1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Easy WCG_config

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Mindweaver, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    correct!
     
  3. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Great job Mindweaver.:toast:

    Maybe this should be a sticky?
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I agree :toast:
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    That sounds good to me! Sticky Paulieg?

    For some reason.. my thank you button has gone? Have I thanked to much to quickly? hehehe err anyway Thanks guys!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey what do you guys think about this color? :D

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    old school:laugh:;)

    ------------------
    Hey quick newb question: I have too do this for all my computers right? and how do I know if the config file worked or is working?
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hehehe! Yepper! :rockout: :toast:

    Yea, you will have to run this on all of your computers. It will prompt you with "Update Complete!", but you will have to "Read config file" in Bonic Manager.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
    t77snapshot says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,933 (6.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,258
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If you want me to, I could make an x86/x64 executable that does the same thing but does not purge the XML in doing so.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks for the offer Ford! All ideas are welcome!

    When I started this project. I planed to make it a x86/x64 executable, but seeing how the file directory has the same path for x86 as it does for x64. I decided not too. You are correct the batch file that I created does purge/write data to the file, as would a user.

    To create an executable file that does not purge the XML file would just contain a copy of the XML file. By doing this the executable is no more than a zip/rar file as a SFX Archive (Self-Extracting Archive) with a predefined directory location/path. Plus, batch files are executable files.

    Ford were you thinking of a different approach/method ? Maybe, using Visual to create the executable? :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    BOINC x64 will go to Program Files instead of Program Files (x86). IBM doesn't make an x64 binary (as far as I know) but Berkley does.


    You parse the whole XML file into memory, if the key you're looking to add isn't there, add it, and save the new XML file. The app can also check in custom directories created by the installer via registry:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Space Sciences Laboratory, U.C. Berkeley\BOINC Setup


    Edit: BOINC apparently doesn't have a cc_config.xml, only WCG's version does.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    This is what was prompt, is it correct? :confused:

    [​IMG]
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    The config file isn't located in "Program Files ". It's located "%AllUsersProfile%\Application Data\BOINC\"

    If the executable file did more than configuring the cc_config.xml to upload work as soon as it's done.. maybe, but it's pretty simple as is... but if you want to make the exe I see no reason why you shouldn't. I guess? hehehe Create it and attach it. :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'd still double check because that is where it would be on BOINC 6.0 and older.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2009
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Wow, Nice catch! I've fixed the batch file and re uploading now. Thanks t77snapshot... I had an extra "/".. not needed

    sorry guys download it again.. new update will be v1.1
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Your welcome bro;)

    "snapshot of the error he was receiving":laugh:....clever
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Hmm...

    Vista has two environmental variables for C:\ProgramData

    %ALLUSERSPROFILE%
    %ProgramData%

    Can any one confirm those do in fact get C:\ProgramData on Windows Vista/7?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, both work for vista and CP said it works for Win7.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Here you go. I recommend backing up all your cc_config.xml files before running it.

    It attempts to find cc_config.xml using 7 different methods (registry and environmental variables). Failing all those, it will create a new one where your batch file does according to Windows version. It does not delete anything and if your cc_config.xml is a nesting mess, it will automatically fix it. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Nice, I'll check it out tomorrow. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    By the way, cc_config.xml is in Application Data on 6.1 and newer; it is in Program Files on versions older than 6.1.

    I was going to try to read the version number to make sure it went to the right place but it doesn't look like they put the application version number in the registry. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,270 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Good to know. Hopefully no one is running those older versions. I just checked, and mine is v6.6.36. I just ran into something with the help of stanhemi. The Boinc x64 install does not create the cc_config.xml file during install. I didn't write my batch file to create one.. only look for it... I've updated my batch, and now it creates it. Does your exe file create one if it's not found? If not you may want too. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Yes, it does.

    I'm running BOINC 5.# on my server because 6.# isn't Domain Name Server compatible. BOINC, version 5 and 6 both report results immediately by default. You'd have to use cc_config.xml to disable instantaneous reporting. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page