1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

firsbuild little broblem

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Azazel, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok...iv almost finished my first build....but im having a little trouble with the os...everythime i try and install it just stays on the vista wallpaer....for a few mins...then the screen switches off and the fanstarts spinning faster
    :(
     
  2. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Do you have the CPU cooler installed correctly? Proper amount of thermal paste?

    Post your system specs. It will make it easier for people to help you.
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  3. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    1 x Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB/PS/2 - Black
    1 x Gecube HD 3870X2 1GB Dual GPU PCI-E Power Gamer Edition
    1 x Saitek Eclipse Keyboard - USB
    1 x Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound Thermal paste
    1 x Samsung SM2032BW 20"TFT Monitor Widescreen 1680x1050 3000:1 300cd/m2 2ms VGA/DVI-D
    1 x LiteOn 20X SATA DVD±RW/RAM With Beige, Black & Silver Bezel + Nero - Retail
    1 x Corsair TX 750W PSU - 120mm Fan, 80+% Efficiency, Single +12V Rail
    1 x Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 Stepping
    1 x Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium x64Bit
    1 x Antec Nine Hundred - Gaming Case with 200mm Top Fan
    1 x ASUS P5E AiLifestyle Series iX38 Socket 775 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard
    2 x OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 CL 4-4-4-15 PLATINUM XTC
    1 x Xilence Red Wing 120mm Quiet Fan - 3&4pin connection
    2 x Western Digital WD2500AAKS Caviar SE 250GB 7200RPM SATAII/300 16MB Cache - OEM 124733
    1 x Logitech Black S120 2.0 Speakers (cheap)
    1xthermalright 120 ultra - extreme

    emm ya im pretty sure the cooler has enough pase and is done correctly....i could repaste it and see
     
  4. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Well, there's your problem...

    It's Vista. :p

    But, seriously -- can you turn on your computer, go to the BIOS, and leave it there for as long as you want? Or does the screen blank out just the same?
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  5. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    :) lol :laugh:
     
  6. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Your computer may be blue screening.

    The monitor is switching off and your computer is restarting because you have it set to automatically restart on system failure. The increase in fan speed is probably the same noise you hear when you turn your computer on.

    Hmmm...

    Do an examination of your motherboard. Look for anything out of the ordinary...blown capacitors, burn spots...etc.
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  7. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    if re greesed the cooler...im gonna test it out again...there are no burns or anything blown out on the mobo
     
  8. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    it did it again :(
     
  9. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    amother this ia that the computer disent beep when you turn it on :( is there anything i havent pluged on or something
     
  10. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Try one ram stick at a time in different channels for starters. I've had far too many bad OCZ sticks....I'd also try another videocard if you have one.
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  11. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok...i will try...i only have 2 in at the moment...
     
  12. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    maybe try starting it up with a standard (non USB) keyboard as well, you never know
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  13. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    is the dram voltage set to 'auto' in the bios? TUngstenis on the right track try using only one stix and set the voltage to 2.0 in the bios ...see if it still hangs
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  14. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    @tu: il check it out
    @flogg...it wont let me got to the bios..just goes through some numbers the goes to windoes setup
     
  15. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    tap the DEL key before the windows screen to access bios
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  16. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    oh thx..ok ..im in bios...how do i check temp...
     
  17. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    the cpu is only 20c and mobo is 30...so it should be fine
     
  18. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    check ram voltage while in the bios - you may need to set it higher as per your ram
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  19. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    emm..well the installer is working now...not sure what happend...but im having trouble installing the os....it says the my hdd dosent meat the requirements...what could that be about
     
  20. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    anyone :(..
     
  21. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    no idea there...try it again? or just continue? maybe format it as NTFS as opposed to fat32?
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  22. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    the default setting for the HDD is Enhanced and the next line [in bios] configure SATA as [IDE] is the default your pration of 85Gb is plenty for install ...how did you format the Hdd??
     
    Azazel says thanks.
  23. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    emm i just clicked format :) hehe...anyway...its workin now :) not sure what i did :) thx alot you 2...and everyone else who helpd
     
  24. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    :toast: gald to see your running :)But me thinks you'll be back looking for more :laugh: not to worry we'll all still be here :roll:
     
  25. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    hehe...im back already...after installing vista the computer did what it used to do...screen turns off...while the whole computer is still on (tower)...and fan goes really fast...i tryed to turn it on again....but it did the same thing after a minuit :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page