

    hmm.. altruistic hardware hey.. he he..

    come on dude.. rationalizations as to why good hardware aint quite as good as its made out to be can only be carried so far.. he he

    trog
  20. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Yeah, more that likely the OCZ power supply is an overhyped POS and that's why it's failing. I'm hoping it's not, but the evidence certainly points that way.
  21. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    i almost forgut something, the grounding line,

    you can get a grounding line from almost everywhere, water and heat piping, aluminim and steel window frames, with a simple copper wire hooked up, you can get ground,

    you can test by touching your computer case and several pipes, when you feel the buzz, or the zap in some cases, you found ground, (carefull, could fry equipment or you).

    btw, have you opened any of your burnt OCZ PSU´s, it could be that all they need is a fuse replacment.
  22. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    ;) ;) :) like I said
  23. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    If I open the power supply I believe I void the warranty. If I modify the wiring I have to pay a $250 fine to the university for damaging the apartment. :(

    Frogger I have less than $300 period there is no place I can go to get more and I still owe the school $1000. I just can't afford to spend $100 plus on a power supply right now. Maybe this summer when I'm not in school and am making more money but even then.....

    Next power supply I try will be an APC though okay :)
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2006
  24. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    well if u need a cheap alternative try the TT420 watter. 18a on the 12v+ and as many leads as you could possibly need. about $40 shipped from newegg too...:D
  25. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    The OCZ has a three year warranty and I already have an RMA number. Why should I buy another power supply. I'm happy with it when it works.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page