1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firefox 11 Goes Beta

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,534 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    Don't worry if you just installed Firefox 10.0 cause there's a new Foxxy browser craving your attention, the Firefox 11.0 beta. This fresh build comes with an updated migration tool that can also import Chrome bookmarks, history, and cookies, and features add-on syncing capabilities, redesigned media controls for HTML5 video, and support for the CSS text-size-adjust property and the outerHTML property.

    Firefox 11.0 also brings some goodies for devs like the Page Inspector 3D View, the new Style Editor tool, SPDY Support and more.

    To download the Firefox 11.0 beta (for Windows, Mac OS or Linux) see this page.
     
    95Viper and xxdozer32 say thanks.
  2. timmyisme22

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    64 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Yakima, Washington
    Firefox 3 and loving it.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  3. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    i ono if its me or the crack ive been smoking but this thing loads up quick! jumping from page to new page with EASE.
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Oh I heard they changed the color of the minimize button for FireFox 14 Alpha, it'll come out next week!
     
    El_Mayo and Yo_Wattup say thanks.
  5. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    304 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Nah, I heard they changed the spacing between the "f" and "i" for FF14.
     
  6. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    380 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    They should just skip to version 30... it would be a big lead ahead of IE and Chrome.
     
  7. punani

    punani

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    As with winamp, they skipped version 4 as they felt the new version was atleast 2 versions more awesome than the previous :p

    But Mozillas version frenzy is just silly... :banghead:
     
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    nono That is in The actual release of FF14 and it was supposed to be top secret until FF14 BETA came out! in the beat they change the color of the minimize button back though

    It's silly!
     
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,308 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    you aren't the Dev hence can't comment on their numbering choice... If it bothers you so much, simply change to something with a higher number...
     
  10. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Can it run Crysis?
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    He was making fun of the numbering scheme of FF and probably tired of all the new versions? ie: skip to FF30 and stop having a new FF every week cuz my plugins dont like it
     
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,781 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    oo :banghead: since FF hit 10 it run slower on my netbook, then now its 11 and it goes more heavy :banghead: :banghead:
     
  13. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I was jumping from page to page with ease with chrome years ago bro... :roll:
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,658 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    can you upgrade from Firefox 10 to 11 and still use all your themes and plugins or would it require me to wait again?
     
  15. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Downloaded it, gave it a try, now uninstalling it. Not bad, just a great big MEH
     
  16. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    380 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    They did it for two reasons:
    1- because both IE and Chrome numbers were suggestive of more advanced software; and
    2- most importantly, Mozilla sought to reduce the deployment cycle of software updates.

    Their next step is to blur the lines of version numbers with a mechanism of persistent updates.

    Personally I couldn't care less. I suggest that if anyone gets too caught up with version numbers they need to re-evaluate their priorities.
     
    imitation says thanks.
  17. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    304 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I also give about as much damn as I give to a pebble on the road, It's just fun to poke at. :p

    But I imagine anyone who actually use FF (I don't) and its extension would not be too happy with this shenanigan.
     
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,602 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Finally add-ons syncing...
     
  19. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    no but it can run TETRIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111111
     
  20. dlpatague

    dlpatague

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm not worried about the version numbers at all. I'm just tired of having to install the updates myself. They need to make all these updates automatic already. And bring on the official x64 support. No I don't want the nightly build x64 versions nor the Waterfox x64.
     
  21. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    WHY... is this not Firefox 4.0.11? I do appretiate Firefox but this implies they rewrote the whole browser 11 times.
     
  22. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    They should be doing this via update. This is fucking ridiculous. Downloading a new browser every couple of weeks is ridiculous.
     
  23. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    The Firefox 10 release is still in the TPU RSS feed. Where does it end? Firefox 300.0?
     
  24. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    offtopic but has anyone checked out Waterfox? its based on FF but is faster.
     
    H 3 L L S M A N says thanks.
  25. Zakin

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    123 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    If it annoys you so much, you should just use the nightly build, it has automatically updated me since Firefox 11 was in alpha all the way to now 13. I've never had a single crash and it has automatic updates, everything seems fluid and it isn't ridiculously compact like Chrome is while seeing no real difference in speed as I firmly believe if anything is the bottleneck it's between my ISP and the servers of the sites.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page