1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GeForce GTX 680 Can Be Flashed to GTX 770?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 14, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,742 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No you can't, but read on. When we learned that NVIDIA's upcoming GeForce GTX 770 uses a GPU not unlike the GeForce GTX 680 in specifications, we overlooked one possibility, that it uses the same exact chip, the GK104. We assumed that NVIDIA could release a new ASIC codenamed "GK114" or "GK204," which features higher energy-efficiency, and GPU Boost 2.0.

    A Reddit user claims that a simple BIOS flash of the GeForce GTX 680 could turn it into a GeForce GTX 770. The BIOS ROM image, which probably works with reference-design GTX 680 boards was posted, along with a GPU-Z screenshot of a "GeForce GTX 770" obtained this way. The BIOS runs the card at 1059 MHz core, 1125 MHz maximum GPU Boost, and 1752 MHz (7.00 GHz GDDR5-effective) memory, yielding a memory bandwidth of 224 GB/s. The BIOS file can be found here (try it at your own risk). We tested the BIOS with some of our own GTX 680 cards, and found it to be nothing more than a modified GTX 680 BIOS (for increased clocks) with a modified driver INF file that makes the GeForce driver display a different model name. The BIOS just has made-up clock speeds that could run on some GTX 680 cards, but could be unstable on most.

    We created four additional GPU-Z screenshots to serve as evidence that just by modifying the INF file, you can make the card appear as anything you want. The string from the INF file is used in Windows for display purposes only; the graphics driver does not use it for anything else; certainly not feature detection.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    When your GTX 680 manages to be stable with the new BIOS, the higher clock speeds obviously work to get you that 5-7 percent performance increment. Third-rate companies often get away selling rebranded fake graphics cards in developing markets using this method. For example, they buy cheap GeForce 210 cards and sell them as GT 630 for twice the money. Even between officially rebranded NVIDIA graphics cards (such as GeForce 8800 GT to 9800 GT), the device ID is changed, so there's no reason why NVIDIA won't do the same with the GTX 770. In conclusion, this "GTX 770" mod is nothing more than a combination of a custom GTX 680 BIOS that adds higher clock speeds, and a custom INF file that changes the card's name string.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2013
    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,485 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    No doubt the core and boost clocks are doable for most GTX 680's, but that 7000Mhz effective memory is going to find more than a few 680's wanting.
    The GK104-425 variant rumour had been floating around for a while
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  3. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,973 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,019
    [​IMG]
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,065 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    what? nearly all gtx680s do those clocks right out of the box already.
     
  5. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    So, besides higher memory clocks the 770 doesn't offer a single ounce of performance improvement over the 680? Like said before, even the core clocks are easily attainable on the 680! :shadedshu

    On the plus side, this means I already have 4 "770s"... WTF is wrong with Nvidia? Are we sure that GPU-Z shot is correct?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia
    does it mean GTX 770 can do SLI with GTX 680?
     
  7. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,485 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    I've no doubt that any of the better binned (factory OC'ed) cards should get there. I was thinking more of the vanilla 2GB boards (reference design/reference clocks) in circulation. I seem to remember that the scope of memory overclocking ranged from ~6600 - 7000+, and not every reference 680 made 7K.
    If Nvidia retain the same reference blower and shroud followed by a quick onslaught of vendor designs, then its 7970 GHz Edition/ 7950 Boost redux.

    I wonder if a BIOS flash workaround works for the GTX 780M as well ?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  8. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,160
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Yes, that memory clock is not easily attainable on the 680, Nvidia must be using parts that are rated for much higher clocks for the 770
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I doubt Nvidia would let some thing like this happen. Even if its the same card.
    For all we know they could have looked into the coding of GPU-Z and checked what W1zz has the 770 guesstimate specs and then changed the bios to show up like this...
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,742 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Updated with our own testing/findings. Enjoy.
     
    Slizzo, cowie and cadaveca say thanks.
  11. nikolaj1651 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,798
    Just use normal OC software to use these speeds. It's really no different

    It most probably won't. SLI is locked to same device ID (unless NVIDIA changes their mind). And the BIOS does not and can not change the device ID.
     
    Delta6326 says thanks.
  13. nikolaj1651 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cool! then i just set the same clock speed as the 770 with no bios update, but im current at work. but will afterburner allow me to set the ram speed that high? and can i leave the voltage at standard as it is now?
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,798
    Yes you could do that, but even if it's stable at that clocks it won't turn your card into a GTX 770.
     
    cowie says thanks.
  15. nikolaj1651 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i know, but im not the best overclocker, so if i just use the clocks the 770 has, then i get a little boost, i just wonder if my standard cooler can handle it ;D but i will try this out when i get home.
     
  16. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Whilst this bios is exactly what bta says it is this is still the Exact type of thing nvidia loves to and often does ie new bios on old chip = new card = more cash.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  17. KashunatoR

    KashunatoR

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Romania
    my 680 already does 1267/7000 on a custom bios, so the only upgrade for me would be a 780 or titan, right?
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,798
    Titan brought a new Boost algorithm, so it's only reasonable to expect that GeForce 700 uses the same algorithm, or an even more advanced one.

    But you are right of course, it's a business model that exists everywhere and will continue while people buy new products.
     
    okidna says thanks.
  19. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    616 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    So in fact the GTX770 will be a "GTX680 GHZ edition", like AMD did with their cards?
     
  20. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,485 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    Technically the GTX 680 is already a Gigahertz edition (1006 MHz base frequency), although I'm hoping that Nvidia raise the base clock to 1111 for the 770...just b'cos
    [​IMG]
     
  21. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    616 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Yeah I'm just talking about the principle of releasing a card which simply has higher clocks than the previous model and a few more software tricks. If they actually sell it at the same price as current GTX680 and lower the price of the 600series it could work well for nVidia.
     
  22. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    508 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    LoL, so true..
    at the end of the article he also said an interesting words : "Enjoy Your Flashing" :laugh:
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Just as much as this means that Nvidia will be buying out AMD. Get your 8970 with CUDA cores!!!

    [​IMG]
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  24. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    616 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    hahah ye ok.

    That just reminds me of a friend few days ago who showed me GPU-z pic from Ocaholic where we could see a GTX780 with 6GB RAM and DX12 support. And was like: don't these guys on this site check what they are uploading? (they were really convinced it was a valid rumor even with that DX12 lol)
     
  25. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page