1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dell dimension 8400 need case.

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by freck, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. freck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi all I'm a newbie here and it looks like im in the right place.
    I've looked at some of the case mods here and they're the biz.
    Im sick of looking at my boring grey dimension 8400 dell case but the guts of it are modded.
    Can ye guys recommend a case that'll fit my dell components and where to buy.Im in ireland and the range here is limited and so is the knowledge on 8400 case mods so i'd appreciate a site that sells cases to suit my machine.
    Thanks in advance.
    Freck
     
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Not a whole lot you can do with that case..

    And on the downside, I'm not certain if the 8400 is one of them but a lot of dell boards are proprietary and non standard.
     
  3. freck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks Niko for the fast reply..I probably guessed that with a dell.
    oh well ill just have to spray paint it and add a few christmas lights lol:laugh::laugh:
     
  4. Ongaku New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    799 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Oshkosh B'gosh
    Yeah, most Dell cases and mobos are BTX not ATX. Yeah, a lil spray paint and some perty lights will do the job :laugh:
     
    freck says thanks.
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm pretty sure Dell even uses non-standard fan connections on their motherboards.
     
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Some of the older ones yes they do that also, but their screw mounting is non standard also.
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,907 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,611
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yes, I've tried upping 3 dells - they all had proprietary MOBO headers to the case (there's actually a PCB in the case that a ribbon cable attached to.) Mapping case to off-the-shelf mobo headers was something I could not do. I think the motherboard connectors were in line with ATX/BTX, but the case only had holes for the ones in the dell motherboard.

    Bottom line - you can upgrade a few things in a dell, but the motherboard (and PSU in some instances) are pretty much out of the question - they are a throw-away machine.

    :( sorry.
     
  8. freck New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks lads for yere replys"throw away" seems to be a good idea at the moment:laugh::laugh:
     
  9. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    If it is the envelope case like I think it is then it's not that hard to move everything over to another case except for one thing. Some use a ribbon cable for the PW switch/Activity lights which means you'd have to solder the new cases switches/activity lights to the motherboard. It's been done but right now I just can't remember the site that shows the mod.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,985 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    866
    Location:
    Ohio
    Or you could just mod the dell switches into the new case.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page