1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Driver could not find compatible hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by 1Kurgan1, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,322 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Well having a pretty annoying issue with the better halfs computer. She has a AsRock H61-DGS and a i3-2100. I have been running the CPU as the video device for a while since her old 5850 died. Well I picked her up a temporary videocard (GT240). And I finally put it in, and tried installing the drivers. And it comes up with this.

    [​IMG]

    I found online that some people said for some reason that at times the computer won't recognize the device and you need to find the generic device in the Devices then add it to the drivers ini files to make the driver find it. I tried taking these steps, but all the guides I seen show their as

    %DEV_039F.01% (039F is my device number, others will be different)

    But my ini files aren't built like that and I don't have the same ini that people tend to look at (that ini is named nvam, I don't have it). My ini lines that are similar to that look like this...

    %DEV_039F.03D3.06FD

    or something to that effect, it has 3 strings of digits behind decimal places. But my device number only goes into 4 digits with no decimals, and no guides I have shown have ini files like mine. so I'm pretty damned lost right about now. I even went as far as disabling my "Standard VGA Adapter" which I assumed was my GT240 since I show no other VGA devices. I figured I would restart my computer and have no video, but low and behold, it started up with video. So I can only assume the onboard video is going out through the GT240, and thats probably part of my problem.

    Either way, been tinkering with this for hours and it's getting extremely old, for all the AMD driver hate I've heard over the years, I've never had an issue like this. Granted it maybe just as issue with the onboard video. either way, if anyone has ideas here, fire them my way, because I'm just about out of them.
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,955 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    BIOS update maybe? make sure PCI graphics is enabled in the bios V1.5 is the latest

    Northbridge, Primary Graphics adapter

    Also turn of Intel virtualization Technology in the BIOS
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2013
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,955 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just try the driver that came with it
     
  5. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,322 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    jmcslob says thanks.
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,955 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    Im assuming your tested the card in another PC?
     
  8. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    Don't have any NV cards installed right now to check this but you might try .....
    Extract the Nv package to a file, Go to Device manager/Display adapters/ Right click /update driver / Browse /browse ...point to the folder you extracted...make sure 'include subfolders' checked .... hit 'next'
    should get around the NV installer check
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,559
    Did you by any chance download the 32-bit installer on a 64-bit system? Happened to me before :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page