1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finalizing a high-end Gaming-Editing TOWER

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Sabaku_no_Maiku, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hiya guys, I'm about right to buy piece by piece a whole new tower computer, it will be the first one I'll ever build. This forum helped me immensely in chosing the parts for it, and now I have this setup:

    High-End Gaming-Editing TOWER

    I'm here to ask a couple of last simple questions, and I thank all of you in advance, seriously.

    1. I probably won't have any chance to connect to the internet throught eternet, so I think I need a WLAN card, any suggestions for it?
    2. Should I buy a Sound Card also?
    3. I'll buy a Noctua NH-D14 SE2011, is it a good choice or would be a H100i better regardless of noises?
    4. What do you think of it? Anything I should be aware of or that you think I should change?

    Thank you for every advice you'll ever give to me.

    - Mike
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,614 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    GMT +2
    link to High-End Gaming-Editing TOWER is actuali to h100i amazon page
     
  3. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    517 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    UK
    Before people start having conversations about changing parts of the rig, there has already been a thread discussing this. This thread is purely some last questions that the OP has about their system that they've already decided the spec of. So once again, please don't suggest new parts, unless answering the OP's questions.

    But in answer to your questions:
    1 - your motherboard already has a WLAN card attached to it.

    2 - I currently find no need for a sound card, but I'm no audiophile. Its really up to you, but I wouldn't suggest using the front panel audio headers due to the interference of the wires within the case.

    3 - I would prefer the silence of an air cooler, but you may have some more overclocking options using watercooling.

    4 - I think your rig's pretty polished.

    Layton
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  4. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I'll link the discussion in the first post, you're right. Thanks a lot for the clarifications! I'll return to the H100i probably then. Now let's see if there's any audio card that COULD help, since I also work on editing video, but tbh it's not a must, as we said.
     
  5. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,249 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,179
    Perhaps the OP shouldn't have made duplicate threads in the first place. That is specifically why we are supposed to create one thread on the same subject to prevent duplicative efforts from both parties...

    Perhaps someone should report the posts and have them merged.
     
    GreiverBlade and Toothless say thanks.
  6. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    905 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    1. Asus X79 Deluxe already has the latest wifi (ac) and bluetooth (4.0) standards
    2. The Realtek ALC1150 chip on the motherboard is excellent, no available sound card will make much difference, use the optical SPDIF for best sound.
    3. Large air coolers are generally noisier than AIO water coolers, and less effective. It will also fill most of the case window, and get in your way when making connections. The H100i looks better, performs better, and is quieter than the Noctua at similar temps.
    4. I would buy a Samsung 840 Pro 128GB or 256GB for the OS and programs, use the Evo 500GB for games and editing scratch drive (quick and easy imaging and recovery of the OS drive, faster 840 Pro for Windows). Also, overclocking is free performance, and water cooling will keep temps in check better than air cooling. The CPU easily clocks up to 4.8 GHz, so at 4.5 GHz it will still be quiet, safe, and stable, more so with water cooling. I would also get 2400 MHz RAM, prices are only a tiny bit higher than 1866, more throughput and lower overall latency.
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    My NH-D14 is quieter than my H60 was, and air-coolers are more reliable, especially dual fan air coolers. Air coolers have no pumps to go bad like what happened with my h60. Also, there is no chance of a air-cooler springing a leak and getting coolant on your hardware (I've heard of this happening with both custom and AIO water cooling systems). The absolute worse that will happen with a dual-fan air cooler is one fan will go bad and your temp will rise some, but not enough to actually over-heat your CPU like what happens when a pump on a AIO water cooler goes bad. It's the OP's choice, but personally, I will never go back to a AIO water-cooling system.

    edit: Oh and about it's size and blocking the side window of a case, I don't have a problem seeing my hardware. Granted, this is my 3930k system with the Gamer Storm Assassin heat-sink, but it's the same size and shape as my NH-D14. In fact, as you can see, I was still able to effectively use the video card support of my FT04 case

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    905 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    That's true, for absolute reliability you can't beat air coolers, so if that was my main concern, I'd stick with air, as long as it didn't limit the overclock I wanted. I know that water coolers have been known to leak, but it's very rare. I have an H100 and an H55 (for the GPU) in my rig, with no problems so far (almost 2 years for the H100). All building decisions are compromises, and you usually must sacrifice absolute reliability to get absolute performance. It all depends on your priorities, and what risks you're willing to take to maximize performance. After your experience with the H60, I don't blame you for having reservations, and a high-end air cooler will get you close enough. I'll keep water cooling, at least until one springs a leak - after that I'll probably feel like you do! I want to go full custom loop, but wouldn't enjoy breaking it down for every major cleaning or upgrade, refilling and bleeding the air out can be a major hassle. If someone would release a triple fan 360mm AIO, I'd probably never make the jump to a custom loop. The new Corsair HG10 GPU cooler also looks a lot better than the NZXT G10 bracket I'm using now, so that's another reason to skip the custom loop.
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    I have a higher OC on my 2600k, which does nothing but run at full load crunching numbers for WCG, than you have on your 3570k (according to your system specs) and my NH-D14 keeps it right around the 70'c mark at 4.5ghz. That is 70'c while running all 8 processing threads at full load for week/months on end. I don't see the NH-D14 being a limiting factor for an every day 24/7 OC.


    Good luck, your H100 is about the same age as my H60 was when it's pump started to go bad(it started making a grinding noise. I replaced it before it actually stopped working).

    An 4930k/Z79/290X/500gb SSD system is a mighty expensive system to gamble with. I honestly don't think it's worth it. I have a Gamer Storm Assassin heatsink on my 3930k. This heatsink, by looking at it, is damn near the exact same as my NH-D14 plus 2 heat pipes. It has no problems keeping my 3930k around the 70'c mark at 4.3ghz @ 1.4 volts (my 3930k is not a very good OC'er or I really suck at OC'ing on Z79) while running the WCG program for weeks/months on end(granted, this is only after a little over 19 hours, I had to reboot yesterday for a Windows update. But you see the temps I'm getting.)


    [​IMG]


    And about custom water-cooling systems, I just don't understand why someone would do that. Between all the extra maintenance, dangers, and the possible incompatibility with new hardware when upgrading, I just don't see it being worth the cost for it's minimal gains over high-end air-cooling. $100-150 for a GPU full-cover water-block that you know will not fit the next generation of video cards.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    It looks like a good build. Once again, definitely get the air cooler over the H100i. The only question I have is will ram fit under the air cooler's fans or should the OP get lower profile ram.

    edit: it doesn't look like it will fit, so I would suggest the OP just change the ram to a different model.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    very good catch Vario. OP, get this RAM instead- http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B006507R7I/?tag=tec053-21

    two reasons, 1. The NH-D14 is a large heatsink and will be over top of some of the RAM slots. You need low profile RAM like I just suggested so that it will fit under the heatsink's fins. I have the blue version of that RAM you have in your build in my 2600k system. I had to cut the heatsink/aluminum covering off one of my sticks for it to fit under the heatsink.

    [​IMG]

    2. 4 sticks of RAM in Z79 will run in quad-channel, as opposed to dual channel, giving slightly better performance.

    Oh, and so to show the actual size of the NH-D14, here is mine in my 2600k system with crossfired HD7770 video cards.
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    If it is wrong to make another topic I'm sorry, but it's actually not the same argument to be honest, that's why I thought it might have been worth it to open a new thread.

    So.. Now the thing is to stay with 32GB 1866 or maybe 16 2400. More than this, if there are problems of placing the RAM into the case then I'd prefer to simply use the H100i! The link to the RAM you've suggested seems to be broken sadly, or maybe the website is temporarily down.
     
  13. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    WTF, I can't post a working link to Amazon.co.uk? Anyway, just go to Amazon.co.uk and search for Corsair Vengence LP RAM. It the same as what you have picked out, but with a low-profile heatspreader on it (the metal cover)

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Wait, if see the Wish List I have 2 of "2x8" RAM, so it's 4x8 = 32GB. And mine are 1866Mhz while those are 1600.

    Of course it's a big issue to not be able to fit things where they should, so... Is there any solution to it changing the RAM or, something I'd be more than happy to do, switching again to the H100i?
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    If you really want the H100i , get it. Just know IT WILL FAIL EVENTUALLY. It might last a year and a half like my H60 did, or it might last 5 years. I promise you this, the NH-D14 will last longer than the H100i. This issue is easily handled by just picking RAM that has a low profile heat spreader. If you want 32gb of RAM, get a 4*8gig stick kit. If you want 1866 or faster RAM, pick that. It is all available with the low-profile heat spreader. I only used that picture to show you the low-profile heat spreader on the RAM, it's speed is irrelevant for why I was showing it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,162 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Texas
    A couple of things:
    1: Asus X79 Deluxe has wireless built in so don't worry about that
    2: I have a sound card and the built in, in all honesty I see not much of a point to it but it was a gift so I use it but its a real niche thing and most built in's are just as good now a days.
    3: I prefer liquid cooling so if it was me I would get the H100i, however as far as air cooling goes the Noctua is excellent
    4: Low profile ram is easily obtainable and will run just as well even at high frequencies if you intend to get the huge Noctua. You can grab Gskill Sniper which is great low profile ram and comes in lots of flavors and speeds.
    5: Personal experience from friends, relatives, and personal with sealed units. Its dependent on the brand and cooing power along with the overclocking and chip your using it on. I have a Antec Kuhler 920 single rad I used for a time and gave to a friend as a gift and its now running over 2 years old still going strong. I have also had one fail immediately before and I have a Corsair H60 come faulty and fail another within a month for a friends build. As far as H100's go, I have yet to have one fail in my experience but that could just be luck.

    Other than that you should be good, just take it as food for thought.
     
  17. DF is BUSY

    DF is BUSY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    268 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    air coolers are quieter than AIO water coolers.
     
  18. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Here is the VLP ram that @BarbaricSoul was talking about:
    http://www.amazon.it/Corsair-16GB-1600MHz-Vengeance-Memory/dp/B007TG8QRW/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1401731309&sr=8-5&keywords=corsair low profile


    http://www.amazon.it/Corsair-Vengea...401731309&sr=8-8&keywords=corsair+low+profile

    Its 6 euro cheaper too.


    Buy different ram don't buy a different cooler. Trust us. Besides, the heatspreader on that Veangance is totally a gimmick it doesn't do anything. Get the low profile kind, it looks better anyway and it will fit under the NHD14.

    If you don't like the Noctua NHD14, consider the Phanteks PHTC14DX, Thermalright Silver Arrow, or a CryOrig R1.

    Okay to scare you off the H100i:
    I own one. It makes noises when I turn the case sideways. I used it for about 9 months. I am worried that if I use it, it will fail on me. If the pump does fail, the temperature inside the unit will rise. The coolant will boil and expand and the pump will explode. The inside of my case will be covered in liquid. This liquid could kill my computer by shorting out electrical circuits it lands on.

    Corsair warranties the unit. Many of the units make noise sideways, which is a sign that the pump is "weird". There have been a few people who have had their units fail and explode, its not super uncommon. Corsair will replace the unit but won't replace your damaged hardware so good luck with that. Furthermore, would you even want to use a replacement (refurbished) unit if the first one died?

    I switched to a Phanteks PHTC12DX that is only slightly hotter. I changed the fan on the Phanteks to a more high performance one and it actually performs about the same. I never have to worry about it. If the fan dies, the heatsink will still wick heat away from the CPU and it won't fail catastrophically.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
    GLD says thanks.
  19. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Amazing, thanks for such in-depth info and opinions guys. Ok Vario, got it! ;]

    Now.. I'm really OK with changing RAM, but I'd like to have 32GB or AT LEAST not 1600mhz. It's the first machine I'm building so I'm a little scared to do my research alone: any idea? We're almost there! :)
     
  20. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,162 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Texas
    Try these on for size, I love this ram!

    Or for 32 gigs, try these
     
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    could just buy two kits of what I linked, its the same idea as the two kits of the regular profile vengeance brand ram. Ghostryders ram choices are good too if it fits under the heat sink.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  22. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yeah, the "if it fits".. "IF" that stops me. I'd really like to go buying two kits of what you linked but the problem is the 1600mhz, that I think it's kinda slow compared to the 1866 or the 2400. Aren't there any options for those? :D Thank you, as always. ;) Next time I'll start with much more knowledge.
     
  23. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,143 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    First, 1866 isn't very different from 1600, so you probably won't notice but to answer your request here are some options:

    according to:
    http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=compatibility_ram_gen&products_id=34&lng=en
    here are some possibilities

    http://www.amazon.it/G-Skill-F3-2400C11D-16GAB-16GB-DDR3-2400/dp/B00DHA44MK/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1401759577&sr=1-1&keywords=ddr3-2400 2x8

    http://www.amazon.it/G-Skill-ARES-memoria-DIMM-DDR3/dp/B0079NS742/ref=sr_1_14?ie=UTF8&qid=1401759742&sr=8-14&keywords=g skill ares

    http://www.amazon.it/G-Skill-ARES-memoria-DIMM-DDR3/dp/B0079NS742/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1401759820&sr=8-1&keywords=g skill ares 32gb

    http://www.amazon.it/Kingston-Technology-HyperX-16GB-DDR3-1866MHz/dp/B0098RDBD4/ref=sr_1_26?ie=UTF8&qid=1401759162&sr=8-26&keywords=Ram 1866 16gb
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014
  24. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    the only place you would see a difference between 1600 RAM and 2400 RAM is in benchmarks. In real world use, you will not notice a difference between 1600 RAM and 2400 RAM, just like I can't tell a difference between running my RAM at it's rated 1600 speeds and the default 1333 speeds it runs at when I don't have XMP enabled. If you were building a system using a AMD APU and using the integrated graphics in the APU, you would see a difference between different RAM speeds, but then, the difference would be in the graphics performance(fast RAM really helps AMD's APUs integrated graphics), but for Intel, there really isn't much difference in performance with different RAM speeds.
     
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Sabaku_no_Maiku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    66 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Guys, computer hardware is something I use indeed for work, but I LOVE it, it's a passion. I deelply respect what you're doing here, and I hope to be able to be of help too in the future, hardening my knowledge. Thank you a lot for all these links and infos, I'll check them asap and come up with a "fixed" build soon enough! I'll try to fit in a monitor too then, to finish all the brainstorming. ;]
     
    MaeClark0318, LaytonJnr and Vario say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page