1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[expert][tip] Using a RAMdisk to speed up your HDD - and/or reduce SSD trashing

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by lemonadesoda, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Singapore
    You can't install windows on a ram-drive for a couple of reasons. It's not gonna work with the current programs on market because they load after windows boot and because they can only format your ram as FAT and not NTFS meaning that a logical drive partition can't be sored permanently :(
     
  2. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Romex can do NTFS;)
    But of course, they still wont work due to what you said:D
     
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,635 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,091
    Location:
    Rochester area
    win pe > ram disk > windows
    OR get a ssd
     
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    There is another good reason to have your pagefile on a RamDISK:
    If you're a video editor. Keeping your HDD as empty as possible is a must for a video editor who can't afford/accomodate a decent rig/extra HDD's. If a video editor's HDD performance is low, but RAM usage is also low, performance may be gained through ramdisking your pf to free up the vital space on your HDD.

    I know it's an old-ish thread, just wanted to expand on why Ramdisk pagefile's have their uses IMO.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011
  5. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Great thread, I have not run a ramdisk in years.
     
  6. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    If you are using the RAMdisk to hold internet temps, then please note something I have just seen with Chrome. When chrome updates, it rewrites its links and shortcuts. It therefore overwrites any command line switches you have set, incl. redirecting temps to the ramdisk. Therefore, after each update, you need to add the command line switch again:

    Instructions:
    1./ Right click on your chrome shortcut
    2./ Properties
    3./ Edit Target, as follows: "C:\Documents and Settings\...\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --disk-cache-dir=z:\

    Change the last part, z:\, to your ramdrive if not on Z:

    Repeat. You have to do this again each time chrome updates.
     
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,919 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,406
    Did anybody ever figure out how to load the whole OS to a ram disk?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    you could run a VMware from a RAMdisk, thats about it. every OS out there needs a reboot after installation, so it wouldnt work for normal use.
     
  9. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    just for your information... Romex Ramdisk was renamed and is now called Primo Ramdisk.
    Still the most capable tool regarding ramdisks, in my opinion.
     
  10. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    Would this work well on 4 gb if i just use 1 gb for ram disk?
     
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    dependant on what you want to do with it, it might ;)
     
  12. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    On my 2GB Atom netbook, I have a 256MB RAMdisk to hold temps. Chrome temps are pointed there as are Windows TMP and TEMP. It makes a heck of a difference when browsing the internet or using MS Office. And I don't need to worry about CCleaner on internet temps... since they get shredded on powerdown ;)
     
  13. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,421 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
  14. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I found the, IIRC the name is Qsoft to be the fastest
     
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,260 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    There's another ramdisk contender on the block. I've been using it and quite impressed with the results. Compatible with Windows XP, 2003, 2008, Vista, 7 and 8. Works in both 32 and 64 bit editions of Windows. Now the two major pluses: It's fast, and it's FREE. :pimp:

    http://www.softperfect.com/products/ramdisk/
     
    scaminatrix, n-ster and jaggerwild say thanks.
  16. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    hmmm I'll probably try to compare Qsoft to this to see, thanks

    so far though Qsoft has always been the fastest for me
     
  17. voidberg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey got a random idea and read about this today at school and came home and tested it tried it out a little and im satisfied with it thank you very much also found if you install java onto it it make java games run amazingly
     
  18. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,140 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page