1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghetto Mods

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Nitro-Max, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    thats a nice SFF rig you got there :laugh:
    n-ster says thanks.
  2. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Ah. I have a friend's laptop here with the same issue. Tried to use an external monitor, but couldn't see to set it up in displays. How did you work around that?
  3. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine has a button to toggle the built-in or external display.
    King Wookie says thanks.
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Same.... Something like Fn+F7

    I did some cleaning and rearranging, will post pic once exam is done (around 2:30PM EST)
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    *checks laptop*
    Fn+F8
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    We're talking about Dells :p
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Who???? What???? :roll::roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Screw you, you deleted your post :mad:

    BTW, Dells are Fn+F8

    [​IMG]
  9. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Wow, the zoom-in is worse than the full pic :D
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm too lazy to sharpen it, but you can make out the "F8" and "CRT/LCD" I think.
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Only now you told me that's what it says :D

    EDIT: yes, I got the "F8" when I saw it was between F7 and F9 :D
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hmm, I guess you're right; I already knew what to look for :p
  13. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    exam cancelled, pics soon :)
  14. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    You use your mouse left-handed n-ster? Awesome.

    Also, had a friend do the same thing with an alienware, ran as a headless CS:S server.
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea I'm a lefty :p I use one finger with my right hand, and that is to hold down "W"

    Here are the pics, as you can see, I added some speakers:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]




    Cable management close-up:

    [​IMG]
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nice! Now that's a slim desktop pc :cool:

    btw, I loled at the PSP next to the stapler. You know, just typical office supplies :laugh:
    I'll admit I do have one of those fatties sitting right next to me still though
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ofc! studying, still have to pretend to study so I use psp, then do a project, then play psp again, then use the stapler :)

    But I only use it when travelling long distances now though... but thought that since my ps3 is there, my psp might as well

    If I had a keyboard, I'd stick the headless laptop behind the monitor
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    on a side note and completely off-topic, pr0n looks so much better on this screen :roll:
  19. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    I honestly can't stand playing games directly on my PSP anymore, I hooked everything through my PC so I view it on my monitor and play with an xbox360 controller. Much better that way.

    I did start modding it since I was going to do the analog stick mod, but scrapped the idea since I didn't want to have it sticking out the side and I couldn't find a small enough analog assembly to fit under the faceplate. Since I already opened it up though and my faceplate was totally messed up to begin with, I replaced it with a translucent black one :)
  20. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    @n-ster That is some neat use of laptop without screen. I certainly think your wifi antenna looks more ghetto stuck to the screen though.
    n-ster says thanks.
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Thanks :D

    I know, but the wall is more practical :roll:
  22. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nobody can beat my antenna on the ghetto scale. Pics in a bit :D
  23. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    What do you do when your signal sucks? Buy a 16dbi antenna and build a giant parabolic reflector.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    What do you do when your adapter overheats? Strip it, slap on some heatsinks, and wire a couple fans to a 5v wall-wart. :laugh:

    [​IMG]

    All the crazy rope is so I could mount it and have full control over position and orientation. However, I didn't want to punch holes in the reflector and I didn't want to use pulleys either, so I messed around until I had a harness and then messed around some more until I had the rope going through a couple hooks where I can just pull on it to adjust orientation and them clamp it in place.

    And the results? Based on measurements from the Ralink utility, I used to get about -88dBm strength and 40-50% link quality. Now I average -74 to -70 dBm strength and 70-80% link quality. Signal noise went up too, but only a few dBm.
    BraveSoul, Nick89, Soylent Joe and 4 others say thanks.
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    okaaaayyyyy:wtf:
    theJesus says thanks.
  25. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    My parents won't let me pay for my own ISP or use their connnection :shadedshu

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page