1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Generic CPU Bench

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by btarunr, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. Particle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry I took so long. When I get home from work, I often don't feel like doing much of anything except watch an episode of DS9 and relax. :)

    For anyone who wants it, here's an x86 locked version. It also reports how the individual threads behave.

    Edit:
    Looks like I'm a little late to the party on this one. Someone use Corflags?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Anybody else just get this error message when they try to open it?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Particle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  4. roofsniper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    it probably does as many cores as you have. the highest i have seen is 8 cores so far.
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    hey mk mods, it just keeps getting better and better for you :) :toast:
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Guilty.
     
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,796 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,678
    Location:
    IA, USA
    This is what prompted me to ask:
    http://img.techpowerup.org/081021/Capture002.jpg

    It's a quad-core and the "Processor" combobox is not grayed out meaning more than one is installed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    5130 is a dual-core. It shows 4 threads since there might be two of those installed. Updating scores...
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,796 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,678
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Ah, 5310/5130. Oops. Someone is gonna slap me...


    I ran it on my comps (x64 and x86) I attached the results...

    Server is 2 x Xeon 5310 @ 1.6 GHz w/ 8 GB RAM
    BY-2005 is Opteron 180 @ 2.4 GHz w/ 3 GB RAM

    Neither are overclocked...

    x86 scored consistently better than x64 dispite being on AMD64 (XP x64) and EM64T (Server 2003 x64).
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    Here is mine, not that good is it? =/ Stock speeds 2.8
     

    Attached Files:

  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Updated scores. Good to see Dan having company in the multi-socket chart.

    Say, is that a L5310, the same chips Dan is using?
     
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,796 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,678
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The "L" version is low power. Mine definitely aren't. They'll run at 80+C if you let em. XD

    I'm writing a "CrawlerBench" application by the way. It will be capable of running no fewer than 16 different benchmarks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    Wait a sec does that mean my score comes in at second spot for the single core scores? :D
     
  14. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for the help guys
     

    Attached Files:

  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Bigger screenie please?
     
  16. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Sorry, for some reason TPU has been scaling down my images lately.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Mine top at around 65C with fans on lowest. Then again mine don't run at stock speeds.
     
  18. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    e8200@3.2GHz

    Three run average:

    7696 ms
    17033 KCU/s
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
  19. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Yar, my new job is in the Server group at my company. I do Build and Deploy, with a bit of R&D and prototyping. At the moment, I'm working on a Boot from SAN setup with failover capabilities. The last group couldn't get it working right, so they gave it to me to handle on my own. It's fun so far. lol

    I was going to post an SS of the Server that is currently booting off the storage drives, but the scores were marginal differences. Maybe when I get some different hardware to play with I'll come back. :rockout:
     
  20. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Now leave me my score alone tatty.
     
  21. dipsta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    269 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Yorkshire UK
    qx9650@4.45ghz

    49393 th
    5775 crunch
     

    Attached Files:

  22. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    578 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Here's my Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Brisbane at stock speeds:
     

    Attached Files:

  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,796 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,678
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Mine are at stock and with the fans running at "full throttle" (~3000 RPM), it scratches at 60C under full, 8-core load. At the lowest speed, the processors run at 80-84C. When it gets close to 85C you can hear the fan RPMs skyrocket to 6000 RPM to bring it back down a bit. Mine run hot, real hot (80w TDP vs 50w TDP). :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Update! Add this

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,747 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,541
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Fook, Dan's above me again! :eek:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page